We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all closet history buffs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As my review title suggests, we are closet history buffs and enjoy learning about our country's past which prompted our visit to Gettysburg. I booked a Presidential Lodge at The Lodges with the Galloping into History package for my family of 4, children ages 15 and 21. The view from our lodge was beautiful, and the lodge itself was rustic with modern convenience. Our lodge had plenty of breathing room as it had a bedroom/living room area, kitchenette, separate bedroom, and bathroom. The small patio was perfect for stargazing and wine sipping. Continental breakfast is included. The staff was knowledgable and friendly. For the galloping part of our package, we chose the 2 hour horseback ride. It was a fun way to learn about our country's history! We had one issue during this stay: On our first night, the shower was backed up. It took 2 phone calls to get somebody out to fix it, but I get the feeling that this is not the norm. I recommend this hotel
for history buffs who like to get away from it all. There is plenty of history to explore nearby. I also think this area is best for older kids because they will appreciate the stories that are told.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monica854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy K, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It is a perfect spot for "history buffs" indeed! We are glad you had a great visit with us and enjoyed your time touring out amazing area. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for The Lodges at Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

They did a wonderful job with my Nephew's wedding, everything went perfect thanx to the wonderful staff.
We spent the night in one the cabins. They are beautiful and well stocked.
Had two elderly relatives and the staff made sure they were well taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy K, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are so pleased to hear the wedding was fantastic and so appreciate the review on Trip Advisor! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a 6 person, 2 night stay at the Lodges. It was just the best experience ever. Having a Lieutenant Lodge was so much better than a regular motel room. We were not cramped or on top of each other. The views were amazing, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the lodge was very clean, the kitchen with the larger refrigerator was perfect. The front porch and chairs were great. I would definitely advise anyone going to Gettysburg to check out this amazing place. The grandkids fished twice. The pictures on the website are a perfect example of the Lodges. We have already recommended this to a friend for tonight & hope her family could get it. GREAT staff, great concept, great location - just a perfect get-away! We will be back,

Room Tip: We stayed at the New Hampshire Lodge and had a super view over the mountains - could see for miles.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheShafferFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family had an amazing time! We appreciated the kind review and can't wait to have you all back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We absolutely loved our stay. It is so nice and quiet but not to far from the restaurants and sites of Gettysburg. My husband and son enjoyed fishing on the property. The staff was very nice and friendly. When we got into our lodge I turned on bathroom light and blew a fuse. My husband contacted the front desk and within five minutes it was taken care of. We had a two bedroom two bath lodge. Loved it. FYI no DVD player in lodge. We assumed there would be.
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a great place when visiting Gettysburg. We are planning a return trip in October.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tilliesdaughter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for the nice review and so glad you are coming back to visit us! We are glad you had a nice stay with us and are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had our wedding there and then stayed in the captains lodge for our honeymoon night... absolutely gorgeous!!! You will not be disappointed with your stay there, I know we most definitely were not disappointed. I would highly recommend this place if you're thinking about having a wedding reception there as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kfinkenbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg as your wedding venue! It was a beautiful wedding and we are so pleased you enjoyed every minute! Can't wait to have you back on your anniversary….right?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The lodges at gettysburg was a beautiful getaway! Located very close to the shops and battlefield, the view from our cabin was breath taking! I didn't want to leave my cabin! We will be back! Thank you for your great hospitality and great front desk staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akay381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

"I didn't want to leave my cabin!" ….music to our ears! Thanks so much for the awesome review and we are pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, our staff and your stay! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Lodes have a rustic exterior and an up to date interior. If you really want the Hampton or Hilton, then stay at your preferred chain. This is a bit different. I stayed twice, and both times relished the quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

We had a "Captain's Qtrs," which is a large single room cabin with a spacious and modern bathroom and a small porch with a couple of Adirondack chairs and a great view over the valley to the Round Tops. For the Civil War tourist not wanting to get entrapped in the commercial bustle of downtown Gettysburg, this is a great location.

It also looks like it would be a great little wedding venue. There were a couple going on while we were there, and all the young people seemed very happy.

I'd also note that every staff member we met was friendly and accommodating. My only complaint: I want a bigger TV- spoiled aren't we.

Room Tip: Captains Quarters are the way to go unless traveling with a larger group.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3rdjerseyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your extensive review. We are pleased to see you are a return guest and once again were happy with your experience! Thank you for continuing to choose The Lodges at Gettysburg as your vacation retreat! Come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,072 reviews
4.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
5.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-6925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £89 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located to Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Our private lodges are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces (suites only), hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing