We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel we stay in three times a year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hotel we stay in three times a year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

The James Gettys Hotel is a delightful, homey, friendly, immpecable and incredibly convenient. When we park our car there we rarely move it for the whole weekend, whether it is to walk around the quaint town or visit the beautfuful college campus. This is a very special little hotel.

Room Tip: All the suites are great. The all come with homemade baked goods, twice a day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. It is nice to know that after all these years we still meet your expectations.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
212
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Room was great, very clean and offered everything we needed for a quick weekend getaway! Breakfast was great.... Grapes, cantaloupe, homemade blueberry muffins and lemon bread, it was great! Very accommodating for late night arrival. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because the hotel walls are pretty thin....you can hear everyone talking through surrounding walls. Other than that, it was a great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our special amenities here at the James Gettys. Thank you for the nice review.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

At first I was worried about going to a smaller hotel/inn/bed and breakfast after I gotta livingsocial deal for $101 a night at this hotel because I was expecting a small cramped dark room with no Tv but my worries were completely unnecessary. Our suite (all the rooms in the hotel are suites that are uniquely furnished...) was bright and large. It had a seperate bedroom and a living room/kitchenette area, in addition with a large private bathroom. The room was also exceptionally clean. The kitchenette was well stocked with dinnerware, glassware, and freshly ground coffee as well as some teas. The breakfast tray was pretty good but the one day I bit into a muffin and there was a pocket of salt or baking soda that wasn't mixed in so that was a bit disgusting but otherwise the breakfasts were okay. Nice big bathtub. The innkeeper, Katherine was really nice, talkative, and helpful. The room didn't have a safe, even though we didn't care I know that some people would have liked that. The location was pretty good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerjp98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Good day and thank you for your nice review. I am sorry about the muffin. I wish you had said something about it and we could have brought up something else for you. We bake everything in house and our baked goods are totally home made. We are human and it looks as though there was a moment of stirring that was missed.

Again glad to hear you had a great visit to Gettysburg -
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My Husband and I will definitely return to the James Gettys Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the fresh & tasty home baked goods, chocolates, fruit, orange juice and cheese platter. The rooms were spotless and comfy. And, the staff went above and beyond making us feel like family. Love this place! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you so much! The Living Social deal was a great success - we met so many great new people - Have a wonderful summer.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the James Gettys Inn for an overnight recently, and we loved the location. The room was big and the decor was updated. In fact, they had said they recently renovated the room. The treats were a nice touch. The only negative was a little bit of road noise, which you would probably get anywhere in the downtown area. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank liketotravelandshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just stayed at the James Getty Hotel. It is the cleanest place I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The mini- suite was lovely, with a small living area, and separate bedroom. There was a cheese platter waiting for us, along with various muffins, cakes, fruit, milk, and orange juice for the morning. We had a kitchenette with a refrig and coffee maker, which was just perfect. The staff was delightful, always a friendly smile, and very willing to accomodate any request. It's location couldn't have been better, right off the square, and close to everything. And, there's free parking in the back. It has been modernized, but is still very quaint. Loved it, and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are more quiet and off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSchm26136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope if back in Gettysburg you will return for a visit.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We Have a daughter at the college so this is not our first time in Gettysburg. The downtown location was perfect for walking to campus and restaurants. Our suite had a wonderful sitting room where we could all gather on a drizzly day.

Service was wonderful, the breakfast coffee cake was homemade and delicious. A wonderful change from a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review!
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing