We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and on top of that excellent staff”
Review of 1863 Restaurant

1863 Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1863 Restaurant is a "family-friendly", unique, casual dining restaurant that offers a wide range of appetizers, steaks, salads, sandwiches and desserts plus a few playful twists on old classics. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menu favorites include: steaks, jumbo lump crab cake, specialty sandwiches and seasonal salads. Don't miss our daily lunch & dinner specials.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and on top of that excellent staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Im from Japan and I was on vacation when I had my lunch here.I had a delicious prime rib and crab cakes. I was very much satisfied because the food was so delicious the atmosphere is great and on top of that Ms. Josie provided an excellent service. I'll be surely visiting this place again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to here that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I will share your kind words with Josie. I agree with you, I love the 1863 crabcakes also! We look forward to having you dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    113
    22
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor, mi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner and breakfast”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had room service two times when were staying at the hotel and we loved the food both times. The prices seemed high for french onion soup and salad, but it was wonderful. I also enjoyed the eggs benedict. The portion sizes were more than enough and left my family very satisfied. The food was always packaged nicely and delivered with everything we needed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room service experience while staying with us at the Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the presentation as well as the food! I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA and Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I eat here from time to time, so I must be an idiot.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Ate here again last night. The burgers were overcooked, the baked seafood plate as drab as last week's leftovers, and Pickett's Charge is a drink so bad it might as well be called teen vomit. It's an enduring (in all the worst ways) concoction of sloe gin, southern comfort, vodka, triple sec, amaretto, and citrus. The service, as always, was that weird combination of attentive, dismissive, and forgetful. Here's another thing: if you are going to give a 'locals' discount,' stick to it, for god's sake, and don't be offering sometimes and not others. But, anyway, the family agreed: never again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FGLinBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food. A bit pricey. ”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Food was good. I ordered a pasta and chicken dish. It was mainly pasta. . Cost 15 dollars and this was the cheapest thing on the menu. Although it tasted great, for the price, I would have liked it to include a salad or side dish. My husband had the pork. He liked it but thought it was kind of bland for 26 dollars.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience. I understand your concerns and will share them with our Chef. I hope we have the opporttunity to have you dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Township, NJ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The food here was great. I ate here twice during my stay at the hotel. Both dinners were excellent. Try the crab cakes. Prices were a little high. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at 1863 Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our 1863 Restaurant. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I must agree, the crab cakes are great! I hope we have the opportunity to have you dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1863 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1863 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing