We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for breakfast”
Review of Panera Bread

Panera Bread
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in West Orange
Restaurant details
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice for breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Panera in West Orange is a great place for breakfast - whether by yourself or with others, or a morning meeting. Free wi-fi, a good menu, fast service, comfortable booth-seating. Plenty of parking available. A relaxing morning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for a quick snack / lunch.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

More of a Bistro style than anything. Their bread selection is good, but nothing spectacular. The atmosphere is pleasant and comfortable for enjoying a short snack. Mine is near a movie theater and gets customers in waves. Everything is fresh and tasty, without being overly expensive. I enjoy it more than Au Bon Pain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldDad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Panera Fare”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The food at the Essex Green Panera is about the same as any other locations--what you would expect.

It is a nice place to meet people, and we often go there for coffee and breakfast on a Saturday. It's nice to see people we know there, and many are regulars who go there to congregate, chat, meet, and work. West Orange desperately needs places like this because the downtown leaves something to be desired--not much there, kind of shabby, not much parking. So Panera has become a bit of a community meeting place, and I like it for that reason.

I must say, however, that the service is absolutely dismal. Long lines form for no good reason--just a lack of efficiency. The service staff are generally nice and mean well, but they are often not too competent. Coffee runs out and isn't replaced in a timely fashion. The place needs some good management.

We will still go there because it is a friendly place to see people and relax before the rest of the Saturday chores, but it sure would be nice to have more efficient service that we have enjoyed in West Caldwell or Florham Park.

We like the Panera rewards card, but that applies to any location.

They try at Essex Green, but it just could be a lot better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 161945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good place to have breakfast. Good soup and fresh salad daily. It gets really busy especially on weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveurope00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Soup and Sandwich on a Cold Night--can't be beat”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My soup and sandwich was quite good. It was very cold so the soup was wonderful. They don't have a gooey butter pastry-I guess that is more Midwest but they need to try them up East. Service was great. No complaints.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panera Bread also viewed

 

Been to Panera Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing