We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground, closest to the battlefield”
Review of Artillery Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artillery Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great campground, closest to the battlefield”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had another great Halloween weekend at Artillery Ridge, as we have for the past 7 years. They offer so much for the kids throughout the weekend, especially Saturdays. The sites are nice and the staff are very helpful. The campground is conveniently located to the National Military Parks and very close to town, so it takes no time at all to go sightseeing. Thanks for another great weekend and we'll see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    50
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn, pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for a Halloween weekend for the past 4 years in the same site. When leavening this year we went to reserve the spot as we always do for the next year. We where informed that are site had been given to someone else. Piss poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outbackcamper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We picked this campground for our anniversary getaway. We had hoped to ride the horses, but the government shutdown prevented that. Even so, we had a good time. The staff was very friendly. It was also a very rainy weekend, but we had no problems. Even with all the rain, the campground was okay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogibear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

With only 1 full day to visit the Gettysburg battlefield, we picked Artillery Ridge simply because it is the closest...and glad we did. The campground was clean with flat, tree-covered RV pads. The staff was wonderful and even loaned us a copy of the movie "Gettysburg" so my wife could become more acquainted with the battle before we visited. This campground also caters to horse owners with ample space for their trailers. It was fun to watch so many horses walk by our pad during the day. No question that next time we are in the area, we will use this campground.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiscasset, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

What a cool place to bring our RV!! Not even 1/2 mile up the road and you are in a battlefield. I am fledgling runner and was absolutely thrilled to run one morning into and amongst the battlefield area. The campground folks were welcoming and helpful. Everything was for the benefit of the camper, without a feeling of being price gouged. Walking our dog a couple of times everyday down around the horse stables was fun for him and me. Artillery Ridge is clean, easy to get to, and has big sites. The only trouble was, as with any campground, the wifi was a little slow and weak.
We would happily return and hope to soon to complete our fabulous history lesson of Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Thekidmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Artillery Ridge for a weekend horseback riding getaway. We stayed in cabin 309 which is a little cabin with a front porch & 2 sets of bunk beds. It was funny, because when we first opened the door the women were like, what have we gotten ourselves into. It had an a/c unit, 2 bunk beds made of 2x4's & plywood on the walls. The bath house was about 75 yrds away. As it turned out, the cabin was perfect because all we needed it for was a.place to sleep. The bath house was nice. It was clean with plenty of hot water. Overall great place to stay. Friendly, clean, affordable, quiet family atmosphere & easy access to horse trails. If you are planning a trip to Gettysburg, stay here , you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Artillery Ridge for 3 nights in the Rental Brown Trailer. First off, the campground is nice and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground is close to everything; battlefield,downtown, and the outlets.
Now onto the negative part of my review. The trailer we paid $150 a night to stay in was disgusting. It was old, and very dirty. As a matter of fact the sheets we brought to put on the bed, we decided to just throw away. The picnic table and fire pit are on a slope. For the money we paid I expected much more in terms of cleanliness. I agree with other reviews, if you own a RV or trailer, nice campground. Otherwise, it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilsorrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,496 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
549 reviews
1.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artillery Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artillery Ridge

Property: Artillery Ridge
Address: 610 Taneytown Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8777
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Artillery Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing