We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, lovely evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlawn Pavilion

Highlawn Pavilion
Reserve with OpenTable
Highlawn Pavilion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
Vermillion, SD
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a deeply pleasurable evening at Highlawn. The ambiance is posh but comfortable and gracious. The view of the Manhattan skyline at night is spectacular-- glittering buildings against the dark sky. And the food is to die for. I recommend the Duck, Duck, Duck appetizer, which features a delectable pate de foie gras, thin slices of smoked duck breast and duck rillette. It was meltingly perfect. The menu is beautiful without being pretentious. Dessert was a tough choice but my triple chocolate plate included mousse au chocolat and a tiny cream-filled deep chocolate cupcake and left me satisfied. The wine list is lovely with many good choices for every price range. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank etsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    93
    25
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR ROMANTIC DINNER & VIEW OF NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband & I we were married at this place. It's very romantic, if you're looking for a garden wedding and a chupah. We had it all to ourselves. This place has the best food & service. During the spring/summer months, they plant their own vegetable/herb garden for use in their various dishes. It's a very classy place, It has a beautiful foyer with very high ceilings and a winding staircase to the 2nd floor. Ask to sit by the picture windows, and on a clear night you can see NY City. The restaurant is located by a tall bluff. There is a 9/11 Memorial now. You can walk around the grounds during daytime to enjoy the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billandzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One word -PERFECT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Went with 3 other friends for no special occasion- but it was special. From the minute you walk in you are with met with mannered reserve. Our reservations were for 8:30 and our table was ready. I would have been fine to wait a few minutes at the bar since it is so beautiful and inviting. The place was packed on a Saturday night- but so well organized. It was a crystal clear night which made the view dazzling- breathtaking. From start to finish the food, presentation and service were perfect as said. This is a place that mostly grills its food, so there are no overdone sauces and gimmicks- just delicious and ample. A nice night out made very special by just picking this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank creativesoul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Great view of NYC without the City price. Romantic and sexy place. Good piano bar.
Nice entrance to the dining area
Fresh seafood and salad. I will come here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loveurope00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Fancy dining as expected. The service, views, food, and drink were all praise worthy. High ceilings make it noisy so not the best for intimate romantic dinner. Otherwise, excellent for dinner and drinks on a company card.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DestinationSpaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highlawn Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Highlawn Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing