We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Loved everything! Clean, comfortable and charming. After years of stale muffins and boxed cereals, the homemade treats were a welcome change. The manager of the hotel was attentive and welcoming (as was her sister). We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first time to see the Gettysburg National Battlefield and we weren't sure where to stay. We chose the James Getty Hotel because it is located in the city center. We were happy with our choice, because we could walk to a restaurant for dinner. We also learned that for a very small price you can take a bus to the Battlefield and other sites from this area if you prefer not to drive. The hotel building is a historic building, but we were disappointed that the room decor is modern. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast consisted of slices of coffeecake, fruit, and orange juice - left in the room so that you can eat it whenever you wish. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel (on Chambersburg Street) have a view of the street. There is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DEBBI1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We regularly stay at the James Getty when visiting Gettysburg. The hotel is located in the heart of Gettysburg - within walking distance to many sites. The innkeepers are so kind and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. It is one of the few hotels where I am actually comfortable - it is super clean, up to date, and I LOVE that each suite is so large for such a reasonable price. You can't beat the deal or experience! I HIGHLY recommend the James Getty! We'll be returning there next year!

Room Tip: If you like a quiet night's sleep, request a room at the back of the hotel. The rooms in the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SAGH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your continued support of our hotel! We always love to see familiar faces and greatly look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your comments on our cleanliness and size of our suites. It is our pleasure to create a home-away-from-home environment; I'm so glad you can relax in comfort here!

See you next year!
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved everything about this hotel: It's historic look; it's cleanliness and modern amenities such as wi-fi; our suite (John Trumbull Sr) complete with kitchen, breakfast left in the fridge, and cookies or chocolates left at night; Lord Nelson's Gallery connected to it; Adams County Winery on one side of it and the Blue Parrot Bistro on the other side. The hotel staff was gracious and answered all of our question as well. We had a great weekend and we will be back some day to try a different suite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joefromcincy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the John Troxell, Sr. Suite! I will be very interested to see which suite you choose next time and to hear how they compare. We have some guests who have made it a mission to stay in each suite! Each room is well-decorated and comfortably furnished, but they each have their own distinct personalities.

We hope to see you again very soon!
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I met up with our son and his family for a visit to Gettysburg and environs and we stayed at this charming, well-located historic hotel for three nights. Our rooms were spacious, bright, clean and nicely appointed. It was great to have a kitchenette in each room.

The downtown location could not have been better in terms of easy access to many restaurants, grocery store and drug store, as well as the battlefield and other historic sites.

We loved finding our homemade breakfast treats, plus juice and fruit, in our room the night before, not to mention evening treats like cookies or dark chocolate. A really nice touch!

If I were to offer two minor suggestions, they would be 1) the shag carpet in our room (Sign of the Buck) should probably be upgraded to something newer and nicer; and 2) the staff, while always friendly and helpful when we rang for them, never seemed to be at the front desk. Unauthorized individuals could easily wander into the lobby, push the elevator button and go up to any floor.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel that we would highly recommend and that we would certainly stay in again ourselves.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Paula Simpson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! I'm so glad your family enjoyed staying with us during your recent visit to Gettysburg! We always enjoy hosting family groups - everyone is always having such a great time!

We always appreciate guest feedback, so thank you very much for your comments! Some minor renovations, including carpet replacement, are in our sights as we look ahead to our hotel's 20th anniversary, so stay tuned!

I would just like to put your mind at ease regarding your comment about our unmanned front desk; safety and security of our guests and our property are of the utmost importance to us. Each of our innkeepers wears many "hats" during his/her shift, so we find that keeping an innkeeper at the desk at all times for a hotel of our size is not really feasible.

However, you may have noticed that our office is located right next to the elevator in the lobby, and we tend to poke our heads out to greet the guests as they come and go. In addition to this, we are able to be reached by phone at all times and we are able to monitor the lobby with a security camera when our tasks take us downstairs.

After each of our guests has checked in, we also lock our front door (which is why each guest room key has been mastered to the lobby door) and perform walk-throughs of the building each evening.

Thank you once again for your comments and for the opportunity to address this very important topic! We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My Husband and I traveled to Gettysburg for a quick overnight trip on my Birthday. We picked the James Getty Hotel due to its location. The hotel is very clean and the managers were very nice and knowledgeable. The breakfast basket of lemon bread and muffin's was a nice way to greet the morning, perfect with a cup of coffee. We will be returning to Gettysburg and plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mkmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for spending your birthday with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your overnight trip to Gettysburg - this small town has so much to offer, I'm sure we will see you again!

Thank you also for the compliments on our staff and breakfast treats! We love seeing to the little details that make our guests feel at home.

We hope to see you again soon!
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wow
A great place seriously
Stayed in city hotel suite which was large two room suite and really what you want after a day touring.
B'fast is continental ?? With carbs served the evening before- so if you want b'fast don't count on this!
That being said the staff is great
Elevator is v nice
Free parking is a plus
Would definitely come again

Room Tip: Choose room on line 318 was great and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! What you said about the City Hotel Suite being "what you want after a day of touring" is exactly the experience we strive to bring each of our guests! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Gettysburg - we hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
478 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: £75 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing