We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel with Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel with Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

A very nice hotel (more hotel than B&B since there are no common areas, no common breakfast, etc) in a great location. The hotel is maintained in outstanding condition -- the period decor (we stayed in the Union Hotel Suite) is far better than any boxy modern hotel. The continental breakfast was tasty as were the cookies. Only slight disappointment was the expectation that the breakfast would have been prepared/delivered the morning it was to be eaten. By the time we checked in at 5PM, the breakfast, including fruit/orange juice/bread/pastries were already in the room encased in plastic wrap. While this worked out ok (everything was still good other than the fresh canteloupe slices that were soggy after a night in the refrigerator), it did take away from the atmosphere I was trying to create for my wife (first night in a nice place without the teenagers in a long time).

All in all, a very nice place with pleasant staff. We may return or may try a more traditional B&B on our next trip.

  • Liked — History/decor of Hotel and Location
  • Disliked — In-room continental breakfast was prepared/delivered the afternoon before it was to be eaten and left under plastic wrap in the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
210
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zelienople, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We just spent 2 nights here (Memorial Day weekend). We were on the 4th floor overlooking the street. The suite was very large, especially the sitting area. The kitchenette was great, as was the continental breakfast of blueberry muffins, fruit and oj. We got cookies one night and chocolate the second night. The chocolate was fabulous.
Our only complaint was street noise on Saturday night - lots of motorcycles vrooming down the street.
My sister had another suite on the 4th floor and their room overlooked a patio from the bar next door. It was extremely noisy on Saturday night.
Overall, we loved the hotel. It's very convenient to shops and restaurants - no need to drive everywhere. Just don't book a suite next to the patio bar if you go in the summer on a Saturday night!

  • Liked — Suite hotel with great location
  • Disliked — price and noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

This is a B&B/suite hotel hybrid. You get the warmth and charm of a B&B with the comfort and style of a suite hotel. The rooms were clean with new carpet. The quality muffins, juice and gourmet coffee left in the room were great for those of us who like their breakfast in their room. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The best part is you get to stay in the heart of Gettysburg instead of on the outskirts so you are within walking distance of many of the sites.

Some people may not like the noise of the town at night, but you always need to be prepared whenever you stay at any hotel for unexpected noises. This is not quite a B&B and not a cookie cutter chain hotel so this place may not be for everyone.

We stayed in the Zeigler Holtzworth Livery Suite that faced the back of the hotel to minimize street noise as advised by another Tripadvisor.com traveler. We loved our suite. This suite would be good for a family since it had a day bed with a pull out trundle bed which would be enough for one to two children.

  • Liked — The room and hotel location
  • Disliked — Matress and room lighting
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jakewestminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

My husband and I stayed here the week of July 4, 2007. This hotel was very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The turn down service including the fresh fruit and breads were exceptional. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. It was perfect.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mbias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

Very nice place to stay!!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel. The muffins, breads and fruits were a very nice touch that they leave you at night for the next morning for breakfast. We loved coming back to the room in the evening to see what they had left us. It was all homemade and very delicious. The turndown service at night was so nice and they would wash your dishes if you had left any there during the day. The bed was very comfortable. We were fortunate enough to stay on the 4 th floor, so we really wasnt bothered by the street noise. The room was clean and decorated beautifully. Very convienent to all the stores and restaurants nearby. I will definitely be staying here again in the future!!!

  • Liked — felt very personal, only 12 suites
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank diana24740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poconos
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2006

I've stayed at the James Gettys several times over the past few years and I've never been disappointed. Because I visit the town often, I've had to stay in other hotels/inns when availability dictated, and each of those times, I've left feeling like something was missing from my trip. No other area establishment compares to this lovely hotel - it truly feels ike home from the moment you enter your suite.

The staff is friendly and welcoming, and it's evident their first priority is for the comfort and well-beng of their guests. The delicious breads and pastries that are delivered to each suite each evening are always fresh - they are intended, along with the juice and fruit that accompany them , for the guests' breakfast, but they've never made it through the night in our room!
The suites are spotless and spacious, each consisting of a living room, kitchenette, separate bedroom and ensuite bath. The linens and towels are luxurious, as are the bath amenities - I found the sewing kit (thoughtfully added to the soap basket) a life saver when I lost a button on my way to dinner! The kitchenettes are well-stocked with everything from serving platters to wine glasses, and special attention is given to reflect the changing seasons: fresh apple cider in the fall, bright flowers on the butter dish in spring, even spicy Christmas teas in the winter. It's these little touches that keep us coming back time after time.

Refined and spotless as they are, the suites do have a comfortable feel that keep guests from having reservations about bringing children. The hotel manages to feel "lived in" without suggesting shabbiness in the least. Indeed, kids of all ages are most welcome here and the added space helps to keep the little ones from going stir crazy. Centrally located, one could spent days without having to move their car - nearly everything is within an easy walk from the front door.

I highly recommend visiting in the winter. The hotel runs excellent, economical specials during the winter months, with discounted rates on the rooms and additional discounts for multiple night stays. Christmastime in Gettysburg is a wonderful treat, and a stay at the James Gettys Hotel makes it all the more special.

  • Liked — The comfort and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — 2nd floor suites have very high ceilings - make the suites feel even larger.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
639 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2006

I stayed at the James Gettys Hotel in August. I booked a 4th floor room but then was put in the 2nd floor Union Suite room. I didn't appreciate not being given the room I had booked. I would have thought they would have contacted me before I got there if the room I booked wasn't available. Or at least asked if I wanted to cancel or be given another room.

For customer service, you need to ring a bell as nobody was ever at the desk. The hours were 7:30am-10:30pm.

Parking was in a back alley and a slip was given to place on the dashboard.

My room had filthy carpets. The entrance to the room and to the bathroom were black. The carpet was to be beige. The condition is either to a lack of cleaning as I noticed selective vacuuming in the room or just a lack of upkeep.

The refrigerator had fingerprints and a white film on the door. Under the sofa were food wrappers. A kitchen drawer had a dirty fork on top of a pot holder. It was not hidden but obviously housekeeping isn't very attentive.

Breakfast consisted of a muffin, or a slice of bread. I got a few grapes to go along with this and a small glass of orange juice.

I expected more from the write up of the hotel. The location was convenient to Lincoln Square and a short walk to the tours and National Cemetery. It was also walking distance to the Dobbin House.

My room was noisy from the cafe/bar next door. There was a patio right under my window and the patrons were there till 12am. Then above my bedroom was the bathroom of the room on the 3rd floor. So I heard the plumbing of a shower and every flush.

After the first night of the turn down service, my door was left wide open when I returned at 8pm. The service was at 5pm. So they left my door unlocked and open for 3 hours. nothing was stolen from my room but when I leave the hotel with a locked door, I expect to return to it locked.

The issues I encountered with the hotel are unacceptable for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank NCTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing