We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B in Gettysburg”
Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Amazing B&B in Gettysburg”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently toured Gettysburg and the surrounding area, and stayed for 3 nights at Raphael Inn. The experience could not have been better. Our hosts, Alexandra and George, were very friendly and helpful. They were willing to spend as much time as needed to give us recommendations for restaurants and information about the area. They loaned us the audio tour for the battlefield which was extremely interesting. The Inn is a short walk from the historic town square and Gettysburg College.

Our gourmet breakfast each morning was delicious and enough food to last until dinner with just a snack during the early afternoon. The two dogs, Heidi and Olive, were very sweet and friendly. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who visits the Gettysburg area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
69
198
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 night while visiting Gettysburg. Alexandra and George went out of their way to secure us our battlefield tour guide when it all seemed too hard for the National Parks Service. The gourmet breakfasts are to amazing and their wealth of information helped make our stay in Gettysburg very enjoyable.Highly recommended for all visitors to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly16a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Alexandria, George, Heidi and Olive (both wonderful dogs) made us feel welcome and relaxed. In addition to artsy and tasty breakfast plates, we enjoyed a great selection of teas. Even though we are tea connoisseurs, George introduced us to PG Tips. We liked it so much we tried to buy it at a Gettysburg grocery store; we couldn't find it but Alexandria found a large box and gave it to us. As we drink the tea, we continue to have fond memories of our stay at the Raphael Inn, our conversations with George and Alexandria, especially their love story and how how the name "Raphael" came to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a great, relaxing time @ the Raphael Inn in Gettysburg PA thanks to Alexandra, George, Heidi & Olive & we've been to Gettysburg many, many times in the past 28 yrs.! They made sure we had all the comforts of home, so we didn't miss our pup! Olive just curls up in a lil ball in your lap & both Heidi & Olive love the attention!

The food was awesome, made with all healthy, fresh ingredients, lots of good veggies & fruits & night time snacks/apps were always made available before dinner! The homemade peanut butter, chocolate, marshmallow & walnut fudge was to die for!

If you are looking for a quiet, homey & inexpensive place to stay in Gettysburg for some nice, relaxing R&R you must try the Raphael Inn! We recommend it to everyone, who never stayed @ a B&B before because B&B is the only way to travel! Great tips on where to dine, what to see, where to shop & what traps to avoid! Thanks again for a great stay & we hope to see you again the next time we get back in the area!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet & quaintly decorated in vintage themes. It was hard to choose a room bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_3454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here the first time last October, unfortunately arriving in time for the government shutdown. Even with that we had a wonderful experience away from home because of the owners Alexandra and George. Heidi and Olive are their two very personable dogs who are loving, and "stress relieving." Just petting and playing with them makes one relaxed. The house is lovingly cared for, and the rooms creatively decorated in different themes. The house reflects how the innkeepers Alex and George care for their guests. You feel like you are the only one but everyone gets this same care. The breakfast is wonderful. The National Park is a spiritual place. Emotionally this Inn amplifies the respect and honor this area deserves. We look forward to another visit in the future to be in Gettysburg and to see our Gettysburg friends.

Room Tip: Lincoln room overlooks the backyard and is roomy with a small siting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I found the Raphael Inn while looking for a hotel online for an upcoming trip to Gettysburg. Their reviews were great, and their prices were excellent, so we decided to give them a try. We were NOT disappointed! George and Alexandra were gracious hosts, and they went out of their way to help make our trip unforgetable. From giving us the inside scoop on the absolute best tour guide for the Battlefield to recommending the perfect pub experience for us. The truly amazing thing is that they do this for everyone, tailored to each guest! I don't know how they do it, but they do! We stayed in the Evangeline room, and it was fabulous! Decorated in lavendar and purple with a Victorian flair, it was wonderful. We had not previously been Bed and Breakfast people, and I'm afraid we might not be now, because I can't imagine another B&B ever measuring up to this experience! The best part is we did not just have a great stay at a great place, we have two new friends to cherish. George and Alexandra are wonderful people, and we are so glad to have shared a couple of days in their gracious company. We are already talking about going back again when we can, and we just checked out this morning. If you are going to Gettysburg, you will miss the time of your life if you stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Lincoln Room and really enjoyed all the little special touches there, from the décor to the black-out curtains. George and Alexandra are the most hospitable and gracious hosts. Plenty of information and reviews from previous guests on the food and attractions around town. Thoroughly enjoyed the willingness to talk with us and treat us like "old friends" The Breakfasts were works of art and very delicious. Evenings , returning after a day of sights, included a relaxing time with tea/coffee and a treat, with plenty of conversation if you wanted it. Lots of little special touches to make out stay more enjoyable, plus location is within walking distance of downtown Gettysburg. Looking forward to a return trip to the Raphael Inn. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Property: Raphael Inn
Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing