We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History, nature and paranormal experiences” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #7 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“History, nature and paranormal experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Lightner Farmhouse sits back from the road amidst acres of fields, forests and walking paths to the White Run. Nature lovers and hikers will love staying at this historic inn built in 1862. Dennis mows pathways through the fields so you can easily find your way to the creek and Eileen has prepared a map of the 15 acres of nature you can stroll during your stay. During our stay the wild phlox was in bloom throughout the area and Eileen's personal garden was bursting with color. Many times our trips into nature were made more fun by the presence of Jezebel, the farmhouse cat who is extremely friendly to all guests (she is not allowed inside so do not be bribed by her pretty eyes and friendly manner).

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted and given a short tour and history of the inn. We knew right away that Dennis and Eileen were fun folks. We stayed in the Oak room on the second floor. This room was rumored to be haunted by Isaac Lightner (the builder of the home) but he didn't make any appearances while we were there. This room is spacious and has a wonderful shady view of the courtyard plus a view of Eileen's garden. The bathroom was roomy and also had a window looking over the courtyard.

Because we love paranormal investigations, we booked a tour with Betty Roche - the Lightner housekeeper by day and paranormal expert at night with her company Gettysburg Paranormal Society. She gave us a choice between the Sachs covered bridge or checking out the grounds of the farmhouse. We chose the Sachs bridge and were not disappointed!! Check out my full review on her company for more details of our experiences.

Both Eileen and Dennis gave us great tips on how to tour the Gettysburg battlefield. We opted for the 3-hour bus tour so we could get acquainted with the area, and then drove our car later that day to several key spots that we wanted to explore more. We only spent one day in Gettysburg and we suggest that you spend at least 3 days to take in the whole impact of what occurred in this town.

The breakfasts always started with fresh fruit followed by an egg dish OR pancakes/waffles/french toast. They also serve excellent coffee, teas and fresh juices along with pastries. You will not leave the dining room hungry! Eileen also accommodates all dietary needs/restrictions. I am a vegetarian and was extremely satisfied with my options.

We also took advantage of the warm, fresh-baked cookies Eileen provided in the afternoon. A great way to relax after a busy day.

Our next trip to Gettysburg will be much longer and we'll be staying, once again, at the Lightner.

Room Tip: Choose either the Pine Tree or Oak room to increase your chances of encountering the paranormal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
64
166
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My sister and a couple of friends had stayed here this past Memorial Day weekend. We drove from Chicago and were to get there around 3-4am. The owner, Eileen, was very accomadating and let us know that we can arrive at that time (seeing that is a very inconvenient time). Needless to say, we did not make it there at that time, but arrived right when breakfast was being serve. After breakfast, Eileen and Dennis showed us the house and told us bit of it's history. We had stayed in the 3rd floor suite. The suite was quaint and beautiful, what you would expect from a B&B. The place was not far from historic downtown Gettysburg so that is a plus! Our overall stay was fantastic and cannot wait to go back and stay there again! Thank You Eileen and Dennis...and Betty too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-May, our first trip to Gettysburg. Lightner was such a delightful place to return to each evening blending the charm and welcomeness with the history of the area. Dennis and Eileen were great hosts and rightfully very proud of their lovely inn. After a long day on the battlefield it was interesting to come back to a place that was an active part of the history during those days of the battle. I felt we might see infantry pouring through the yard at any time. An fabulous alternative to the standard hotels. We particularly loved the location, a bit away from the bustle of the downtown area, yet minutes to the battlefield and anything we needed. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfmBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valatie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is a lovely historic B & B just outside of Gettysburg, Pa. that gives you so much more ambience for equivalent dollars than many of the chain hotels of the Gettysburg area. Not only do you get a former Union hospital and it's history, but beautiful grounds to walk around and gardens to delight the eye. The innkeepers, Eileen and Dennis are very gracious and helpful in planning your day or days in the Gettysburg area. Their breakfasts are hearty, healthy and delicious in a cozy little dining room or garden room. Comfortable rocking chairs on the porch help you while away an afternoon after a busy day of sightseeing. We had a two bedroom suite that was charming and just slightly more than a room at the local Motel 6!! We felt lucky to have found this gem of a B & B for our recent brother/sister biking tour of Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite was very spacious...but a bit of a hike up two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Eileen upgraded us to the suite upstairs and it was terrific! It was quiet and very comfortable.
Great location close to Gettysburg's attractions. Wonderful breakfast and conversation. The house was only about 2 years old when the Battle of Gettysburg occured. It was used as a hospital for wounded Union soldiers. You can 'feel' the history in this beautifully restored home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barfly919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband, two children (ages 10 and 8) and myself stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse B+B in the Walnut Cottage. It was our first B+B stay and at first I was not sure about having kids at a B+B, however, staying in the Walnut Cottage was perfect. It had a room with a king size bed, a daybed and a trundle on the second floor. On the first floor there was a sofa and TV as well as a bathroom. It had its own entrance so we did not have to disturb anyone. It also had a small porch with rockers which was perfect for relaxing while we kept our eye on our kids as they explored and ran around their large property. It was just the perfect location for us. Eileen and Dennis, the owners, serve a full breakfast that was out of this world and very filling. In addition, they offer cookies around the clock. Betty, the housekeeper, is also so personable and contributes to the warmth and hominess of this charming B+B. We had an amazing time in the beautiful town of Gettysburg and the stay at the Lightner Farmhouse as certainly one of the highlights. We would recommend a stay here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Dennis & Eileen Hoover, the owners, were warm and very inviting . . . and their sincerity shined through . . . we felt comfortable and at home right away. The accommodations were very nice and I must add that the everything was in order and clean. Our stay was limited in time, so Eileen graciously offered the use of her audio car tour for us to experience the Gettysburg area. And breakfast was very nice, too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our stay was in the Cedar Room . . . highly recommended as you had your own entrance and a nice porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.8 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Property: The Lightner Farmhouse
Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing