We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but can stand some improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK but can stand some improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel 4 nights in early August. Some things that may be helpful:
1) There is very little drawer space. If you don't mind living out of your suitcase not a problem.
2) There is no actual table in this room. Don't plan on eating in this room since there is also only one office-type chair and one straight chair.
3) The thermostat is tricky. In most locations people complain it's too hot but this room was too cold. The only way to warm the room is to put the A/C off.
4) Breakfast ranges from mediocre to poor. Cheerios and yogurt may well be your best bets.
5) This location was converted from another hotel chain. This May account for the majority of above issues since we've never experienced these in other Hampton locations.

On a positive note, the front desk staff, especially Chenille (sp?) were very nice and extremely helpful. They answered all our questions and Chenille provided excellent information on 2 restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    203
    76
    21
    14
See reviews for
325
244
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and our two kids recently stayed here for two nights, during a tour of Gettysburg. The hotel is close to the center of town, and any other attractions you may wish to visit. We had a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel, and despite other reviewers posts about noisy rooms, we found the rooms to be very quiet and extremely clean. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast, while not gourmet food, was perfect to get our day started, and save us the time of traveling out to a restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great hotel for a three night stay. Easy to get into and out of, close proximity to the highway and local sights. Staff was spectacular helping with various requests and needs. Late night desk clerk went way beyond her duties to help out with non hotel issues beyond her control, but was willing to assist as much as possible. Breakfast was a bit lacking, but the quality of food provided was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanatoga
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at three different Hampton Inns while taking my son on a College visit tour. This particular hotel was probably the best. Clean, comfortable room with above average free breakfast; and very friendly staff. We managed to spend time in the park and Jennie Wade house. Would defiantly stay here again. BTW, I can't say that about the Hampton Inn in Morgantown WV.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were not disappointed with Hampton - they are always our first choice in hotel. Gettysburg Hampton is only 5-10 minutes drive from the battlefield and city center. Take advantage of free park tours offered in park and around town - every park ranger impressed me with their knowledge - you learn a lot from them. Although parking is free at National park sites take plenty of quarters and dimes to park on city streets - meters are everywhere!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked a room for a quick trip to visit Gettysburg. Stayed there previously and found ]it a great value for the room. This stay I found the room a bit pricey for the area. The room was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable, including the pillows (I normally have to bring my one).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wallace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Close, convenient and up to date facility. Prior reviews were accurate. No regrets staying here. Very close to Hwy 15 which was helpful. WI-Fi simple to log on. We felt no disadvantage to be a few miles from battlefield.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing