We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home in Gettysburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anoka, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This lovely B&B is a bit like visiting your favorite Aunt and Uncle's house in the country. The rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Our hosts couldn't be more helpful, sharing a wealth of knowledge about the area. This ante-bellum home is living history which provides a different perspective on the battlefield.

Breakfasts are delicious and substantial.

A favorite past-time is sitting and rocking on the porch overlooking one of the many beautiful gardens with a glass of wine.

I recommend this B&B without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredAnoka_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your return visit and thanks for bringing two other delightful couples with you. It was really fun getting to know everyone and talking history with all of you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
64
166
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is the best decision we made for lodging in Gettysburg. Wonderful, welcoming owners who have a wealth of information on everything in Gettysburg. Beautiful, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts. Rockers on the porch for the evening glass of wine watching the fireflies sparkle in the garden. Doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: Oak room was lovely and cool overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJ1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Walking into the Lightner Farmhouse is like stepping back in time. If the walls could talk the stories they would tell. But innkeeper, Eileen, is more than happy to tell you some of the stories connected with this home built in 1862. We stayed in the Pine Suite which is basically the entire 3rd floor of the house and consists of a bedroom, bath and another huge room with a trundle bed. Breakfast was a treat especially on the day when Eileen, in period costume, portrayed Barbara Lightner and talked about growing up in the house during the Civil War. I would also recommend the paranormal tour that can be arranged by the innkeepers. The gardens and outdoor spaces are inviting and manicured and there are walking paths on the property. I highly recommend the Lightner Farmhouse and would stay there again should I find myself in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Barbara Ann Lightner history talk is a new addition this year and I'm glad you enjoyed hearing her story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Hoover Family owns and runs the Lightner Farmhouse. We quickly realized when we arrived that they formerly ran the Cashtown Inn. Eileen welcomed and greeted us right away. She provided us the history of the Lightner Farmhouse with just the right amount of information. We were given a quick tour of the house, received our keys, and received information about activities available during our stay.

We loved that they had a historian available to talk about the Lightner Farmhouse and the events that occurred during the war at Gettysburg. If you are into paranormal investigation, Betty Roche is amazing and extremely fun and knowledgeable (we loved our tour with her).

Most of all we appreciated all of the small touches that the Hoovers provided during our experience. We don't want to spoil them for you, but trust me they covered things well.

The food and service at breakfast was perfect! Well exceeded our expectation. Jason is an amazing cook / chef. There is only so much you can do for breakfast and it was delicious. Not to mention Jason was very friendly and great to talk to.

We look forward to going back again in the future.

Brenda & Terry

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgnagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Lightner Farmhouse in April with several friends. It was the second stay for my wife and I. Both visits were could not have been better. We stay in B&Bs quite a bit and the Lightner Farmhouse rates at the top of our experiences. Eileen was extremely helpful in finding us find an experienced guide on both visits. Most people come to Gettysburg for to learn about the battle and the historical aspects of the house are well documented. All of that, combined with exceptional hosts and delicious breakfasts, make this a must for anyone visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chip e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The folks who own and run this little gem are wonderful! They were very gracious to our group and treated us like family- we used their kitchen for our supplies, they had great and delicious breakfasts,and they made fresh cookies daily. It was a wonderful historic place to stay and I would again. I slept like a log. A few miles outside gettysburg so removed but only a few minutes drive. The barroom downstairs was great for us to hang out in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

we checked in march14-16 th.
Were greeted at the door by our names by Eileen who was very friendly and welcoming and also her son Jason who was very polite and helpful.We were a little nervous about staying in someones house ( were new to b&bs) but as soon as we met eileen,Jason and dennis we felt right at home and comfy.
It was our wedding anniversary and we had flowers & strawberrys waiting for us.
The house and rooms are beautiful and squeaky clean!!!
It was an all around a wonderful experience and we cant wait to come back.
we miss it already!!!
And last but not least we did the paranormal investigation with Miss Betty and she is very friendly and knows what shes doing. We had a great time with her.
Such a nice family and cant wait to see you guys again :)
p.s. breakfast was great too
a++++++++++++
thank you all for everything could not have gotten any better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asmith1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.8 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 mi away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Property: The Lightner Farmhouse
Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing