We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My family stayed at this hotel last week and had a fabulous time. We came to so some skiing in the area and were very pleased with the service and accommodations we had. The girls at the front desk were super friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable, esp the bed and pillows! We actually bought some pillows to take home. They had a choice of firm or soft pillows available for us to us and try out. We will definitely repeat this trip every year.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We do value our terrific staff and are so glad they contributed to a great experience for you. We are also glad you liked our pillows and bedding. We have just replaced every pillow in the hotel with the 2 "firmness" choices and replaced all of the original comforters with the fresh new linens creating the modern "naked bed" look. Our proximity to Ski Liberty makes us a great winter get-a-way for all of the snow enthusiasts out there! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,517)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

On February 8, 2014 I stayed at the comfort Suites in Gettysburg for a ski trip to liberty. We woke up in the morning and started to get ready and noticed a big bug on one of the beds. Then a small on on the other bed. They were bed bugs. The manager was notified and was wiling to give us a $20 credit because of the bed bugs. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your review. After reading of a "large bug" reported to our front desk and subsequently this review, we contacted our pest control company to thoroughly check that room and it's neighbors and they found no signs of bed bugs, either anywhere in the room(s) or the bedding, or having ever been in the room(s) (they leave traces that remain even after they are eradicated). I'm not sure what you experienced the morning of your departure, but am sorry for any distress and that you did not have a wonderful stay. I will send you a copy of the report to your personal email if available. Please feel free to contact the hotel should you wish to discuss this further.
We do hope you choose to stay with us once again to give us the opportunity to provide you with the kind of experience our guest s have come to expect.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We visited the area to hit some of the breweries and snack factories in the area, so location wise this was convenient to the highways as well as a really short drive into downtown Gettysburg. Fortunately we didn't plan to spend much time relaxing at the hotel and using the amenities, because the hotel was overrun with unsupervised children. They were all over the lobby and pool area. The first morning they were running up and down the hallway, and the next morning they were knocking on our door before 8:00am - parents nowhere to be seen. The hairdryer in our room did not work, and the tv made a loud booming sound every time we changed the channel. There was coffee splashed on the bathroom walls near the trashcan, and what we are pretty sure was blood on the bathroom switchplate. The shower was moldy in the corners. Do yourself a favor, sleep in and skip the continental breakfast - even the coffee was horrible. The refrigerator in our room was powered off, and we brought cold food and drinks so we had to crank it up - it was barely cool by the next morning. There are so many signs everywhere! (Don't steal the linens, but if you do steal the linens, here is how much we'll charge you. Don't use the hairdryer and the coffeemaker at the same time. And so on...) Our bed was very comfortable, and although the inside of the hotel was noisy, our room faced the street and parking lot and we couldn't hear any traffic or anything out there. The room itself is spacious and well laid out for 2 people. The front desk staff was very pleasant throughout the stay, but at checkout no one asked how anything was or reviewed our charges - simply "great, you're all set!". We stay in a lot of suite hotels in the similar price range and found this one to be way below our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,
First let me thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am sorry your experience was less than stellar. I'm glad you did enjoy the location, the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the beds. Our hotel is normally very quiet and restful (as you noticed a lack of external noise!). I'm sorry the behavior of other guests infringed on your quiet. Any reported disturbance is usually addressed by the front desk staff immediately.

The general experience of most of our guests is extremely positive and we have many repeat visitors. I'm sorry we fell short for your stay and do hope that you try us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Loved the location. It easy to find if you follow directions!
Close to activities and it quiet since the back of the property is next to a cemetery.
We plan to stay here again when we return this year. So much to see and do in Gettysburg that we need a 2nd trip to see more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrainsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your review of our hotel. We also think we have a top notch location as the closest hotel to the National Visitor Center including the famous cyclorama and across the street from the Culps Hill area of the preserved battlefield.
Our new construction and our cemetery neighbors make this hotel very quiet and perfect for the many ghost hunters that enjoy Gettysburg as well.
Our close proximity to Liberty Mountain make us a great winter destination for skiers and snowboarders too! And the winter provides "no crowds" access to all of the history and attractions you found here!
We look forward to having you with us again this summer!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I would recommend the Comfort Suites if you are planning a trip to Gettysburg or surroundign areas. Good ammenities, restaurant/bar across teh parking lot right next to the battlefield. Walking distance to shops and downtown.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room is a definate must do
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our great location, helpful staff and large, clean, comfortable rooms. Our Whirlpool suites are wonderful after a day on the nearby slopes at Liberty Mountain, or perfect for a romantic get-a-way after dinner at one of the fabulous area restaurants and maybe a movie at one of Gettysburg 20 movie theaters!

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in our historic town!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful, the room a very good size and very clean.

The breakfast offered a reasonable choice, and the staff made porridge to order.

The hotel is in a very good location for the battlefield, but if you want to walk to the restaurants in the town, you have to walk initially along an unlit road with no pavement/sidewalk. However, I would still recommend the hotel because of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking time to share your opinions. We are delighted that our excellent staff took good care of you and helped enhance your visit. Our proximity to the Visitor Center is convenient for all it offers as well as battlefield tours and a number of other museums. We hope you also took advantage of the outlet mall for some great tax free shopping just 2 miles from us, or had an opportunity to ski, snowboard or snow tube at our neighboring ski resort, Liberty Mountain.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Visited Gettysburg in November, and we made Comfort Suites are home base for our long weekend stay. First, it is ideally situated in the heart of the battlefield and a short drive from both the main town square and the outlet mall. The hotel is well-kept, modern and nicely appointed. Upon arrival, our room was ready and the front desk staff was accommodating and friendly. We asked for a room change because we preferred to be located off the first level, and our requested was immediately fulfilled without question. The interior of the hotel is updated and clean. There is a nice seating area in the lobby with a TV and a small computer center. There is also a lovely water feature filled with coy fish. The elevator is very large and efficient. The hotel offers a small, but well-maintained swimming pool. There is also a very nice eating area for the breakfast buffet, which I must say was surprisingly good. I am not a fan of the typical breakfast included buffet, but this one was not ordinary. Each morning we were greeted by a staff member who made sure everything was well stocked and that all the tables were clean. The buffet included a nice assortment of cereal, breads/muffins, yogurts, fruits, beverages, eggs, sausages, and a waffle maker. Again, it was worth stopping by before heading out in the morning because the service was warm and friendly, and the food was above par. The room too was better than expected. It was large, nicely appointed and clean. We found the queen-size beds and linens to be quite comfortable. We also used the pull-out, which was roomy as well as comfy. The bathroom was small, but everything was clean and in working order. The heating worked well as did the darkening blinds. We heard no hall traffic or sounds from neighboring rooms. Housekeeping was efficient and we returned each day to freshened accommodations. Overall, we were extremely pleased with Comfort Suites and would definitely return again if in the area. We also got a great AAA rate on the hotel website, which we considered to be a bargain for what we got. I also believe the hotel offers some sort of “green” discount if you forgo housekeeping, but you’d have to inquire when checking in. We were pleased all-around. The staff was courteous, helpful and friendly; the location was perfect; and the hotel was very nice. I recommend you consider Comfort Suites if visiting the Gettysburg area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kim5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the fabulous review! There isn't much more I can say, as I think you highlighted everything that makes us such a great hotel! We are so pleased everything was above your expectations and we contributed positively to a great weekend. We can't wait to have you back again!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £59 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing