We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was our first time at a B & B and the Hoover's made our stay very warm and welcoming for the three nights that we were there. . They gave a wonderful tour and history of the historic site as well as other area recommendations in seeing Gettysburg. They also helped us with dinner reservations at another difficult place to get in to dine. Our room was very comfortable and cozy. I would highly recommend this place and we would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

I had my first visit with The Lightner bed & breakfast. The owners Eileen & Dennisare wonderful hosts & made my visit an absolute delight. I stayed in the Walnut Cottage that was right off of the sunroom & provided a quiet evening. I highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The owners, Eileen and Dennis really make you feel at home. This is a quiet little B&B just 10 minutes from the center of the town in Gettysburg. What a great retreat. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable "home away from home", this is the place to stay. 26 acres of beautiful land with a lot of history. Ask Eileen about the history of the farmhouse. My sister and I stayed in the Walnut Cottage. What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIITMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed here for two nights and it was a wonderful place. It is a great location and the innkeepers are so kind, so helpful, and so inviting. They have much to share about both historical and current Gettysburg. It's not far from the city and the property is beautiful.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice play to stay in Gettysburg.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank bcoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

What can one say, all the good things and positives are correct. If you are coming to Gettysburg as part of a Civil War tour stay here, if you are just passing through, still stay here. How many people can say they went to Gettysburg and stayed in a (former) Union Army hospital. Super knowledgable hosts, and not just on the battle and Gettysburg, when I suggested we would follow the CSA army route of withdrawal after the battle as it was in our general direction we were given a detailed route which just added to the whole visit.
Do a battlefield tour, they guy we had could have been at the battle he was so good. The visitor centre is great, the film is very good and take in a Park Ranger talk, very knowledgable people.
Eileen and Dennis, thanks very much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearscarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

It is always fun for us to help guests find unique and memorable places to visit in our area or as they head out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We chose this B&B for two reasons. It's close to the Gettysburg Battlefield and visitors center and the house depicted on the website looks just like one of ours. We could have spent a week here, just reading all of the historical material related to the area and specifically to the house. Built in 1862, it served as a makeshift hospital during the Battle of Gettysburg in 1863. Eileen and Dennis are very accommodating and gracious hosts. They truly love what they do and they do it very well. Great place, great food and warm hospitality, served up with a boat load of incredible history. We'll be back, for sure.

Room Tip: They all looked good, but we liked our room on the first floor with a fireplace and our own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our family stayed at this B and B in June 2012. It was a stop-over on our way to Va Beach. The owners upgraded our room for no additional charge. The suite was spacious and comfortable for our family of 4. They allowed my 11 year old son to metal detect for civil war era artifacts on their spacious property. When he found a couple metal pieces they let him keep them and were helpful in identifying them as possible civil war pieces. The breakfast was outstanding. We had a great experience here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamasmurf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,117 reviews
3.2 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £103 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing