We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our first time to Gettysburg, and George and Alexandra made us feel as welcome as can be imagined. We stayed in the Lincoln Room, and appreciated the extra space with the porch/sitting area. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and "homey." George and Alexandra were exceptionally gracious and convivial hosts, and the breakfasts were both works of art and delicious. The location is great, just north of town center, and my wife and I enjoyed peaceful strolls on the (small but picturesque) Gettysburg College a block or so away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
196
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are seasoned B&B guests and the Raphael Inn did not disappoint! The home has a welcoming warmth that is reflected in the service provided by Alexandra & George. (Unfortunately, George was ill and we only interacted with Alexandra who was wonderful!) The house is conveniently located in Gettysburg and within minutes of all sites to visit. There is also ample driveway parking which is very convenient. Heidi & Olive, are delightful and could be therapy dogs. They are perfectly comfortable, polite, and friendly around guests without being intrusive.

Alexandra was very helpful in terms of recommending local restaurants, attractions, etc. as well as places best avoided. We always find that very important as we travel. Locals usually know their own community better than most travel books and we appreciate that expertise in B&B innkeepers. In addition, Alexandra prepares a superb gourmet breakfast and is very attentive in her service to make you as comfortable as possible. She also had delicious homemade treats available upon your return later in the day or evening along with coffee and tea. She packed us brownies the day we left because we were too full to eat them the night before.

We stayed in the Evangeline Room which was peaceful and quiet as it faced the side and back yards. The sound of birds singing was a bonus! The room was cozy and somewhat small but certainly adequate for a couple. The bathroom was surprisingly large and both areas were immaculate. Alexandra took great pride in showing us how she had lovingly decorated each of the three rooms with a theme.

We prefer staying in B&Bs because we enjoy conversations with the host & hostess, as well as guests who come from near and far. We enjoy staying in local homes that reflect the character of the area you are visiting. We enjoy a homemade breakfast that makes us smile and fills us up before we start to explore. The Raphael Inn did not disappoint!

Room Tip: The Lincoln and Evangeline Rooms face the rear of the house and are therefore quieter. The Californi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottatravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

While looking for a place to stay in Gettysburg, I discovered the Raphael Inn. Not only was it the size of the establishment I was looking for, the price was also below the range I was going to spend.

We recently spend 3 nights at Raphael Inn, and although looking for a place to lay our heads at the end of the day, we got so much more! Alexandra and George, the innkeepers and proprietors, treated us like family. We were treated to a full breakfast each morning. They accommodated our dietary needs. There was nothing too much that they could do for us. We were treated like family.

They were very helpful when recommending places to eat, as well as some side trips that they thought that we would like. They were spot on!

The real stars at this B&B are Miss Heidi, the wonder dog and Olive, the small miracle. They steal the show from George and Alex. They loved playing with us and were so sad to see us leave. We had to promise them that we'd be back to visit.

In fact, we promised the girls that we would visit them on our trip back from Washington D.C., as well as George and Alex.

We absolutely loved this place and this will be our "go to" place when we need a place to stay when traveling to Adams County!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I wanted a bed and breakfast in Gettysburg and as I was coming from the UK I had to rely on other visitors comments here on Tripadvisor.
At the Rapheal Inn I got a very comfy bed in a very comfy ensuite room.
The breakfast was amazing and kept me going right through to evening meal time which I had in town. That is pretty much where B&B service ends but not at Raphael s.
Alex and George are perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, they guided us to some great places to visit and eat. I arrived a stranger and left a friend.
Alex and George are two very nice people.
If you want a good comfortable homely place to stay in Gettysburg then look no further.
Trevor Russell.
Spalding
ENGLAND.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank uktrevruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I were looking at B&B's for a weekend getaway in Gettysburg. The glowing reviews we read about the Raphael Inn prompted us to book our stay at this B&B and we are so pleased we did. The location is great. We were able to walk around the town and enjoy shopping, wine tasting and several restaurants recommended by our hosts that we really enjoyed. The inn is clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Each room has a unique theme. Alexandra and George are amazing hosts! When we spoke to Alexandra to book our reservation, she asked questions about our interests and plans for the visit. We arrived to checkin and they had maps, brochures and information ready for us. The breakfast and treats they prepared were delicious. Their sweet dogs, olive and Heidi gave the B&B a homey feel that we loved. We will definitely stay at the Raphael inn when we visit Gettysburg again and will be recommending it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparrows Point
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The Raphael Inn is a wonderful place!! Alex and George are the most gracious hosts and we felt more like family than guests. Alex and George surprised us with a pretty homemade cake (yummo) a beautiful card with a wonderful sentiment and a song to help us celebrate our 33rd Wedding Anniversary!! What an amazing couple they are! Alex makes delicious cake and her breakfasts are absolutely Divine! This was our first visit to a B&B and we loved the entire experience!! The inn is gorgeous, the rooms are very pretty, clean and comfortable! We plan to stay here everytime we visit for a weekend! Thank you Alex and George... Make sure you give Heidi and Olive an extra treat from us!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taberg, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I go to Gettysburg every November for Remembrance weekend and our anniversary. We stayed at the Raphael Inn and highly recommend it. The location is great, the rooms are comfortable and clean and did I mention our hosts? Alexandra and George are wonderful people. You can see how much they love what they do and they are really interested in their guest. Alexandra suggested places that we could go. We did take her advise and went to the Dobbins House for a tour which we enjoyed very much. The food that was served was very good and had a wonderful presentation. To our surprise George and Alexandra came out with a special little cake for our anniversary. In the card which was given to us it said "we hope your visit here with us will be full of memories and new memories made" . This is such a nice place to stay! thank you both and I hope we can stay with you this November. ps..make sure you pet Heidi the wonder dog and Olive the small wonder!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#9 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Property: Raphael Inn
Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing