We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't miss this B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
1 review
“Don't miss this B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Gaslight Inn is a true treasure of Gettysburg. It is a beautifully maintained historic building located a few minutes walk from Lincoln Square. The staff is well informed and enthusiastic to direct you hidden tourist treasures off the beaten path (be sure to ask about Miss Betty's ghost tour, Pamona restaurant, and the winery's). The daily breakfasts are delicious and can be made to go for those who want to sleep in before dashing out the door for their Gettysburg adventure. The rooms are very clean, quiet, and have all of the vacation amenities to include great bathrooms (ours included a large steam shower which was great for post touring relaxation). Five stars across the board!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    30
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
48
260
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
forest view, il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Gaslight Inn in the past 5 years. The last two visits were in the lovely Aster Room. The room is beautiful & comfortable - very restful after busy days out at the battle field, museums, etc. Breakfast is delicious & filling - a great to start a busy day & the table conversation is always lively. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patti_fvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a super place to stay. We arrived after 7pm but that was no trouble. Rang to let the owners know and they left the key attached to the front door ! The room was beautiful (Aster Room) After what turned out to be a VERY long journey from Newark airport, it was so lovely to find somewhere so welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing and it was so nice to chat to other travellers. If we pass this way again we will certainly stay here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Aster Room a dream on the top floor at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane23121958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just recently returned from our stay at the Gaslight Inn. Great room, clean and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the staff so very welcoming and helpful. The gardens were simply gorgeous and the street reasonably quiet. The back porch was a plus and all of the extra amenities (water, coffee, cookies and a fridge for our wine) made it so comfortable and like a home away from home. Can't say enough wonderful things! Also, get the package that includes a private guided tour of the battlefield. Stuart was EXCELLENT!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defygravity56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our third hotel during a four week road trip in the US. The two nights we stayed there were the only time we experienced wet and cold weather which is a shame as we really enjoyed Gettysburg with all the related fascinating history. The Inn is immaculately clean with attractive bedrooms accurately portrayed on the website. The breakfasts were lovely and it was one of the few times I actually saw a teapot and had a really good cup of tea!! The only problem we experienced was booking the Violet Room (which at $170 a night was the least expensive) after seeing Tripadviser reviews. It is a small room with a very small shower room so fine for the weekend but insufficient room for anyone travelling with more luggage. Also there are dogs present in the Inn which we were unaware of from the Website and could prove a problem if anyone has an allergy. Having looked again it is under Inn Policies. Otherwise we really enjoyed the stay and our meal at the The Dobbin House Hotel. Our favourite bit has to be ice-cream at Mr G's-amazing!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book one of the larger rooms if travelling for longer than a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We just recently returned from a two night stay here, and I cannot say enough about how truly wonderful it was!! The inn was extraordinarily clean, each room is beautifully decorated, and the gardens were gorgeous! We stayed in two separate rooms (Lily and Violet) and both were extremely clean, the beds were so comfortable, and the temperatures were comfy even in 90+ degree weather! Becky is very hospitable and makes you feel right at home. The breakfast both days was fantastic! I have only two suggestions I have for anyone staying here (and they are purely my issue NOT the fault of the owners). First, to please let Elizabeth or Becky know if you have any food allergies right away! I neglected to tell them I have an allergy to pineapple, and I felt horrible at our first breakfast when they had to remake my breakfast bc it was a Spanish quiche with pineapple salsa. They quickly made a different one with peach salsa instead, but I felt bad making them go through the trouble. The second, if you have a lot of heavy luggage, you may wish to pick a room on the second floor rather than the third. The first night, we stayed in the Lily room and carrying my heavy suitcase up three flights of steps in 90+ degree heat was rough. Again, these were both my fault, not the Inn's! I would recommend to anyone to stay at The Gaslight Inn when visiting Gettysburg!! You truly will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Violet room, while small, is beautifully decorated. The Lily room has only a jacuzzi tub, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticqtpie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the inn. The host was warm, helpful and welcoming. He had our room ready early and gave us great suggestions for things to do in Gettysburg. The breakfast was amazing and the rooms were beautiful.

Room Tip: Lily room is especially beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An In-Town Oasis, the Gaslight Inn is a nine room Inn one block from Lincoln Square, the center of town, and one block from Confederate Ave., the Culps Hill area of the Battlefield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Inn b&b
The Gaslight Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing