We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This new lodge - a group of cabins still under construction is perfect for families or group travelers. There is also more than sufficient room for receptions and conferences. The cabins are clean and beautifully furnished. The kitchenette has dinnerware, silverware, microwave, coffee maker, fridge and freezer. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered.
The staff is wonderful and helpful. The location is close to all activities.
This review may not sound really exciting, but I would do it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Suellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for The Lodges at Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked The Lodges after seeing a special on Travelzoo. We checked the website and it looked like a slightly different and appealing accomodation. Reading the Trip Advisor reviews reinforced that. However, when we checked in, we could not match our accomodation to those described on the website. Upon inquiring, we were told that this was a new category of room that had not yet been updated on the website and that is what you get with the Travelzoo rate. Our cabin was not private, it consisted of two units with a connecting door. It is a group of wood cabins located off to the side, hence no view. No fireplace, no kitchenette, (there was a small frig, microwave and coffee maker), no patio or deck. The room had one chair, no desk or table, only one nightstand and only one picture on the wall and no mirror in the room. No curtains or screens on the windows. The bathroom was tiny with absolutely no place to put toiletries. No shampoo was provided; (don't know if this was an oversight as there was lotion and bath gel). The shower curtain was about six inches too short; fortunately the bath mat absorbed most of the flood. No hook for clothes in the bathroom. No luggage rack. You bring the continental breakfast back to your cabin, but there was no place to put the food except on top of the tall dresser and there was only one chair; so that was quite uncomfortable. The internet was good, but then again, there was no table or desk to put your laptop on. The room did not feel clean, there were dead bugs on the window sills and dirt of the floor. This facility is not complete as previously noted, and has a camp feel with gravel drives and no landscaping, but it was not a problem as far as noise goes. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We did get a good rate, but it was not the accomodation we were expecting. So you Travelzoo voucher holders, unless you get upgraded, be prepared for different amenities than posted on the website.

Room Tip: Select a cabin in the front row on the hill to get a view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pfmMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Serene quiet country setting minutes from Gettyburg. Our cabin (Michigan) was well appointed with a beautiful view of the countryside. Staff was excellent and very accommodating. Construction and landscaping is still on going but shouldn't deter you from a peaceful~away from the tourist scene-relaxing stay.
We will certainly return anytime we are in the area!

Room Tip: Some cabins are designed for 1-2 people others can accommodate a large family/group.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We "stumbled" upon this facility by searching the internet, and glad we did. This was a great location during our visit to the Gettysburg area. The facilities are very new, in fact there are still enhancements being made to the property areas. Cabins are stone and cedar exterior in a variety of room layouts. Located on a hillside with very good views of the surrounding area. Wood floors throughout interior and slate in the bathroom. Extremely nice. Cabins are named by the states - we stayed in Delaware. Excellent furniture selection and layout, and comfortable beds. Back porches (ours was covered) with wooden chairs for a good place to sit (and read) while enjoying view. Fishing pond on property and some trails, but we didn't take advantage of them after being out all day long and the very hot temperatures that week. Would have liked to.

We saw other postings prior to making reservations regarding construction going on. Yes, still occurring since still new, but really was not an issue for us - working in other areas that didn't really affect us. Only minor complaint we have is that the water pressure in the shower was lower than we'd like, but hopefully something that can be addressed in some way.

After staying here, not sure why folks would select some of the other properties in the area that were older, more run down, and not nearly as attractive. Very close to battlefield stops and very close proximity to town. Staff were extremely friendly, even those doing construction work out in the hot temperature were friendly. We'd definitely stay again if we are in the area. I wish it was closer to home as I'd like to stay more often.

Room Tip: Multiple cabin layouts available so select based on need. All appear to be roomy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

If you're looking for a quiet, scenic stay overlooking the "Greatness" of Gettysburg, than the Lodges @ Gettysburg is for you! The cabins are top-notch, well-designed, and exceed every need of your family. Equally impressive was the managerial staff and their friendliness and attention to detail. Your are a scenic 5-min. drive to places to eat, museums, and the battlefields. My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend the "Lodges @ Gettysburg" to any family looking for a place to stay while in Gettysburg! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I took a team of 26 employees for a training event and we stayed at this Hotel. I understood from the beginning it was brand new but had no idea how nice this place actually was. The rooms were very large and included a comfortable king size bed, a kitchen and a bathroom. Each room has it's own back porch and because this hotel sits on a hill I had a view of the battlefield from my back door. I could see where there were re-enactment tents being set up on the battlefield, very cool. I also thought the entire staff was not only friendly but went out of the way to accommodate any need me or my team had. They all knew our names after a very short period of time. The food was also top notch. We were served real crab cakes and fillets for dinner. The meal presentation was well done and the food was top notch. You could tell the owners went out of their way to find an executive chef. The hotel has free wi-fi throughout, there's a very large pond and they hand out fishing poles at your request. Nighttime was extremely quiet, it really was quite relaxing. As I said before this place is brand new so there were some final touches being applied. The next time I come back there will be a wine room that will be open. I believe this place is easily the nicest place to stay in the Gettysburg area, sorry Wyndham, you just got out-classed!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Robert E Lee room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MichaelPrimanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We loved our stay at the lodges. It was very clean, peaceful, & the perfect quiet getaway place to stay. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a fantastic place to get away to. The staff were terrific, we couldn't ask for anything more. I can't wait to return !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathyBeaverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
4.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
5.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £90 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing