We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Gettysburg”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Gettysburg”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had a wonderful time in Gettysburg and were made to feel at home by Elizabeth, Becky and Mike. And their dogs. The inn is perfectly situated for touring Gettysburg and the battlefield sights. Our room was very comfortable, the inn is very cosy and breakfast was most enjoyable, especially the one we shared with Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and his wife! We would certainly stay here again when visiting the area. Jacquie and Tim

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    32
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
51
268
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montreal canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My wife and I spent five days recently at the Gaslight and would highly recommend it as the perfect place to stay when visiting Gettysburg. Our host Becky was most welcoming and was especially helpful when my wife had to make an unexpected trip to hospital because of an accident she suffered just prior to our visit. The breakfasts and rooms were first class and well maintained and surprise visits by Civil war re enactors at breakfast were a real treat. The Inn is located just off the main square which was ideal, we would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The inn has three floors and no elevator so visitors with mobility issues should take note
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gaslight when I had a work assignment nearby. Although I had to leave before breakfast, the hosts accommodated this, leaving me the requested cereal and milk, along with some breakfast breads or treats.

My wife enjoyed the breakfasts, particularly the guests. One morning was President and Mrs. Grant, another was a tour guide, and a third demonstrated musket firing (including letting my wife fire one - with no rounds).

I really appreciated the "steam bath" option in the shower as I had a head cold. The hosts referred us to Garryowen, which was excellent, and arranged a tour guide for my wife, who was also excellent.

I was glad we were driving a compact car and could use the very close alley parking - a larger vehicle would have parked across the street in overflow... a little less convenient, but that is nitpicking.

My wife had no vehicle in the day and walked most places very easily.

I would highly recommend the Gaslight Inn.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, our home is in the country, and the street noise was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasketCase24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The stay at the Inn was great. Mike met me at the door and made me feel right at home. I arrived on Saturday and left on Monday. I didn't realize that breakfast was at 9 on Monday - it was at 8:30 or 9:45 on Sunday (two seatings to accommodate the number of guests). The breakfast was wonderful! Could splurge and purchase a better toilet paper - one ply is awfully thin. Would definitely stay there again and have recommended it to my friends.

Room Tip: Remeber there is no elevator - if your room is on the third floor, pack light! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaslightGettyburg_PA, Owner at The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you, Juliana, for this wonderful review.

We agree with you about the TP and new cases have been purchased!

Come to see us again.

Best regards,
Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gaslight Inn. The owners were very kind and spent time chatting with us and other guests over and after breakfast. Breakfast was gourmet and lovely. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the clover- no shower but a nice bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingin302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, Ca.
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the gaslight while "Battlefielding" it. Can't say enough nice things about Becky and Elizabeth, who really go all out to assist and pamper their guests. It is easily within walking distance of Lincoln Square and all the neat restaurants there. They have sweetened the experience of staying there with interesting breakfast guests that bring perspective to the Gettyburg bygone era. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The Clover Room is a treasure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I recently stayed at gaslight inn for a belated honeymoon trip. It was absolutely great!! With our package we got an hour carriage ride through the battlefield and taken to our restaurant of choice for dinner in which with the package we had a gift card for. After nit having much luck at the visitors center for a tour of the battlefield I called the inn and spoke to Becky she was quick to recommend a guide who was coming to the inn to stay she even called him and arranged it for us. Both her and Mike and our tour guide were amazing and so helpful of course I must add I LOVE the puppies to and hope to go back and see them ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveASL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 E Middle St, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An In-Town Oasis, the Gaslight Inn is a nine room Inn one block from Lincoln Square, the center of town, and one block from Confederate Ave., the Culps Hill area of the Battlefield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Inn b&b
The Gaslight Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing