We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
Ranked #26 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here as part of our package. My kids enjoyed it. There is a short video that explains how Wills was commissioned to built he national cemetery. You can tour the rest of the house including the bedroom where Lincoln slept. Overall, pretty neat. Takes about 20 min.

Helpful?
2 Thank michelewelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    95
    47
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The house where Lincoln stayed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

David Willis was a Gettysburg attorney who was involved in establishing the Cemetery and battlefield park, and most famously where Abraham Lincoln spent the night before giving the Gettysburg Address. You can see the room where Lincoln slept, and other exhibits about the town at the time of the battle (a large diorama model was for me the highlight of the visit). It is interesting but nothing spectacular; visitors should note that being downtown on the square parking can be a problem, and this is a fee site for which none of the National Park Service passes apply.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiercritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped in during our tour of Gettysburg”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just happened to walk past on our recent visit to Gettysburg and decided to stop in. We are sure glad we did. The folks were all knowledgeable, incredibly friendly and quite helpful. Our tour guide was Myra who was delightful. She had a wealth of information and enthusiastically shared it with us. The exhibits and her commentary gave us a vivid sense of what life was like during those difficult times. Go on a Friday so Myra will be your guide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the Lincoln Enthusiast, well worth $6.50!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stop in Gettysburg and we were very happy we decided on coming! The price was surprisingly undervalued at $6.50! The staff is incredibly friendly and 2 docents happened to be on hand for historical questions. As a Lincoln enthusiast, this place was the icing on the cake. The room/bed he spent the night in prior to delivering the famous Gettysburg address is entirely preserved! Lincoln revised his address the night he stayed here. The museum has two informative short videos and provides info in each room. This was a truly memorable experience as you feel as though you've stepped back in time to the evening Lincoln had arrived here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella_desiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Informational, but not sure it's worth $6.50”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This museum primarily contained information about Lincoln's visit to the house when he came to give the Gettysburg address. It does give a little information about David Wills and effects of the battle suffered by the community of Gettysburg. It also touched on the various opinions and reactions to Lincoln's Gettysburg address. Because this is one of the last museums we visited on our trip, we heard almost all of the information before. The two brief films shown were good and it was neat to see the bed that Lincoln stayed in during his visit. The museum is really only four rooms and took less than 30 mins to go through (including watching the films). I liked it, I just felt it was a little minimal and covered information that was more thoroughly covered in other Gettysburg museums. With all this said, I'm not sure it was worth $6.50, although there are worse things to can give your money to than the National Parks Service, so I'm not upset I spent the money.

I'm a 5th grade teacher-- I don't think kids below middle school would get much out of it. The majority is reading information with nothing really hands-on.

Like many attractions in Gettysburg, you get a $1 discount if you have AAA. It's definitely not worth it to get AAA solely for this reason, but if you have it, be sure to bring it to take advantage of the discount.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing