We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the James Getty twice.The first was holloween weekend and the second was new years eve.Both stays were very nice, the rooms were clean,and it's location in the middle of town was perfect.The James Getty is listed as a B&B and if you want a full breakfast this is not the place for you.They only provide a cold breakfast basket in your room the day before.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for the kind review. It was nice to have you stay with us again and I am glad you enjoyed our holiday festivities. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
210
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Friendly and informative front desk. Room felt nice and private, though sort of spartan. Breakfast was great for continental. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed just one night at the James Gettys Hotel. Wish we had more time, and will certainly stay there again. The service was friendly, the room was clean and snug. The location, in the middle of town is just perfect. We will be back, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

As my spouse's family is a good distance away from home, we frequently spend a night or two in Gettysburg on the way back from her family's home. We usually stay at another historic B&B of which we've grown fond. But this weekend that B&B was full. So we chose James Gettys Hotel. First, we expected a small room but got a whole suite! it's short from the center of town, so the choices for food and entertainment are many. We'll use this delightful hotel again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We checked in on Friday at noon and checked out on Sunday at 10 am. The weather was perfect for a fall weekend. The accomodations were awesome. We felt like we were all alone in a studio apartment. The staff were unassuming but always available. Everything about the place was perfect from the homeade baked goods and coffee available in our room every night to the most comfortable bed. I definitely plan on returning to the James Gettys Hote.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
I just wanted to say thank you for the kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Gettysburg and your stay here at the James Gettys.
Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The James Gettys Hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Gettysburg. Great Location near Lincol Square. Easy checkin with parking out front and convenient parking in back. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice. My only complaint is the breakfast. For 185 dollars I would expect a bit more than two muffins and some moldy grapes. We pitched it in the trash and ate breakfast at the Pub. Even a small setup of muffins and pastries and fruit and coffee in the lobby would be an improvement. Otherwise lovely hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your comments and critiques and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am a bit surprised and sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your breakfast basket. You didn't mention anything to us while you were here and if what you are saying is true, we would have prepared another plate for you. It is a little too late to correct a problem once it is written in a review verses telling us while you are in the hotel.
Our baked goods are prepared in house and are home made. We offer an assortment of muffins, tea breads and coffeecakes along with fresh fruit and fresh juice. It is a light continental breakfast. For some it is plenty, for others it serves as a 'tide me over' breakfast for a later heartier breakfast at one our local restaurants. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast at the Pub. They started serving breakfast this past summer. We have heard nice things.
Again thank you for the review.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineland, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We try to stay at the JGH every time we come to town. The staff is always so friendly and helpful--for example, someone dried our clothes for us after a hike in the wet snowstorm! The food is great and the place is spacious, clean, and fairly priced.The central location is a plus, a brief walk to the square and not too far from areas near the Battlefield.

We travel a lot and this is the first time I've reviewed a hotel; these folks deserve a nod.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoRahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your great review. You know when we have a crazy snow storm in October, the least we can do is go the extra step to dry wet jeans and offer an ice scraper...

I smile as I right this because everything we do here - we all learned in kindergarten - treat others the way you would want to be treated and to live by the golden rule.

Thanks again and I hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing