We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellance At It's Best”

Victorian Photography Studio
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Whether you want to capture your family's precious vacation or get striking Civil War images , Victorian Photography Studio can make it happen with our extensive Civil War Wardrobe . You can count on us to deliver what we promise. -We offer 19th century Wet-Plate photography with a short hisory lesson on how the process was done. -We also offer the less expensive modern Digital photography.and Now you can rent Civil War clothing for any occasion.Come on in and see some 19th century cameras and props.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Clayton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellance At It's Best”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stopped by the store on my rounds around Gettysburg. The lady there was very nice as was everyone that I encountered in Gettysburg. Purchased items will be an everlasting memory of the Town and it's people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duck240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    23
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent service and product. Well treated by owners.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Decided on a whim to have one of these historic costume shots done. We arrived on time and were dressed and seated within minutes. Found the owners to be friendly, accommodating and interesting.

For $37.00 you get and 8x10 and two 5x7s of your sitting which are ready in about 15 minutes after the photo is taken.

We enjoyed the photo product and our time having it done. We could also see by the quality of the work displayed that these folk know what they're doing.

Have some fun while in Gettysburg and get one of these portraits. They're great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Best part of our day in Gettysburg!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I knew this place was quite popular from the reviews so I reserved our photo shoot online before we arrived - they can book up completely so this is a good idea if you're set on getting a photo taken. We were a group of 7 people wanting 2 copies of a wet plate photo so I called a few days ahead to make sure that this would be possible. Tish and her husband Dale are 2 of the nicest and most accommodating people you'll ever meet! Tish explained the process and assured me that 2 copies of the same photo wouldn't be a problem. When we arrived at the studio Tish took us upstairs and started off dressing the girls first. We let Tish pick out the dresses for us that she though would look best and to also fix our hair and add bonnets and snoods to make everything look authentic! They know best, they do this all the time. While getting dressed in our dresses and big hoop skirts we got a history lesson in Civil War era clothing, it was great! The guys were dressed next, all soldiers, some in blue, some grey! My son loved his outfit and the weapons too! We were quickly posed by Dale and Tish and each of us told where to look while the picture was being taken. They talked to us all about the process used to get a wet plate photo and then we all held still for the 23 seconds it took to get the image (we did this twice for the 2 copies). We then got to watch Tish process the wet plate photo, she explained everything as we watched the image appear! So cool! The picture is amazing! My daughter posted it on Instagram and a friend though that it was an old authentic photo of our relatives! This was seriously the best part of our day in Gettysburg and one of the most memorable moments of our entire trip! It's not just a photo, it's a lesson in history too. I would highly recommend the Victorian Photo Studio to anyone! Thank you Tish & Dale for a great experience!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank partyofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a fun experience because the people were so nice and made it more enjoyable. My daughter and I went and we had a mini history lesson on dressing during the civil war. It was very reasonably priced and the pictures came out awesome! We were not in their very long and I recommend you make an appointment beforehand. We did and were taken right in. I highly suggest it during your trip to Gettysburg.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beagle4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun and educational experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I made a reservation but needed to change it and Del was very accommodating. Both Del and Tish were a pleasure to work with and talk to. We explained that our son could at times be difficult and they were very accommodating in making it so that he was able to move around right up until the time for the photo being taken. We opted for the wet plate experience and Tish was great in explaining not only how one would have dressed at that time, but also how the photo process worked. We went and got ice cream at Mr. G's while our picture baked (shelac has to be applied to protect the image) and walked back. Even though we were the last appointment of the day, Tish spent a while talking to us and it was really a pleasure not only to walk away with a unique souvenir of our time at Gettysburg, but also meeting a very dynamic and friendly couple.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nelleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victorian Photography Studio also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Photography Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing