We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Gettys Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Motel(Gettysburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
319
64
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
319
64
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue parrotmajestic suitecookiesunion hotelthe lord nelson suitecoffee cakebreakfast basketbaked goodsturn down servicefull size refrigeratorsmall apartmentliving room areacharming hotelwithin walking distanceeach eveningfourth floorheart of downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a great stay at the James Gettys Hotel. The hotel is well located and our room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the muffins and bread at evening turndown service were delicious. Although meant for breakfast the following morning, some became midnight snacks.

Room Tip: The hotel shares an alley with the Blue Parrot restaurant on one side. Although a nice restaurant, it has a bar and the alley is used as a smoking area. It can be noisy, especially at night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

What a great review!
Thank you so much. Our staff works very hard and it so great when guests notice. As for those muffins - you aren't the only people to eat them as a midnight snack :)
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were lured here by a Living Social coupon and were wowed by our stay. Located in the heart of downtown Gettysburg, this is a boutique hotel. Fresh muffins develivered to your room every morning; ours was a 2 room suite with a kitchenette - spacious and comfortable. free wifi, parking, etc. . Near al lthe attractions and restaurants. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for the kind words. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Our Living Social deal has ended and I have to say we met some of the nicest folks over the last few months.
Thanks again,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a really nice place, very convenient downtown location and close to the battlefields and all the sights. Great service with little extras like breakfast in your room every day and a nice platter of goodies on arrival. Staff very friendly and helpful. Small hotel, casual atmosphere. The room was actually a suite, including stove, refrig, separate bedroom, dining table. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if every room is a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope if back in Gettysburg - you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I completed my 9th stay at the James Gettys in January 2012. Wha can I stay - except that you cannot improve PERFECTION. Special tanks to Stephanie and all the staff for making my stay as WONDERFUL as ever. Other hotels and B & s in Gettysburg wold do well to emulate the HIGHEST level of service as exhibited by Stephanie & the staff.
BRAVO to all - extremely well done!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

First trip to Gettysburg and the hallowed battlefield. This hotel seemed to take you back in time (ignoring all the modern amenities, of course) and perfectly suited the weekend. A-plus on all the usual categories. And the folks were especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews