We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard West Orange
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was very clean and quiet. The decor was fresh and newly done to today's taste. The bathroom was large and well put together. We had a great time and were only half hour from Time Square. I recommend it without hesitation. A+ 10/10

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S I, Director of Sales at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Collette,

I am glad you had a great time during your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your review.

Happy Holidays!
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

On the plus side is the friendliness of the employees during this visit. Minus is the bedding. I am not a restless sleeper, but how the mattress pad can get so wrinkled and the bottom sheet become so uncomfortable in a few short hours is beyond me. Very slow service in the morning for breakfast, which proved to be a tasty although pricey yoghurt parfait, with the container only half full. The location was good for the purpose of my trip, but probably will look around for next trip, mostly due to the very uncomfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S I, Director of Sales at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that the hotel fit the purpose of your trip. I will share your comment about the bed with the housekeeping department to address the mattress pad issue.
We will be glad to welcome you again at the Courtyard West Orange.
Enjoy the Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel are very nice, and clean, with comfortable beds. The lobby is nice but horribly smelly. They are cooking and frying in the lobby all the time. Do not waste time or money on the inferior breakfast which is not complementary. There is a nice Panera near by.
It is a great location if you have business in west orange or at Seton Hall.

Spend as little time as possible in the lobby.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank eatlocal1ofakind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S I, Director of Sales at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I will talk to the department involved to make sure they take care of the smell in the lobby. I really appreciate you feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The lobby and the hallways smelled like fried fish and rancid oil. Some staff members were rude. No signage from the road and the neon had missing letters. The bed was comfortable but the room décor was tacky and outdated. The Wi-Fi was terrible.

Room Tip: "Don't pay the Marriot price, this is a Howard Johnson - a bad Howard Johnsons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S I, Director of Sales at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your stay. I will follow up with the kitchen regarding the fish smell. I am pretty sure we do not have a fish product in our menu. If you are coming to the area again, please contact me at 973-669-4725 and I will personally take care of your reservation and make sure you have a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a courtyard...like all other courtyards, which is not a bad thing. One of the reasons I like them is that they are reliable. Unfortunately, the rooms are a bit dingy and showing their age. Biggest frustration was extremely slow, unreliable wi-fi. I ran a speed check and found it to be dreadful. I think this chain should think abut at least improving the wi-fi experience for their elite members...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rangers93-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent a wonderful night at the hotel. New lobby was fantastic as was the room on first floor. I loved the high ceiling in the room. Best of all were the 2 agents at front desk, Monyette and Cristine. They were so helpful and charming. One even moved her car so that I could park closer to the entrance! Will visit again when in area.

Room Tip: first floor for sure because of the ceiling height
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the weekend while I attended a wedding. The staff was very friendly during check-in. The room was clean. The lobby looked nice. I would also say that the location was good as well. The first night we stayed the noise in the hallway and neighboring rooms was almost unbearable. I think I got a couple of hours sleep that night. The walls are paper thin. I could hear the neighbors conversations like they were in my room. Of course it is standard to have a kid or two racing down the hallway but it sounded like a herd of elephants in my room. I guess they had an excited soccer team staying in the hotel that night. I have never stayed in a hotel that did not have a continental breakfast. I think that should be an option for the price paid to stay at this hotel. I think if the noise factor wasn't so bothersome and there was a complimentary breakfast, I would rate this hotel higher. Front desk should provide earplugs.

Room Tip: Maybe stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
750 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard West Orange

Address: 8 Rooney Cir, West Orange, NJ 07052-3302
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: £123 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing