We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little museum”

Gettysburg Heritage Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$8.94*
and up
Gettysburg Heritage Center and Museum Admission
Ranked #15 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover... The Town, The People, Their Stories. Bordering the Gettysburg National Military Park battlefield, the Heritage Center is an educational and entertaining museum for families and tour groups of all ages. Learn what the Battle of Gettysburg meant to the people who lived here during the war. Utilizing artifacts, historical documents, interactive displays, and 3-D productions, visitors will gain a better understanding of the events that took place in the town before, during and after the battle. Find out how the people reacted to the invasion of the town - freeze, flee or fight? Hear accounts of ordinary people doing extraordinary things in a time when their home was in turmoil. Located in the lobby of the Gettysburg Heritage Center is one of the largest and extensive gift stores. Offering a wide selection of books, apparel, gifts, collectibles, games & toys, replica weapons and much more! There is something for everyone at the Gettysburg Heritage Center!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I went here when I was in middle elementary school and just now went back 15+ years later and not much has changed. It is still a great museum with a lot of history. I definitely recommend seeing this if you are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    72
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Actually Well Priced and Fun Experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have always enjoyed this museum on our visits to Gettysburg. Actually very fairly priced for the value provided and the gift shop and bookstore is one of the best in the Gettysburg area. It might be a bit of a surprise but I think that most folks, especially families with children, will enjoy and benefit from a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definitely a Must See!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This museum is excellent! The ending is the absolute best! It should definitely be on the "to do" list. The day we were here they were letting everyone in for free. I asked why and they said that with the government shutdown happening they had opened their doors for free. Since the park was closed they wanted everyone that came to visit to have an enjoyable trip. They extended the free entrance throughout the weekend even though the government shutdown had ended. I would have definitely paid to see it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sldingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
376 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Kitchy but neat”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Yes, this is an older, creepier version of many wax museums, but very informative. I think this iwould be great for a child's first time look at the Civil War, although some kids as well as many adults (see other reviews) may find the tour boring. If you expect Disney-like animatronics, go to Disney World but expect to pay big bucks. Here for about $6.50, you get a leisurely self-guided tour of the Civil War. The grand finale was a battlefield of wax figures that were periodically lit up during an audio reenactment of the civil war and narrated by an Abe Lincoln lookalike. Hey, I liked it! Don't care if the wax figures were ragged (looks similar to those in some of the witch museums in Salem, MA). I learned a lot about the Civil War just by reading each display. And yes, I did get a bit teary-eyed during the battlefield finale. Afterwards, we bought quite a number of souvenirs from the extensive gift shop. As an afterthought, wonder which came first...the giftshop or the museum which is tucked away in a hall in back of the cash register. Just curious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanhope, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“was good but not great”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

was there with the gf over the weekend and due to the government shutdown (thank you Congress) the museum was free to enter. some of the displays were interesting, the underground railroad being one, but the rest weren't anything that great. you could tell the age of the displays as some of the hands and arms were not in the positions they should have been. the final "battle" scene in the theatre was neat and impressive just with the amount of soldiers and fighting being displayed. the final Abe Lincoln Gettysburg Address video was a huge letdown. the re-enactor was terrible and really did not convey the power and importance of that speech in the slightest. overall, i'm glad it was free as i don't think i would've felt i got my money's worth if charged regular price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianj320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gettysburg Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing