We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Speers, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and courteous with any questions we had. The breakfast was good also. The pool was nice and clean too but a bit on the cold side. The only negative comment is there were four of us in a room and there was really no drawer space. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    219
    80
    23
    14
See reviews for
355
258
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fincastle, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

When I am working in the Gettysburg area I stay at this Hampton only when I have to. I will admit the rooms are as clean and comfortable as any that I stay in and the staff is friendly and attentive. Plenty of cookies and cake available in the evening and the breakfast is good. There are several dinning options with in walking distance, if you want to cross route 30 on foot.
The problem is the proximity of the rooms to route 30 and the traffic. This makes the rooms quite noisy and the parking is not anything close to being convenient. For the cost of the room it is much more relaxing and cost effective to stay at one of the other chain properties that are close by but further from the traffic and noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was again a typical Hampton Inn-clean rooms, welcoming staff and a nice breakfast.

We stayed in the family suite room which was nice.

I wish they had fans in the bathroom to help out with the humidity, but besides that, we were very pleased with the stay.

Room Tip: Choose the family suite if you have more than 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyandpeteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the place to stay when you visit Gettysburg. Off the path just enough to not be a pain to get to when traffic is bad. Also very close to the highway for easy travels. I was on the top floor, it was very quite, the room was like most other Hampton Inn rooms, but mine had a Fire Place in it. Very nice feature, but who needs a fire place in April? Well it just so happens that the second week of April 2014 it actually snowed a tiny bit, however the temps dropped into the 20's that night. So althought the Fire Place is on a timer, it was still nice and toasty for the 15 minutes it was on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumford, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I am usually a big fan of the Hampton Brand - great rates, huge rooms, the most comfortable beds of any chain, solid breakfasts and usually outstanding hospitality. In recent years, the 'hospitality' has become to mean more to me than other amenities. If you are in the hospitality business, it should be JOB#1. I can forgive lapses in the other areas. On our recent arrival, we arrived a tad early (1:30 on a Saturday and inquired if we could check-in. We were told that "our room" was not ready yet. I thought it strange that with 80 rooms and 90 minutes away from check-in that "a" room was not available, but we hadn't had lunch and could check out the downtown and come back in a couple of hours. When we arrived back at 5, after a 'polite' but unremarkable check-in we were given the keys to "our" room. Now, I am a Silver level club member and made the reservation almost 3 months in advance, so I thought maybe the room would have a 'benefit', but "our room" turned out to be one of a blocked' view -- the one directly above the lobby facing the concrete facing of the entrance archway. Not that the view would be remarkable -- it would be a strip mall, but this blocked 98% of all outside light. I think this is a strange view for a long time Hilton/Hampton member. Additionally, the check-in 'perk' (snack, water) was not offered -- the first time this has happened. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable with a great rate ($118). The breakfast was sparsest of any recent Hampton stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above lobby - view is blocked by concrete entrance archway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandK1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had the pleasure of spending a night in the Hampton Inn in Gettysburg PA, last week. I chose this hotel because of it's location and also because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. The location was perfect - only a short drive into historic Gettysburg. The staff there is very professional and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room, which was a family suite was perfect for 3 friends traveling together. We each had our own bed and the rooms were very nice.There are 2 doubles in one room and a king bed in another room. The room was very clean and had all of the comforts of home. The microwave and small refrigerator were a great addition, even though we didn't use either of them, since it was just an overnight trip.

The room was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. I loved the signs that said that the duvet covers were washed between customers. That's always a concern I have about the bedspreads at hotels, so it was a relief to read that. The bathroom was spotless and had lots of extra towels and washcloths, as well as toiletries.

The breakfast buffet was the standard fare for most of the Hampton Inn breakfasts, and that's actually a compliment. It had everything that you could want for breakfast, and could satisfy any appetite big or small. There were cereals, oatmeal, eggs, toast, bagels, a waffle maker, coffee, tea, juices, etc. The breakfast area just off of the main lobby, was very comfortable and kept very clean.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice place to stay at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: The family suites are great. One room has 2 Double beds and the other room has a King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaLynnMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Gettysburg Hampton Inn is much like other HI's I've stayed at. This one is a tad nicer, perhaps. The rooms are large and include a microwave and fridge. The breakfast is unexciting, but offers more than enough option to satisfy one for breakfast. The staff is helpful and friendly.

If there's a complaint it's not due to the hotel itself. The area is certainly not scenic--it sits across from a large service station and is near various strip malls. It's not immediately adjacent to the Gettysburg Battlefield, so those seeking to avoid the roughly half-hour drive may want to find quarters a tad closer. It's roughly an equal distance to the downtown square. But that's no big deal for me.

All in all, a reasonable choice for those seeking a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1280 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing