We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and great location!”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We came here based on a 2 night groupon gift bought for us. The hotel is right in the center of town allowing you to park your car in their parking lot and walk to most attractions. The room was clean, large and comfy. I only wish they had queen or king size beds. However, it had a nice little kitchenette with a stove, coffee maker, refrigerator, etc. We received a large welcome tray of cheeses, crackers and fruit, which was lovely. At night, we received home baked cookies for the evening. Each eve we also received a basket of home baked bread, muffins and fruit, as well as a carafe of orange juice for breakfast. A small pitcher of milk was given to use with our morning coffee (also provided).

My only complaint about our stay was the noise outside our windows late at night. We asked for a room in the rear of the hotel because of the reviews that mentioned the street noise. However, the rear rooms border an alley way that runs between the hotel and the Blue Parrot Bistro next door. On Thursday eve, there wasn't any noise, however, Friday night we heard lots of very loud laughter and talking until almost 3am, even though we were on the 5th floor. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep that night. While the hotel may not be able to prevent this, they should supply each room with a white noise machine for the nightstand. These work very well in eliminating noise. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay at the James Gettys. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise next door. You are correct in your estimation that we are unable to control it; however, we do what we can to limit it, including triple-paned windows (plus storm windows in some instances) and heavy curtains. We also work very closely with our neighbors in noise-prevention solutions.

I realize that with the Living Social promotion, many rooms filled up very quickly on weekends. I can only suggest that our guests reserve as soon as possible after purchasing a voucher. I would also suggest coming in during the week to enjoy Gettysburg with fewer crowds.

Thank you again for your comments and suggestions; we will take them to heart!
Please stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have been staying at the James Getty for 15 years now. It has been consistently clean and well cared for, and the staff has always been very friendly. It is in a great location for walking to restaurants and shops. The breakfast of baked goods (baked on the premises, too) with fruit and juice is always delicious. I have never, never been disappointed in the James Getty and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I cannot say how delighted I was to read your review!
Thank you so much for continuing to rely on the James Gettys Hotel for your visits to Gettysburg. We really enjoy having you as our guests and look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just returned from the James Getty Hotel and had a fabulous stay! The staff could not have been nicer and welcoming. The cheese and fruit tray and breakfast basket are just wonderful. Our room, Lord Nelson Suite, was extremely clean, warm and comforting. VERY quiet and relaxing at night! Just perfect! We had to leave early due to a dental emergency and the staff all expressed concern. We will DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrostyinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I am so sorry that you had to leave early! Hopefully, you will be right as rain in no time!
The Lord Nelson's Suite is a very popular room, and I'm glad you enjoyed it!
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This is great place to stay! My room was spotless. Nicely decorated. Amenities such as homebaked goods and fruit brought to your room each evening for b'fast the next day and cookies brought during the day. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Within walking distance for shops and pubs/restaurants.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mary Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We know that sightseeing can be tiring, and enjoy providing all the little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a great 2 day stay at the James Getty. DH, son and I arrived around dinner time and were checked in quickly with yummy cookies and bread awaiting us. Had dinner at Blue and Grey first night, Dobbins second night. Lord Nelson's room was by comfortable and quiet. Good fit for our family. Perfect location for walking downtown and then touring battlefield. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZEDGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed hosting your family's visit to Gettysburg!
I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and the baked goods. We love showcasing Adams County's wonderful produce and always appreciate hearty appetites!

Please come see us again!
Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The James Gettys Hotel was perfect in every way. The room was absolutely adorable, the breakfasts were great and the staff was so friendly. You couldn't ask for a better location- within walking distance of almost everything and less than 10 minutes from Gettysburg visitors center. There was some fantastic food nearby, and A&A shop down the street was darling. As my husband would confirm, I am a clean freak and don't usually feel comfortable in hotels. However, this room was so clean, even I was happy. This trip was with a girlfriend, but I'm hoping to go back with my husband soon, and would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so, so much for your review!

I think we all feel as though we have earned a badge of honor by having our housekeeping efforts praised by a self-proclaimed clean freak!!! I'm sure I can speak for the rest of the staff when I say that we all like to feel comfortable on our own travels and want to extend the same confidence-in-comfort to our guests.

We hope to see you and your family soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was a second trip to The James Gettys for my husband and I, but my daughter LOVES history too so we brought her for a birthday weekend treat. The rooms are very comfortable, cozy, and clean. She loved her day bed in the living space the the kitchen area each time is a nice bonus. The coffee and tea as well as the evening snacks and continental breakfasts were fabulous and fresh. We also enjoyed the hotel shaped chocolates! The hotel is in the center of town within walking distance of many attractions and restaraunts, as well as a short drive to the battlefield.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medic9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: £93 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing