We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Gettysburg”
Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Great trip to Gettysburg”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

George and Alexandra are outstanding hosts. The Raphael Inn was a great find. It's located close to downtown Gettysburg and several restaurants are within walking distance to the Inn.
Alexandra was very helpful getting us information on the National Military Park, and showing us how to get around the battlefield. The breakfasts were superb and snacks were available all the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
198
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dornsife, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in the California Rose suite for two nights. We slept with the windows open as it was a nice fall evening - the traffic noise didn't bother us at all. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The bathroom is on the small side but that is to be expected in an Inn this size. Breakfast is an event, not just a meal. The presentation of the food was top notch and the banana French toast was amazing. The butter was presented in a small dish shaped like a rose, we had our choice of hot tea and other beverages. Alexandra also offers an afternoon tea with dessert. Between these two meals, we only ate out for dinner. The Inn Is close enough to downtown that it was easy enough to head back for our afternoon tea. As far as the decor mentioned in other reviews, the Inn is decorated in a rather eclectic manner, however I found it to be charming and impeccably clean. The dogs were sweet as well but if you are not a dog person this is not the place for you. George and Alexandra go above and beyond and we will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The warm, welcoming feel of the Raphael Inn made us feel comfortable as soon as we walked in the door. Alexandra is an excellent cook and her breakfasts were absolutely delicious. (There were also snacks and drinks available all during the day and evening). George was especially helpful in giving us ideas of things to do and places do go. We also enjoyed hearing about things that were not necessarily in the guide book such as the monument at the fire station. We are both animal lovers so having Heidi and Olive around was an added bonus. Definitely an inn that everyone would enjoy.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and comfortable. Others at breakfast said the same thing so I have to assume tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It was my husband's 1st time at a B&B, and after our wonderful visit, he definitely wants to stay at B&B's in the future! There's not a single bad thing to say about our visit. The breakfasts were delicious and filling! There were snacks and drinks available throughout the day. Our room was beautiful and spacious with a private bath. The atmosphere was very cozy, and George and Alexandra were wonderful hosts. We also enjoyed playing with their two dogs, Olive and Heidi. We loved our stay so much we recommended them to our family and friends at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed this past weekend and I never received more gracious treatment! They were excellent hosts and we had received great directions to places to see and visit. With my gluten allergies, I couldn't ask for a more delicious breakfast, the sausage and potato casserole I loved , but the French toast was served southern style and out this world! Needless to say Alexandra knew the best gluten free restaurant to attend for Italian, just ask her. The room I stayed was the Abraham Lincoln. Extremely comfortable bed. However; my husband and I enjoyed the coach room which was so charming and done in period decore. We watched the sun come up in the coach room. It had a dazzling effect in the room. We went to the barn dance in Ortanna that weekend. They proudly took our pictures and will send them when ready. Best blessed, heart felt experience I had in years. I highly recommend George and Alexandra to any traveler who wants to feel that at home ambience, that is so hard to find . the Andersons from Erie Pa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bladerunp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A wonderful house, furnished in a style that can only be described as quirky! Gracious hosts who just can't do enough for their guests, superb breakfasts & snacks & drinks available any time you want them . . . add in two lovely dogs & you've got the recipe for a unique & memorable stay!

WARNING: once Olive, the puppy, has taken a liking to you she'll consider it your duty to play with her all day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Gettysburg recently, and had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Raphael Inn. Alexandra and George are the most friendly and helpful hosts you could wish to meet and made us feel very at home, taking the time to tell us about the lovely town of Gettysburg and very helpful information about the battlefield and when we visit Gettysburg again we will definitely stay at the Raphael Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank se1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Property: Raphael Inn
Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing