We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning a trip. You should stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Planning a trip. You should stay here!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband & I love it here. This is our second stay at The Lodges and we will surely be back again for more. In the spirit of full disclosure, we won this 2 night stay from a Facebook contest that they ran and we were so glad we did. The property has an amazing view of the country. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. This is our 3rd trip to Gettysburg and on our first visit we stayed in a B&B and did not enjoy it. We like our privacy and getting our own lodge here was wonderful. No worrying about disturbing others coming in late or heading out early. No being woken up by your neighbor's loud TV or toilet flushes. It truly is peaceful. The private lodges are clean, tastefully decorated and the beds were comfy. The showers were a good size and had great water pressure. We stayed in the Michigan and had a small electric fireplace and a kitchenette with a sink, microwave, coffee maker & mini fridge. The Lodges is tucked away just far enough from the hustle & bustle of town and the battlefields to come back after a long day touring and unwind. I have recommended The Lodges to family & friends. They were just as impressed as we were.

Room Tip: The Michigan is perfect for a couple who want some privacy. It is the last lodge on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you and your husband had a wonderful vacation here at The Lodges at Gettysburg. Your wonderful feedback about our property is very much appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    99
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
172
178
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary with a road trip across the northeast. I planned a couple of nights in Gettysburg and wanted to stay some where romantic and private. This place is amazing - I was excited just driving up to the lodge once in town. I was so impressed by the staff - the location - the lodges - the banquet room - the beautiful lake! I cannot wait to come back and stay at the Lodges. My husband and I stated at check in that we were celebrating 14 years and the wonderful lady checking us in decided to give us a bottle of wine and two glasses! It was such a nice gesture and we will never forget our stay at this wonderful place! Thank you Lodges of Gettysburg for making our first trip to Gettysburg so perfect.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon lodge" is wonderful! Parking right next to your lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your special day with us. We will pass on the kind words to our front desk staff too! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The setting of this hotel is gorgeous! It is outside the city and nestled into a beautiful hillside. It is a quiet and beautiful location. That, unfortunately is where the positives end. The room, while neat and clean was sadly lacking. The bed was uncomfortable with an old mattress that sagged in the middle. There was no comfortable seating in the room unless you wanted to sit on the bed. We came to the hotel with another couple and between their room and ours, we couldn't find any chairs to sit on to visit with each other. The lighting in the room consisted of one tiny bedside lamp or a very bright ceiling light. We really wanted to love this place because of the ideal setting and location. We paid top dollar and were disappointed with our experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myvignette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our ultimate goal is to provide the most memorable experience possible while staying with us. Please accept our sincere apology that you did not enjoy your stay in our lodges. Most guests love the setting and our lodges, so we are disappointed to hear you didn't feel the same way. Hopefully, you would be willing to stay with us again in another one of our lodges that might meet your needs better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just a short drive out of town, maybe five miles...the Lodges is in a beautiful spot. The concept is good but the advertising leads you to believe something other than what you get. We expected a lodge setting with a kitchenette, etc. What we got was not that at all. Maybe I read more than what we actually booked. We got the "Corporal's Quarters" in the lodge NJ. We truly felt that we were in someone's guest room. The other side of the adjoining door was another family. It was a nice room, but it was exactly that....a small room. One straight back chair and no table at all. I ended up opening up the ironing board to use as a table for my laptop and accessories and using the only chair to access the "table". Thankfully, the family on the other side of the door was not noisy, even though they had several young boys with them. I would hate to think what it would have been like had it been a "party crowd".
This is a great place for families and I would highly recommend it for just that so that at least you have a family member on the other side of the door to the corporal's quarters. Even if we had booked the other part of the lodge, I would have been uncomfortable with someone we didn't know just on the other side of the door. If we do return, which we would like to do, we will book the entire lodge and have more family with us.
The bed was not the most comfortable one we slept in. In fact, on our journey across country, it was probably the most uncomfortable. Management really should look into more comfortable bedding. The continental breakfast is ok. If you have the kitchenette, it would be better to make your own. All in all, it was a pleasant stay and we definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Definitely do not book just a standard room if you don't want to feel like a "guest" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We’re glad to hear you found The Lodges at Gettysburg a great place to getaway and the perfect spot to unwind from the everyday hustle and bustle. We do appreciate your feedback about our lodges and are glad that you enjoyed the accommodations your choose. We hope you will be back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have been to Gettysburg several times and stayed in several different places, but we will never stay anywhere else again after staying at The Lodges at Gettysburg! I especially loved the fact that it was away from the "touristy" part of town but close enough for convenience. The property is beautiful, peaceful, and immaculate with all the amenities of a hotel/motel but none of the tackiness. The fully equipped kitchen was a pleasant alternative to a generic continental breakfast, and their eco-friendly policy reflects a welcome respect for the preservation of the battlefield. Special thanks to the staff who were very helpful when we asked but otherwise left us alone. Ours was a truly superior experience in every possible way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
"LOVED IT"…that is music to our ears! Thank you for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg as your favorite vacation spot. Your kind words are very much appreciated! Can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Factoryville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here when the Lodges first opened a few years ago, and we've been anxiously awaiting our return. We were certainly not disappointed! The property is just as beautifully rustic as we remember it. Although a better description could be modern rustic. We stayed in a Captain's Lodge, which offered great views. Inside, we were greeted by a spacious living room/kitchenette. We had a sink, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, along with silverware, glassware, etc. A few minor issues came up, such as some wayward stink bugs (which can't really be helped this time of year). The floors around the edges of the room were a bit dusty and in the bedroom there were broken crayons behind the night stand. I really only noticed this because I had to plug in the fireplace and the bedroom lamp and clock. It would have been nice if they were plugged in prior to our arrival, but perhaps that's a safety thing. The phone didn't work at all, but we didn't report it because it wasn't a big deal to us. Also, the couch in the living room was very uncomfortable because the cushions keep slipping into the area where the pull out bed is located. A few pillows from the bedroom helped. We loved the bathroom with the slate shower! And the makeup mirror under the sink was a great touch, especially since the only mirror in the lodge is in the bathroom. A full length mirror, maybe on the door in the closet, would be very helpful. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. I haven't had a goodnight's sleep in months, and I finally had two in a row! The mornings were so peaceful, and we were even greeted by a fawn walking across the field behind our cabin! The drive to town only takes a few minutes and isn't by any means an inconvenience. We like staying a bit out of the way. All in all, we loved our second stay at the Lodges at Gettysburg. When the kids are a bit older, we plan on returning with them. The Captain's Lodges can comfortably accommodate 6 people, making it the perfect choice for a family vacation. Until then, thank you Lodges for some peace and quiet before our newest addition arrives!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are pleased to hear your "baby moon" weekend was peaceful and quiet! We do appreciate your feedback and and tips for future guests. We can't wait to see your new arrival and hope that you will visit us again very soon with the "whole" family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here in January. The lodge we had was roomy and we loved the decor. It is a little outside the town but has a nice view. We had a deal that was supposed to include certain bonuses like some beer and wine tastings along with some money at certain restaurants. We got the tastings. However the restaurant credits turned out to be a coupon I think anyone could pick up and something that was closed all the days we were there. When we told them the restaurant was closed they had nothing to offer to replace it. There was breakfast included which was ok but nothing special. We also had to check out early due to a snow storm but no offer was made for any credit. Obviously they didn't owe us anything since we checked out late in the evening. It just would have been nice if they even offered a discount for a future stay, especially since we couldn't use one of the restaurant credits we were owed due to their misinformation about restaurant hours. I would, however, stay here again for the convenience of the facilities and location and because it was quite attractive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your lodge and our location. We do appreciate your feedback and certainly hope you come back again soon. We are glad the weather held up and you were able to travel home safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,043 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
4.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Property: The Lodges at Gettysburg
Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing