We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay near Soldiers' Cemetery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay near Soldiers' Cemetery”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very clean, well maintained property adjacent to Evergreen Cemetery near the bottom of Cemetery Hill. Evergreeen Cemetery is adjacent to the Soldiers' Cemetery which is at the top of Cemetery Hill, and is a relatively short walk to get to. It is also a short drive from the hotel to the town center, where there are several restaurants and gift shops. I highly recommend staying here if you visit Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Number_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the recommendation and the very accurate description of our location in regard to Soldiers National Cemetery, just a short walk. Don't forget the National Visitor Center just on the other side of us! We are also glad you enjoyed the clean, spacious rooms! Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    425
    133
    34
    20
See reviews for
676
482
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durand, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we have stayed at the Gettysburg pa comfort suites since they first opened.the staff is one of the best around~making sure our stay is always the best it can be!we will be coming back yearly because of the wonderful treatment we have received!I would gladly recommend the Gettysburg pa comfort suites to anyone planning a vacation there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IQuilt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience on this review! We LOVE our repeat guests and are so glad you choose to come back over and over! We are lucky to have such a friendly, consistent staff who recognize our frequent guests! We hope you feel like family because we certainly think of you that way!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Clean facility. We arrived early and we were on motorcycles. They allowed us to unpack and simply locked our belongings in the conference room.
We chose the facility because reports indicated that it was right beside the Battlefield Visitor Centre. Well that is not all that far away...but there are a lot of battlefields and the 'ticket office is in 'old' Gettysburg about a half mile away. The main section of town was another half mile away. For us, it was ok...but for others who are not into walking, it may be a bit far. But there was ample parking in town.
Room was spacious...a bit expensive. Decent complimentary breakfast, good service, quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbrackell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the large, clean rooms and that the staff was able to help store your belongings in a safe place so you could explore before check in. While we are 1/2 mile from the visitor center, we are the closest hotel and as you mentioned there is ample parking in town and at the Visitor Center itself, as well as a courtesy local shuttle that picks up a few times a day for those who choose not to walk, or take their cars! We hope you were able to see most of the attractions and enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the friendly greeting at arrival to the sparkling clean room, from the many and healthy choices at breakfast to the great location for getting around Gettysburg, this was an outstanding stay. We frequently stay at Comfort Inns in the Midwest and East, and this one was by far the best experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Margaret W,
WOW, thank you for the short, but wonderful review. Not much I can add! "Excellent" is certainly a name we don't mind being called!
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Comfort Suites. The room was spacious and clean, nice selection for breakfast (can make waffles), and the front desk staff was friendly. We walked into town one evening for dinner, and were also able to bike around the battlefields from the hotel. The location is perfect for touring the battlefields.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Shawn S,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Biking around the battlefields is a great way to see them and we are glad you found us convenient for doing so, as well as the short walk to town to any of the wonderful restaurants, shops and museums. The Make-your-own-waffles are a favorite in our complimentary breakfast! Did you like plain or blueberry best?
We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had an excellent room, it is close to the visitors center. Had a decent breakfast, and nothing was lacking in the room unlike most hotels. There is a nice restaurant next door. It was quiet and peaceful, had a very pleasant stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry62959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for calling us "one of the best choices"! We love that you found the rooms "lacking nothing", the breakfast enjoyable and the location convenient. Most importantly, we love that you will come stay again with us in the future!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This particular Comfort Suites has disappointing customer service. I arrange three rooms for two nights each at the Comfort Suites Gettysburg for a small family get together for the 50th anniversary of my parents. The other family members who lived on the east coast and drove, made it to the hotel without a problem and stayed for the total of two nights each. My family, who had to fly into the Gettysburg area from Missouri, had a flight delayed and rescheduled for early the next morning and could not reach the Gettysburg area until the next day. My family missed one night out of the 6 nights I arranged for this hotel. As soon as my family had a commitment from the airline that we would be able to get to Gettysburg, but not until about 12 hours later than we had originally schedule, we called the hotel to see if we could not be charged for that night. We missed their cancellation deadline by 3 hours. After securing lodging for 3 different families for two nights each and the hotel receiving a total of 5 nights payment from my scheduling, this Comfort Suites would not waive our paying for the night we would not stay at the hotel due to airline difficulties. We called the hotel with plenty of time for them to resell the room for that night and I do not believe that night was a sell out. It is sad and frustrating when you try to show good faith and do the right thing and companies just want to gouge families.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Debra C,
I apologize for taking a few days to respond to this review. I was aware of your situation, but wanted to be sure I had all my facts before writing this lengthy and difficult response. First, I must say I am actually bewilder by you unkind comments about our staff, and honestly, while I understand a cancelled flight is frustrating and inconvenient, our staff tries their best to be accommodating and to find a solution in both the best interest of the guest and the hotel. In this case, the phone call at 7pm was not 3 hours after cancellation, but 27 hours after cancellation, as the cancellation deadline was 24 hours before arrive, or 4pm day BEFORE arrival. You also told our desk staff that you would be arriving early in the morning, and in order for the room to be available to you, and not after 3, our normal check in time, we held the room, all night, all morning until your arrival. We also allowed your family to put food for you in YOUR room's refrigerator and you thanked our desk person on your arrival!. In no way is the hotel out to "gouge" you or anyone. In order to operate a successful business, there have to be guidelines. Everyone who who cancels or is a no show feels that have a legitimate reason, flight delay, car trouble, illness, etc, but if we refunded everyone then there would be no point to the cancellation deadline, which along with the rate, is clearly listed on the confirmation. There are many travel products (many airline tickets, advanced purchase hotels, cruises, packages) that are not refundable, period. That is why I highly recommend travel insurance and take it out whenever I travel. Since it is the airline's fault you missed one of the nights here, maybe a claim can be made to them.
We take great pride in the wonderful, professional staff we do have and the quality service we do provide and we all take your satisfaction seriously, as shown in the many other positive guest comments.
Again, I do apologize for your frustration, but do hope that you enjoyed your time with us and your family members once you arrived. We hope you took advantage of our great location and the comfort and quality of your suite. We do hope you will consider us should you ever return to the Gettysburg area.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Property: Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing