We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Buildings”

Gettysburg National Military Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Battle of Gettysburg was a turning point in the Civil War, the Union victory that ended General Robert E. Lee's second and most ambitious invasion of the North. Often referred to as the "High Water Mark of the Rebellion", Gettysburg was the Civil War's bloodiest battle and was also the inspiration for President Abraham Lincoln's immortal "Gettysburg Address".
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“New Buildings”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The visitor's center has changed a great deal since we were there 20 years ago. The parking, entry, food, museum, video and surround picture are very impressive. The book store gets crowded when the buses arrive. The park was wonderful to tour in my car with the CD ($22) available at the bookstore.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wallyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,876
    572
    75
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a park service employee for a private tour guide. He was so knowledgeable and had a real love for history. He made the Civil War come to life.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eyenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Many Things To See”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When you arrive at the park you can take roads through the park and read monuments and statues. I recommend taking sneakers to climb Devil's Den It has tunnels all through it and you could spend an hour climbing on that by itself. The Landscape is great Still having (mostly) Original Fencing through the area. Take a Camera!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great and educational”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you have an interest in the American Civil War this is the place for you. An extremely well presented and maintained facility that shows in great detail the horrors of this war. Here is where the battle that was to be the turning of the war in the favour of the Union was fought. Hundreds of monuments through the battlefields, mostly erected by families or states involved in this conflict dot the fields which you are taken through in a guided bus tour with a highly informed commentary. The film of the battles is very well presented and realistic. The cyclorama exhibit is outstanding in every way, you feel that you are in the centre of the battle.
I reviewed the Manassas battlefield centre a few days ago, I am very pleased to have seen these two attractions in this order. Manassas is where the war started, and was horrible, but it was great to see Gettysburg after to get the time sequence right.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What an amazing place. We stopped here on the drive back from Florida, as my mother is a big civil war buff. What a spectacular place! We paid for access to the museum, which was well done. The piece that was definitely worth paying for was the movie and the cyclorama. WOW! What an exhibit! It was a 42 foot high painting that stretched 377 feet long, and it was painted to render the field of Gettysburg in a 3D style. I can't say enough about it. It was wonderful.

The battlefield was quite a tour. We booked a 3 hour tour with a guide who drove our car around the battlefields (26 miles of them!) and narrated the journey the entire way. Very well structured, and insanely knowledgeable. If you are a first time visitor to the battlefield, I highly recommend using this service ($65/2 hours, and the big bus tour is $30/person).

I would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing