We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Raphael Inn. Everything was excellent! We stayed in the Lincoln Room and loved it. It was decorated lovely and very comfortable. The California room looked comfy as well. The rooms are clean and taken care of. There is an air conditioner in each of the rooms as well. The location is great. Just a few blocks to town. It was our anniversary and Alex and George got us a little cake. They really love what they do! We really enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I spent M-Thur in the first week of August at The Raphael Inn. Everything was great. It's in a quiet part of town, which is what we were looking for. George and Alex were great hosts, and we had a great time talking with them. Thanks for all your hospitality (and Rocklynn's birthday card.) I don't know when will be in Gettysburg again, but we would happily go back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abaedzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I just spent two glorious days at the Raphael Inn. We frequent B and B's, and hold them to high standards. A trip to this inn should be on your list. We began our stay as guests of a business and left as/with new friends. George and Alexandra welcomed us with open arms, a tour of the public spaces (every inch of the place was clean and dust free), our room, its amenities, snacks and beverages as information on local restaurants and things to do were shared. We felt so "at home" the entire time we stayed there. We stayed in the Lincoln Room. It was nice to be able to have open windows and the ceiling fan or use the air conditioner. This room had a neat train feel to it. It was full of the little extras: night lights, boxes of tissues, soaps, shampoo/conditioner, places to hang wet towels, hangers for clothes, dresser space, books to read, a tv, a table and chairs to play games or snack, a small couch to relax on, a desk, options for lighting, a place to put suitcases, etc. The toilet and "cozy" shower were tucked aside with a pocket door. The sink was separated in the main part of the room. We liked that. Outside our window we enjoyed views of the gardens, birds and a a squirrel performing tricks. Speaking of animals, we are more "cat people" than "dog people." However, Olive stole our hearts! Both dogs are well mannered and not intrusive. It was our anniversary and we were treated to a special cake with a sparkler, an Escalera version of the anniversary song, a personally made card witha handwritten heartfelt message, and good wishes. Snacks and beverages were available 24 hours a day (kudos for having recycling available to the guests for both bottles and cans). Breakfasts were a taste treat and lovely presentation. One morning we were served a fruit course that was presented as a flower, with 6 or 7 fruits. It was ALMOST too beautiful to eat. Coffee was delicious as well. (This can make it or break if for us!) Conversation was great with other guests and the hosts. George and Alex made sure to introduce everyone by name and use all our names. After being in the heart of Gettysburg and seeing other B and B locations, we really appreciated the tranquility of the Raphael Inn.Its location is convenient to everything without being in the middle of things. Right before we left, George took some more pictures of us to add to the anniversary celebration photo, (which we already have received via email) and gave us a special treat as he wished us well. George and Alex were a joy to be with, a pleasure to talk to, and sincere, caring people who obviously love what they do and do it well. We truly felt like house guests of friends. A perfect get-away! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandRRockville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and i just returned from a short vacation in Gettysburg P.A. Alexandra and George are the two most welcoming and friendly people we have ever met. Their suggestions on what to see and where to eat were so helpful. I would recommend this B&B to everyone visiting Gettysburg We would definitely return to this great place. Thanks so much Alexandra and George for making us feel so welcome.
the Wilson family from MD

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yvonne857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our third time staying at the Raphael Inn and we are looking forward to next year's stay as well. We felt like we were touching base with again with friends. Alexandra and George take care of their guests , putting all their heart and soul into everything from the room preparations to the wonderfully fulfilling breakfasts they prepare and deliver with such artistry.. They are always ready to serve their guests with sincere smiles and show their interest in how guests may have spent their days/evenings. Raphael Inn is also in a great location - close enough to take a short walk down to the square, but far enough from the center of things to be allowed a quiet night of sleep.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather- Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our second visit which we made during a drive from NJ to TN. Our first was in May 2013. Alex remembered my husband and me when I phoned and we were greeted like beloved friends. We stayed in the Lincoln room which is such a treat! The lighting was so well thought out - the room was cast in the warmest and most inviting glow. There are so many little nooks to temp you to sit and relax in. The seating area off the bedroom has the sweetest view onto the back garden. So much love and care has been taken into making each of the 3 rooms in the B&B as special as possible for guests. We were only able to stay for a night but we loved the Lincoln room.

The breakfast, as always, was outstanding. Imagine sitting down for breakfast in a room that reminds one of Paris, old gypsy jazz playing, gazing out onto a quiet, tree lined road. Or, you're welcome to take breakfast in their equally amazing covered porch. Last time we were there, one evening we sat on the porch, enjoying a bottle of wine while playing Scrabble that they had available, safe and protected during a thunder storm.

To be honest, we don't go there to see Gettysburg. We go there to visit Alex and George and to have the utter pleasure of staying at their B&B and chatting with them, giving cuddles to their puppies (they're never too old to be puppies!) and to just hang out.

We went about 60 miles out of our way in total to visit for that one night. We would happily have driven more.

Room Tip: Any of the 3 rooms are equally amazing but like people, each has a unique character and vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rowsby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Alexandra and George provide the very best in all regards. The Raphael Inn is a great location for the Gettysburg experience. We have had numerous B&B experiences. The Raphael is right at the top.

We spend two nights but had a full day before checking in and almost two addition days for soaking up the historical sights of the area. It was a most moving experience. The National Park Service and the independent venues have done a good job to present the history. Very impressive.

Room Tip: Only three rooms in the B&B. All seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,131 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Brafferton Inn
Brafferton Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 E Lincoln Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1318 (Formerly Raphael Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £118 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing