We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Offsight Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Offsight Location”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I am a Chief Executive of a corporation which often requires a private off-site location that enables me to assemble my leadership and core cadre for important planning which requires isolation from the daily stress of the office environment. On the east coast, there is no better place than the Lodges at Gettysburg. The staff understand our needs, and make every effort to insure our conferences, lodging, meals, and recreational activities are handled as if we were coming home to my Grandparents home, as a child. I can't think of a better standard than that. It has become our corporate home away from home. The staff and management -our friends, and my staff leaves, energized, from being exposed to this solemn special location. They earn 5 stars, every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to hosting many retreats to come!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    96
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
155
173
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you ever want to be a tourist at Gettysburg and see and feel the history, the lodges accommodates all of that and much more. I slept like a baby and the staff is there and literally every level represents concierge type service. I wouldn't go anyplace else and I plan on going back again.

Room Tip: They are all good because they are cabins that are set apart. Maximum privacy. Only choices are ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattG12412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you had a great stay and we are so glad to hear the great feedback! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I came here for valentines weekend. It was way more than we expected!! Very beautiful and well worth the price. Asside from the thin walls and being able to "hear" the 3 people next door. My husband and I will be coming back again but will be asking for the private lodge next time. I highly reccomend this place if you want a nice quiet place out of town. And if you don't mind thin walls in the 2 room cabins.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CryssyandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a nice Valentine's weekend, what a great place to spend a holiday! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We spent two nights in the Lieutenant's Lodge and were very pleased with our two rooms and bathroom. The accomodations were spacious and clean, and the beds very comfortable. The large bath sheets in the bathroom were an unexpected surprise. The kitchenette was equipped with everything we could possibly need, except maybe some mircrowave popcorn. The staff was more than accomodating. Our breakfast was delivered nightly in a basket; the fresh fruit was quite tasty and there was a nice assortment of items- juice, yogurt, granola bars, instant oatmeal, and various condiments. My only complaint would be the semi-stale croissants and only receiving one bagel for two people. However the rest was fine and we certainly did not starve. The location was so private and quiet, with lovely views. Also, most of the area attractions were only a few minutes drive. Our stay was relaxing and we really loved our cottage. I would defintely recommend the Lodges at Gettysburg and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The Lieutenant's Lodge has a small private balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
What a nice review you gave us on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear your stay in the Lieutenant's Lodges was everything you expected! Please come back again for another quiet getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

5 min. to Liberty Mt. or downtown Gettysburg; rustic private lodges so u don't have to be quiet like in a hotel; employees couldn't be nicer or more helpful if u need anything; kitchen has a compact frig. small microwave a coffee maker dishes & silverware so bring precooked food or microwavable food; winter rates were very reasonable

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teacher1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for the nice review! We are pleased to hear you found our location very private and central at the same time! It is a great spot and our employees do try very hard to make sure every guest's stay is as perfect as possible. We are glad you noticed! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville. FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a great place to stay with friends. Get the Lieutenant's Lodge and bring some friends. 2 comfy beds, HUGE bathroom and a front porch to seat and enjoy the clean air. Convenient kitchenette, plates and fridge. Hotel breakfast is nothing to look fwd to, just coffee, bagels and pastries. Short drive to all the attractions. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Worth your money.

Room Tip: Get gome groceries and drinks before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardriderbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thanks so much for the review! We are glad your stay in the Lieutenant's Lodge was what you had hoped! We appreciated the guest tips too. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We reserved a Lieutenant's Lodge, and were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to a Presidential Lodge when we arrived. I don't know about the condition of what we reserved, but the presidential lodge was SO nice - the one they call MA (Massachusetts). It was just what we needed for a family of 4. Check in was easy and quick. The lodge was very large.

The MA lodge had two bedrooms, the first with vaulted ceilings, a Queen bed, sofa, dresser, three small tables, electric heater (they say fireplace, but it wasn't really...though it was pretty), and a TV. The other bedroom was a little smaller, but had a dresser and a smaller table with drawers and two bed side tables. The bedrooms were connected by a walk through kitchen with a refrigerator, small sink, dishes (breakable for those with kids...wish I'd have brought some of my plastic stuff), microwave, small refrigerator, and a table with two stools. We brought some food and snacks, knowing that they just had a microwave, and actually spent a lot less eating out than we expected because it was so nice to eat in. The only place that delivers is Papa John's, and there's not too much closeby, so I recommend bringing some food.

It was a little chilly, but the temps were in the teens, so I knew to bring some warm PJs. It actually warmed up by the middle of the night and was too warm, so I think it was mostly because no one had used it during the week.

There were plenty of extra pillows, blankets, and towels. The towels are huge (very nice touch).

The room was SO clean. I am always concerned because I have two little ones that play on the floor, but this place was cleaner than my own house. We tracked in some snow near the door, which was cleaned up when we got back after the first afternoon out.

It is located just about equal distance between Liberty Mountain Resort and Gettysburg...about 10 minutes to either place. It does overlook the battlefields and has a beautiful view. Though I couldn't pick out the battlefield at first from the lodges, I could see the lodges from the battlefield when we drove through, then I knew where to look.

We didn't eat breakfast there, so I can't comment on that, but they had fresh fruit out for the morning when we went in the evening. We took them up on an offer of a glass of wine and the kids some juice shortly after check in. The set up of the restaurant isn't really kid friendly, and they are making some space for a bar, which seems to be more appropriate for the high tables and stools that are currently in the breakfast room. But it was great, and they even dug us out some local wine, which we always look for when we are away.

Oh, and finally, they have a maintenance man who seems to do it all on the property. There was another guest who was trying to check in, but kept sliding on the ice nearby, and we let them know that he needed help...and the maintenance man went down the street to help. That was great. They couldn't be more accommodating.

Very nice place, very nice people. Probably our go-to place when we visit the area again (hopefully very soon!)

Room Tip: Lodges along the bottom row have great views, not sure about the others. Those with young kids, bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Off4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
We are pleased to hear your family had a great stay in the MA Lodge! The Lodges is the perfect spot for families to get away and enjoy time together! Thanks so much for all of your great feedback and tips to other visitors on Trip Advisor. We appreciated the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing