We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Goes Above and Beyond!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granite Hill Camping Resort
Reviewed 24 April 2013

In the Spring we stayed two weekends in a row at this campground, and left the camper on site for the week in between. There were some significantly odd and crazy weather issues going on that weekend and roads around the campground ended up being closed while we were off site. The staff continued answering the phone hours after the campground office should have been closed helping us to find a way back to the campground. The staff was actively checking on campers making sure everything was ok and working non stop to keep the campground in shape with the miserable weather.

The sites are well laid out, plenty of things to do, great access to the historical features.

We camp with a 30 foot travel trailer and had plenty of room to move around the campground.

We look forward to camping at Granite Hill again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeScraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our boy scout troop decided to stay at Granite Hill for a trip to Gettysburg during spring break. However, a bad back made me dubious about sleeping in a tent. One of the adult leaders told me they also had cabins and, of course, RV spaces. I checked their website and they also have a Bed & Breakfast which is where my wife and I stayed a short walk from our sons' tent.

The Bed & Breakfast doesn't have as many amenities as fancier ones we have stayed at, but it doesn't have the same price tag either - especially in off-peak season - and isn't much more expensive than a cabin. It is run by employees, and if you need assistance, you need to walk over to the office across the parking lot. No television, Internet, and one shared bath for three bedrooms. The shower is a bit tricky. But all in all, it was comfortable, clean, the breakfast was made to order, and it a made our trip with the scouts possible. Note also that the B&B has a small spa room and they will arrange for someone to come in and provide spa services if you make a reservation but this wasn't something we were interested in.

The campgrounds has a number of amenities and is not exactly roughing it. Mini-golf, outdoor pool in the summer, store, snack-bar, arcade, etc. One of the adults in out troop called it Jellystone East. It is located about 6 miles west of the town and a good choice if you want to visit Gettysburg between April and Thanksgiving.

If you are with a family or group that wants to camp but you have put your camping days behind you, this is a good option.

Room Tip: The Bed & Breakfast is not much more than a cabin and you get a meal with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dad-With-Two-Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at Granite Hill July 2012 for 3 days during the Gettysburg reinactment. It is a nice campground with freindly staff other than a cranky maintence man. This is probably the nicest of the campgrounds we have stayed at because of the different things they offer. They have a pool and miniature golf and a small cafe/arcade. We don't expect a lot when we are camping and were pleasantly surprised that this place was better than what we thought.The showers were a little hard to regulate. We managed to stay clean with four kids though. The staff managed to take care of some unruly guests that were arguing in the lower field from us. After that our neighbors (including ourselves) had a more peaceful time. Granite Hill will be our place to stay next time we in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We have been camping here for a number of years. We love it! Plenty for the kids to do. Pool, miniture Golf, fishing (Pond), activities, Dance with a DJ. etc.

The showers near the post sites do need to be upgraded, Hot water and the push button showers are not the best in the fall weather, but they do try to keep them clean.

Yes, some of the sites do need to have gravel added, and the roads do need to be repaired in spots. But you are camping in the mountains and the weather does take a toll on them.

I think they need to re-think their way of assigning sites on the posts, ( it is first come, first serve on the post sites.) It would be much better to actually assign a site to each camper.

They have very few sewer sites, so you need to book early for those. Personally, I have been camping without sewer for several years and it is not an issue.

I have always thought their tent sites were great. Yes you do need to walk to the bathroom, ( That is Tent Camping). If you need to be closer to the Bathroom, book a water and electric site close by.

Anne in the office is the BEST!!! She really does want to make every camper happy. She goes out of her way to help you and to make your stay very enjoyable. Yes they do hire teenagers in the summer, Doesn't every business.

They might want to consider having a camp Host on site 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.

Give Granite Hill a try... You will not be dissappointed!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have camped in Gettysburg for the past 5 years. We had never stayed at Granite Hill and since they were having a "Yard Sale Weekend", I thought we would give it a try, maybe get some un-needed items sold and also maybe score on some items we need for our camper. This however was not the case. There were only two of us set up to sell items in the parking area and only a handful of cars came with people interested in the "yard sale". After 2 hours, we packed up our items and went out sightseeing. Maybe the Spring Yard Sale does much better, but we were very dissapointed. The campground itself is fairly nice and it is a large campground, spread out nicely. We camped in the Main Camp area and I have to say, although the roads are slightly rough, it is wooded and gives that "camping in the mountain' feel, so I did like our site and that area. It was off season when we went, so there really wasn't much going on and the campground seemed somewhat deserted. Although when driving past Gettysburg Campground, they were packed. I guess that's why this campground is rated #4 and not 1 or 2 or 3. I just expected a lot more. Maybe things are different during peak season. I think we'll stick with Gettysburg Campground and Artillery Ridge. Both of these we like for different reasons. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We will stay here again! Lots to do and nice campsites. The pool is clean and well cared for. The bathrooms are big and clean. Breakfast in the red barn is delicious! The only negative I can think of is the Noah's ark-like playground is infested with bees. That really needs looked at, but truly that is the only negative.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

took our two young kids for Labor Day and it has a lot to do for the kids (Miniature Golf, Pool and Fishing). The ponds need more stocked fish, but the kids loved it! The bathhouses were the best and cleanest we have ere experienced. The only negative was that it was very crowded, and a lot of teens. Overall a great experience!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JoeyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.4 mi away
Drummer Boy Camping Resort
Drummer Boy Camping Resort
#6 of 7 in Gettysburg
220 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,638 reviews
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Gettysburg
Days Inn Gettysburg
#14 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,161 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gettysburg, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granite Hill Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Hill Camping Resort

Address: 3340 Fairfield Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7329
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gettysburg
Price Range: £24 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to relax, to delve into Civil War History, experience Gettysburg or to enjoy camping in the great outdoors, you will discover an unforgettable vacation experience at Granite Hill Camping Resort and Adventure Golf. Our Camping Resort is located just outside of historic Gettysburg and offers full amenities in the bright sunshine and forested seclusion in the tall trees, which are equally accessible within our scenic 150-acre Civil War era farm. Graced with a perfect mix of woodlands, tree-dotted meadows and grassy rolling hills, Granite Hill offers something for everyone. Regardless of your personal definition of camping – from private tent sites to spacious pull-thru sites catering to the largest RVs, and from a wide range of options in group camping to rustic cabins in a wooded setting – you will always find precisely what you need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granite Hill Camping Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing