We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2009

This hotel is conveniently located off 15 and close to all major Gettysburg attractions. Our rooms were large and clean and equipped with both a small refrigerator and microwave. The bed was quite comfortable. Unfortunately, the room also came with a small, cheap, ugly gray sofa that was as unpleasant to sit on as it was to look at. The bathroom was a decent size and was all in one room, not one of those split configurations. My room overlooked the cemetery. Other members of my party had rooms that provided attractive vistas of the countryside. If you are squeamish about graveyards, request the other side of the hotel. There is free internet access and limited television.

Neither indoor nor outdoor fountain were functioning while we were there and the parking lot was under construction. The complementary breakfast buffet touted hot entrees. While the do it yourself waffle was fine, the scrambled eggs were inedible, more like microwaved silly putty and the bacon had a strange reddish tinge and unpleasant rubbery texture. The other offerings included apples, yogurt, cold cereal, danish, coffee, tea and juice. There are vending machines featuring the usual junk food and ice machines but no soda/juice machines or gift shop. The business center appeared to consist of a single computer and printer in the lobby.

I generally book my reservations on line. I was annoyed that I had to re-provide all my information on a prepaid reservation. Additionally, the staff seemed to be overly concerned about rules ie, we MUST put the parking pass on the dash in order to park in (the almost vacant) lot. You MUST provide a credit card for incidentals..even though there were none--we all had and used cell phones and there was no restaurant on the premises. It seemed unnecessary for prepaid reservations.

Our needs were for a comfortable, safe and convenient night's lodging. This hotel satisfied these minimal requirements and was clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,520 - 1,526 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2009

After all of the great reviews, our family was looking forward to staying in this new hotel. The biggest (but not the only) complaint was that our rooms were never cleaned or serviced until very, very late in the afternoon. We would come back from a long day out ready to relax a bit, and the room attendants hadn't even been there to clean yet! After the second day when we came back around 4:30, I approached the manager on duty and asked him very tactfully and nicely if that was normal for them and he was so rude and so un-management-like with his answer, "Well, what can you expect when we have 70 rooms to clean"! I'm serious! That is what he said! When I came back with my response that this was the first hotel we had ever been in where they were cleaned so late in the day, he again repeated, "As I said, we have 70 rooms to clean." I'm usually passive, but her really ticked me off! We all plopped down in the lobby for 30 minutes until they had our room finally ready. Now for the t.v. situation.....they would automatically cut off after a couple of hours, and revert back to a different channel.... Not a big deal, though. Next, there was some type of homecoming party next door at the Pike Restaurant (kind of a bar popular with bikers). The hotel had booked a block of rooms for that shindig. We had our 3 children with us. Saturday night the hotel was full of "drunk out of their minds young people". Unfortunately, one of my daughters got stuck on the elevator with 3 of them who were so drunk one of them didn't even know she was there....he was extremely foul mouthed from what my daughter told me, and she was pretty scared at the time. Needless to say, that was not a quiet night. Which brings me to one more thing. When we arrived, the elevator was making strange sounds and eventually broke later that evening. We had to do the stairs to our 4th floor until the next day when they had it serviced. It broke down again later that day or the next, so back to huffing it up and down the stairs again. The elevator still didn't sound right by the time we left our stay. Maybe all of the problems stem from the fact that they built this hotel 6 feet from the National Cemetery......yep, nice view from the bedroom windows.....nothing but gravestones. Now, we knew this before we booked, but it makes you wonder, doesn't it????? I think we could have dealt with everything EXCEPT a rude, non-helpful manager on duty, and we could have done without the drunk night.
PS...The pool is EXTREMELY small, and the breakfast bar is so-so. By the way, this is the first time I've written a review, but this stay warranted me making the effort to write!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank we5hooversVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We originally planned to stay at the Comfort Inn, but checked out of there 2 days early because it wasn't up to Comfort Inn quality. Checked in here instead. Cost a bit more, but this is a brand spanking new motel, open only 1 month. This was previously the site of an EconoLodge, and that was torn down and this Comfort Suites was built in its place. Very nice lobby, well appointed and spacious room, great shower in the roomy bathroom. Very quiet. Pool was great, towels furnished. The lock on the door was in need of maintenance, had to slam it hard so it would lock. We have only 2 minor complaints. The breakfast in the AM had hard inedible eggs and the bacon was mass produced and looked like it. Pastries were fresh, so we stayed with that and juice since no real whole milk was available. At checkout time, we noticed undisclosed charges for a safe and for "hotel services". Very minor charges (2.49/day), but why not disclose them up front, or better yet, roll them into the price of the room? We were already paying $107/day, $110/day wouldn't be any big deal. When I inquired about what I got for the hotel services charges, desk clerk couldn't tell me. The safe charge was removed.

This is a very good motel, but they need to reconsider their billing practices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingAllOver46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stopped in for a room after our other Gettysburg hotel scared us. This brand new place was clean, large rooms, great breakfast, good location, wonderful staff.... this will be our new place for the next 4 years while our son is at a local college.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My family and I were passiing through gettysburg with intentions of staying one night. We passed by the hotel and saw it was now open so we decided to stop in. The hotel is beautiful. Cathedral lobby ceiling warm and inviting atmosphere and a very enthusiatic friendly front desk. We could not refuse the warm welcome so we decided to settle down at the hotel for the night. We walked in to the room and got so much more then what we were expecting. The rooms were so large yet cozy. My family and I had such a wonderful stay the first night in the ultra plush beds and my kids had so such a good time we decided to extend our trip to another night. .. If you traveling through Gettysburg I reccomend you stay at THIS HOTEL. It is BRAND NEW NOT EVEN 72 HOURS OLD. I assure you you will not be dissapointed.. plus the delux hot breakfast with eggs sausage and waffles alone was enough to get me to come back to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank aroundtheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank goldendaysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing