We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect.”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I spent weeks and hours & hours trying to pick THE perfect place to stay. And this was it!
From before we even arrived, I was impressed. We had to change our dates a week prior, and they were completely accommodating. Not only got an automated email regarding the change, but a personal email just to clarify the phone conversation. Hospitality before you even show up!
We arrived in the evening. Brought my daughter for a historical spring break trip. Loved that there's a bell to ding for someone. Lobby has pictures of what the hotel used to look like. Person was very, very nice and showed us our room. We stayed in the Zeigler Holtzworth Livery Suite on the 3rd floor. On the way to the room,(she showed us our room before we unloaded the car - a nice, personal touch) she said, "Your breakfast is already in the room for you." After being on the road all day, just hearing that was relaxing. She offered to help us with our bags, and showed us where to park the car.
Room was beyond wonderful. Cozy, quaint. Cookies were waiting on the table. (next day were chocolates made like the outside of the hotel!) A kitchenette, daybed in the front room, queen bed in the bedroom. Decorated in just a homey, comfortable way. Bathroom nice and big. Everything modern, but decorated in a historical sort of way. The soaps and shampoos smelled absolutely wonderful - I don't know where they got them from and wish I would've asked.
Information book in the room not only has Gettyburg info, but includes information about the room and how it's named, and history of the hotel.
Parking is behind the building, you walk through a small courtyard to get back to the front. The courtyard closes at 10pm, but even if you had to walk all the way around, it's only about a block.
Breakfast both mornings was delicious. If you want a big huge heavy breakfast, it's not for you. But it was absolutely the perfect breakfast to get us on our way. The first day was strawberry bread and blackberry muffins with fruit, coffee, and orange juice. The second day was peach-blueberry crumb coffeecake, fruit, coffee, and juice. All homemade and just scrumptious. I love how we'd go out for the day, and come back with breakfast there for us to have in the morning.
The folks who work there are friendly and certainly know hospitality. The room was impeccable. I really just can't say enough! It's one of the few times I can honestly say that there's nothing negative to say about this hotel.
We passed other hotels that I researched and I actually said every time, "I sure am glad I chose James Gettys!"

Room Tip: Zeigler Holtzworth Livery Suite was a perfect room. 3rd floor, rear of building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for James Gettys Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Reserved parking right in front was great for check in. We then used the parking lot right behind the James Getty and it was very convenient. We stayed in the Lord Nelson room and it was spotless. The kitchenette had everything we needed including the complimentary cheese tray(the cheeses were incredible). Each night they also dropped off muffins, spiced breads, and grapes for the morning meal along with orange juice and the chocolate chip cookies were perfect. This was also the quietest room we have ever stayed in and the heat thermostat was accessible and worked well. The furnishings were clean and comfortable. There was a very nice walk in closet in the bedroom. It was also conveniently located for the historic sites. It was a home away from home. Oh yes I almost forgot everyone we met was very friendly and had our best interest at heart. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The Lord Nelson room was great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Jame Gettys Hotel is a sweet place to stay. They have hospitality in an old fashion way.
Like a time machine you are back 100 years and truly you have to stay here to experience your getaway in a grand Gettysburg way. I don't want to give away all secrets . You will just have to come and enjoy. Truly one of the best places we ever had the pleasure to stay,

Room Tip: show up any room is well worth while
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodadv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that we made such an impression on you! Everyone likes to be pampered when they are on vacation, and it is our pleasure to make sure our guests go away feeling satisfied.

Please stay again!
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect weekend getaway. The owners show a genuine interest in their guests. They made sure we were enjoying our stay and were always willing to give suggestions on where to go or what to do. Our suite was spotless. The fruit and cheese tray a welcome snack. The location was right in the heart of town. We didn't hear any night noise from the keystone suite, although there is a bar right next door. I would definitely recommend this hotel .

Stayed: April 2014
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Keystone Hotel Suite; each of the rooms on the front of the building offer such wonderful views of the street and welcome bursts of sunshine!

Thank you for taking advantage of our Living Social package - we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We came here based on a 2 night groupon gift bought for us. The hotel is right in the center of town allowing you to park your car in their parking lot and walk to most attractions. The room was clean, large and comfy. I only wish they had queen or king size beds. However, it had a nice little kitchenette with a stove, coffee maker, refrigerator, etc. We received a large welcome tray of cheeses, crackers and fruit, which was lovely. At night, we received home baked cookies for the evening. Each eve we also received a basket of home baked bread, muffins and fruit, as well as a carafe of orange juice for breakfast. A small pitcher of milk was given to use with our morning coffee (also provided).

My only complaint about our stay was the noise outside our windows late at night. We asked for a room in the rear of the hotel because of the reviews that mentioned the street noise. However, the rear rooms border an alley way that runs between the hotel and the Blue Parrot Bistro next door. On Thursday eve, there wasn't any noise, however, Friday night we heard lots of very loud laughter and talking until almost 3am, even though we were on the 5th floor. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep that night. While the hotel may not be able to prevent this, they should supply each room with a white noise machine for the nightstand. These work very well in eliminating noise. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay at the James Gettys. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise next door. You are correct in your estimation that we are unable to control it; however, we do what we can to limit it, including triple-paned windows (plus storm windows in some instances) and heavy curtains. We also work very closely with our neighbors in noise-prevention solutions.

I realize that with the Living Social promotion, many rooms filled up very quickly on weekends. I can only suggest that our guests reserve as soon as possible after purchasing a voucher. I would also suggest coming in during the week to enjoy Gettysburg with fewer crowds.

Thank you again for your comments and suggestions; we will take them to heart!
Please stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have been staying at the James Getty for 15 years now. It has been consistently clean and well cared for, and the staff has always been very friendly. It is in a great location for walking to restaurants and shops. The breakfast of baked goods (baked on the premises, too) with fruit and juice is always delicious. I have never, never been disappointed in the James Getty and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I cannot say how delighted I was to read your review!
Thank you so much for continuing to rely on the James Gettys Hotel for your visits to Gettysburg. We really enjoy having you as our guests and look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just returned from the James Getty Hotel and had a fabulous stay! The staff could not have been nicer and welcoming. The cheese and fruit tray and breakfast basket are just wonderful. Our room, Lord Nelson Suite, was extremely clean, warm and comforting. VERY quiet and relaxing at night! Just perfect! We had to leave early due to a dental emergency and the staff all expressed concern. We will DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrostyinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I am so sorry that you had to leave early! Hopefully, you will be right as rain in no time!
The Lord Nelson's Suite is a very popular room, and I'm glad you enjoyed it!
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: £103 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing