We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
James Gettys Hotel(Gettysburg)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
304
15
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
304
15
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln roomb bworks of artrose roomabraham lincolnquiet neighborhoodgettysburg collegeperfect hostseach guesta wonderful staygettysburg areaheidiolivessparklerdoggiesbattlefieldbackyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Alexandra and George are wonderful people and perfect hosts. Two friends and I stayed at the Raphael Inn for three nights in early October, 2011. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I have had the opportunity to stay at many B&Bs, both in the United States and in Europe, and have never been treated with more genuine hospitality than here.

The only caveat I would mention is that the three rooms at the Inn are very different one from the others, but they are all full of eclectic and Victorian bric-a-brac. If one prefers a more streamlined, stately decorative look, the rooms may not be to your liking. But it hardly matters. Alexandra and George don't treat you as though you're staying in a room, they treat you as an honored guest in their home. I highly recommend the Raphael Inn and thank them for a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed two nights at the Raphael Inn. The Inn Keepers are very welcoming and they go out of their way to make sure their guests are comfortable. Our room was comfortable and extremely clean. The breakfasts were delicious and different each day. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asjlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Raphael Inn is a charming little house, just north of downtown Gettysburg. It was close enough to visit/sightsee the town but far enough away from the noise (of late dining, nightly ghost tours, traffic etc). Perfect anniversary weekend getaway for us! George and Alex are sweethearts who attend to your every need. From the thoughtful “extras” (favorite drinks and treats, dining out and sightseeing plans all made for us, etc) to the catering of our needs AND wants (what a treat!) to the special touches in décor with stories and meaning behind it all, you can tell that Alex and George really care about their guests. They even made an extra special anniversary breakfast and treat for us! And since it is a small house (with only 3 rental rooms), they could provide these personal, attentive services to each guest. Although our stay was just one short weekend (not months or years), we really connected with the owners (and the other guests as well!) and feel that we’ve made lifelong friends.
Thank you for a wonderful, beautiful weekend! May love and friendship always fill your home!

Room Tip: Evangeline (Purple) Room is "girly" and a bit smaller but cozy. Nice tub bath, cool architecture/layout. Abe Lincoln room is a bit more "royal" or manly in decor. Very cool small sunroom/sitting area attached. Smaller (only shower) bathroom. California Rose Suite is the biggest with couch (turns into single bed) in addition to master bed. Large separate bathroom. All have AC. All rooms look even better in person than on website! (Pictures don't do it justice.)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaFrabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was the first time for us and it was fabulous. It was our ann. and we wanted something memorable, and different. George and Alex were spectacular,very knowledgable about their town. The breakfast were excellent !! We stayed full until Dinner. They were so welcoming as if we were long lost friends. Heidi the wonder dog was such a treat also. If we are ever back in the area, we'll be seeing George and Alex again!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very tastefull and comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dawni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked a four night stay at The Raphael Inn and we greatly enjoyed our time there. The Escaleras are wonderful hosts and are very hospitable. They will give you as much information as you require to fully appreciate the Gettysburg area.

Alexandra's breakfasts are excellent..they not only taste delicious, but the food is presented in such a way that the plates are works of art.

They also offer snacks, coffee, tea, bottled water and soft drinks.

We stayed in the California Rose Suite...the room was large with a private bathroom; the king bed was very comfortable.

Midweek they charge $99 a night and believe me, that is a terrific deal in Gettysburg!

If you're in the area, you should definitely check out The Raphael Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank It'sTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews