We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

This hotel was perfect - very, very clean and the staff, while helpful, was not obtrusive. They provided a key to the front door so we could come and go at our leisure, which was a bonus.

We stayed in the James Troxell Suite and it was just lovely - however, if you're a light sleeper this room (2nd floor facing the main street, with bedroom on the corner ) may not be for you. The street out front is very heavily traveled and must be a main route for trucks and buses, as well as cars. Fortunately it did not bother us.

We would definitely stay again, as the location was perfect and the hotel provides free convenient onsite parking.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
212
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The service was exceptional, the rooms were clean, warm and inviting. We are looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gownmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

The service is absolutely first rate. We are left with the feeling that the staff was willing to go to any reasonable length to make our stay a grand experience. The rooms are spacious suites, and very, very clean. The amenities are all here. Breakfasts consist of freshly baked rolls and bread. Room costs are very reasonable. Our group has already moved to fill all the rooms for a similar event in 2011.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsurdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Did not book this on-line. Literally, showed up in Gettysburg and had to look in the phone book for a room, so had not seen the photos before booking. But what they advertise is "Historic James Gettys Hotel"...so naturally, and based on the entrance to the place, I am thinking it's going to have historic furnishings, etc. But in the end, I was rather disappointed. While the stay was fine and plenty comfortable, IMHO, the interior fell flat of adding any sort of historical feel to the place. Basically, what you get is dated 80's country decor. And I do have to agree with another poster on here, there was never anyone at the desk, and I am not sure who the lady was that was working there, but she was very brisk and rather rude though the younger college kid who was working the evening shift was very nice. Overall, I am surprised at all these over the top 5 star reviews quite frankly. We drove to NYC immediately following our stay in Gettysburg and found a 4 star hotel on the upper west side that was absolutely gorgeous for less! I do want to go back to Gettysburg, but I will try another hotel. OK. Just not impressive enough for the money.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2010
Thank you for your constructive criticism. I noticed that you stayed in 2007 and wanted to let you know that our rooms have been upgraded within the last two years. Our property is extremely historic, but we do not advertise historic decor. We want our guests to feel relaxed as though in their own home. Our best compliments are based on our 'home away from home'" feel.
Our lobby is historic as it was merely a simple entryway in the early 1900's, mostly for ladies who would not walk through a bar to check in to their room. Because of the small space, we do not keep a person posted at a 'desk', however our facility is staffed fully throughout the day. Our staff is friendly and kind, perhaps you caught one of us on a bad day and for that I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed here for only one night in early April, the Hotel was in the heart of the town of Gettysburg and within walking distance of some of the shops, restaurants and some attractions (but not the battlefields). Clean spacious and quiet room, It is a small hotel, but one of the most comfortable place I have stayed in, Should we go back to Gettysburg, would not heisitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdelis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was my family's second stay at this hotel. We were impressed when we stayed her 6 years ago, and we're still impressed. Our suite was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast muffins and bread are very tasty. Parking is easy and free and the hotel is right in the center of town and convenient to all attractions. For its location, I think it is priced quite fairly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

I have travelled to Gettysburg many, many times with my young daughter and other family members, and I have stayed at The James Gettys Hotel on numerous occasions. From my experiences, I can honestly say that this is one of (if not THE) best hotels I've ever stayed at!

From the moment you walk through the front doors, Steph and her staff treat you like their extended family. Their smiles and warm welcomes always make you feel at home. The entire place is spotless, and each suite is individually decorated with interesting layouts. From the cozy, intimate suites, such as the Union Hotel Suite, to the enormous Majestic Suite, you'll find full kitchens with all necessary utensils and appliances, ample living rooms, lovely bathrooms, and amazing bedrooms. The Majestic Suite, the hotel's newest addition located on the second floor in the rear of the building, goes even further by offering a wet bar, electric fireplace, and awesome jetted tub for 2.

Each evening, the hotel provides a turn-down service and delivers breakfast for the next day, which consists of fresh-baked breads and muffins, various seasonal fruits, fresh juice, and even a few chocolate treats for those nighttime munchies!

Parking is in the rear of the building, and the hotel provides easy access to the main lobby via a paved walkway along the side of the building. In addition, the hotel has an elevator for those unable to make the steps. If you're a smoker, the building is completely smoke-free. However, they do provide a smoking area outside of the second floor exit, which is quite convenient.

Although the hotel sits on a main street, it is generally quiet. There is a bar/restaurant next door that can get a little noisy during the summer months, but it has never prevented us from getting a restful night's sleep.

Located among many shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions, The James Gettys Hotel is a jewel to be discovered! I've stayed in over half of the suites in this hotel, and I honestly can't wait to go back and experience the other half. When in Gettysburg, this is my home away from home. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing