We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop”
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
Ranked #25 of 107 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chesapeake Beach
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good stop”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is where Lincoln stopped before Gettysburg address. There is a fee to enter, which based on the fee vs size of the place still debatable. Overall, ranger who worked the desk was very helpful and was glad we stopped.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mypookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    94
    46
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“♡”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Neat place to visit and bring the kids. Staff was welcoming and the information was very educational. I love this place. Must come back with the whole family.

Helpful?
Thank Christi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For Lincoln Admirers, It Is A Shrine”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I remember the Wills House when it was just a room--the "Lincoln Bedroom" with nothing original. In the intervening years, the great effort was made to track down the original bed, linens, etc. from the bedroom that night that President Lincoln stayed there, putting the final touches on The Address. For me, the Wills House was a chance to imagine the great man in a brief moment before the defining speech of his life. To qualify my remarks, I was able to tour the home for free during an evening of Open Houses right before the 150th Anniversary Celebration. Wonderfully, the local legend James Getty appeared (he is the Lincoln impersonator--perfect likeness in every way) on the steps of the Wills house and spoke a few minutes. It was lovely.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I am sure for died-in-the wool history buffs it was a wealth of information. However, I was disappointed b/c you do not get to walk through the David Wills house. You get to walk through a gutted structure that was once the David Wills house. The walls might still be there, but that's it. The rest was retro-fitted to allow for the plexiglass displays. There is one room that is supposedly set up as it was during Lincoln's stay, but that one room did not anywhere near satisfy my curiosity about the house itself and how it might have looked and functioned 150 years ago.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catcat6327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very disappointing attraction in Gettysburg. Except for the bedroom, it captures none of the period. If you like the sort of museum that has you sitting on benches reading stuff, instead of experiencing the moment, I imagine you'd enjoy this. For me, it was boring, and I'm a huge Lincoln fan. Stay on the battlefield, or visit the cemetery, instead of wasting time here....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MaureenGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing