We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Lincoln Square
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Leonardo, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Beyond expectation”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our stay at The Inn at Lincoln Square exceeded our expectations. The staff could not have been more attentive and the townhouse was both beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our kids loved the basket of fruit and muffins! The location of the Inn was conveniently located to all attractions, shops and restaurants. The entire family can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    42
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
216
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aquebogue
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We just finished a long weekend at the Inn at Lincoln Square and it was even better than advertised. Centrally located, you can walk to all the restaurants and shops, and if the weather is nice you can even hike up the avenue to some of the historic cemeteries and homes. Our host, Greg, was nothing less than fantastic; he anticipated our every need, had a great sense of humor, and made our stay truly memorable. Our suite was huge, comfortable and offered all the amenities of home - even WiFi! We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit historic Gettysburg. Thanks again Linda and Greg! Barbra Seltzer and AL Ciletti

Room Tip: Townhouses probably quieter than those rooms directly on the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and recently returned from a trip to Gettysburg where we spent three nights at the Inn at Lincoln Square, in the Annie Danner Suite, which is the top floor of this historic home. From the moment we made our reservation with Greg we knew we had made the correct decision to stay at the Inn. Prior to our arrival, Greg arranged for a licensed Gettysburg Guide to meet us at our hotel to give us our personal and preferred tour of the battlefields, he made us any dinner reservations we requested ahead of time, and met us at the door upon our arrival, and was their when we departed.

Linda’s touch is evident and everywhere in the house. Her design sensibilities, and attention to detail greet you as soon you step through the front door where you feel as if you are being transported to another era. Together they are the most generous and gracious hosts who make themselves available to you but also respect your privacy—they adapt to each of their guests and their needs.

After touring the battlefields and various museums sprinkled throughout Gettysburg, we returned to this Civil War home at the end of each day where our stay in the quaint but modern attic suite extended our experience and allowed us to imagine what it might have been like to be living in Gettysburg during the three day battle siege. Some of you may already know that many of the residents hid in their basements while Confederate soldiers occupied their attics. If you are looking for the complete experience, this is the place to stay, but unlike the soldiers in the attics of 1863, we got to stretch out in a large comfortable bed under a beautiful quilt. As other guests have pointed out in their reviews, each room has been appointed with more than ample supply of plush towels, along with fresh muffins, fruit and coffee. Water bottles in the refrigerator are complimentary and abundant. The room is like a gigantic studio apartment and I was almost disappointed that it didn’t rain for I would not have been disappointed if I had to spend more time in my suite. We truly loved our stay here and look forward to returning in the future. Do not hesitate to stay here, and please visit Linda’s shops located a hop, skip and a jump away.

Marianne & Leo Tracy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend at the Inn at Lincoldn Square in the historic downtown area of Gettsyburg.PA. We stayed on the third floor in the Irene Dammer Suite and just loved the rustic nature of the room. The room was romantic and had everything we enjoy and look for on a special getaway weekend. Plenty of plush bath towels, comfortble bed with great sheets, and clean. The Keurig coffee maker in the room was such a nice touch with a large variety of coffee and tea, as was the basket of muffins and fresh fruit left for us to enjoy. There was also bottled water in the fridge along with flavored creamer . We loved coming back to our room after our busy days visiting the battlefields and museums. There is a nice parking area in the rear of the Inn with plenty of space to open your doors to unpack/pack. The Inn is right in the center of the historic downtown area so we only had to drive when we visited the battlefields and visitors center which were not far at all. You could walk to the more touristy areas slightly west of town but we had a lot of rain so we did drive more than planned. Overall we would highly recommend this Inn and will look forward to trying out one of the other suites next time we are in the Gettysburg area. What a great experince all around.

Room Tip: Seems like all the suites have some windows that face the very busy traffic circle in front of the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emhjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The experience was great from the initial phone call to Greg, to the final conversation.Greg's courtesy, personality and hospitality was much appreciated as well as his appreciation for history and his devout knowledge of Gettysburg. We arrived late Friday evening and Greg was there to meet us. I had made reservations only the night before so it was very short notice but luckily we were able to stay at the Sarah Danner suite. We had a 1500 sq foot home all to ourselves! Greg was great in suggesting places to eat and must see attraction which we adhered to throughout our trip. I had never been to Gettysburg before and left completely satisfied with my experience. The Sarah Danner suite was a three bedroom, 1 bath town home decorated with respect to the time and culture. The beds were beyond comfortable and I truly felt like I had gone back in time and was in the 1800's. The location is in Lincoln Square which is the absolute best place to be. Furthermore, it is right next to where Lincoln stayed before his immortal Gettysburg Address, so it's pretty safe to assume that Lincoln himself had traveled through the same place we stayed, which is just awesome to think about. We had a peaceful stay and enjoyed the fresh fruit and muffins provided for us each morning. I admired Greg's respect for history and it is ever so evident in the way he takes care of the Danner home which has a unique history in itself. I would love to come back again and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Gettysburg, it was just perfect. Thanks so much for making my first trip to Gettysburg so memorable.
~John

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2011939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

As soon as I made the first contact with the Inn, I knew that it was the right choice. Greg was friendly, professional and very patient while anwering all of my inquiries about the Inn and it only got better from there. The Inn is beautiful and perfectly located on the Square. Greg and Linda are wonderful hosts and truly care about their guests having a great stay in Gettysburg. Wonderful rooms, friendly smiles, open and honest recommendations for food and fun as well as the muffins and fruit - are just a few of the reasons why the Inn is the place to stay in Gettysburg. We can't wait until we have a chance to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I can think of no better way to begin one's visit to Gettysburg than by checking in to the Inn at Lincoln Square. Even before we arrived, Greg helped us enormously by suggesting a tour guide to begin our visit to the battlefield, and also by making suggestions for restaurants. Everything we needed was booked before we arrived, which allowed us to make the most of our time. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative. His presentation inspired us for the rest of our visit. We were able to walk to dinner, as the Inn is at the very center of Gettysburg.
Rarely does anything live up to its presentation in a glossy brochure, but the Inn at Lincoln Square surpassed our expectations in every way. Much careful thought has been given to everything a visitor needs in a new place. There is even a full kitchen, ingeniously hidden behind a large wall!
We loved the Mary Juliet Danner Suite. it is beautifully appointed, and even though it's located right on the square, it afforded a quiet and very comfortable night's sleep. We were thrilled to be so close to the David Wills House, where President Lincoln slept the night before he delivered the Gettysburg Address.
Greg and Linda are the most gracious of hosts - we felt welcomed even before we arrived.
We are already looking forward to our next visit!
Toni S

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lincoln Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lincoln Square

Property: Inn at Lincoln Square
Address: 12 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Lincoln Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning brick Civil War property uniquely situated on the Historic Lincoln Square. One of the most beautifully decorated interiors in Gettysburg. Within walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Our free breakfast consists of fresh baked muffins, fruit, and coffee/tea. Complimentary bottled water is also provided. There are 5 parking spots - one for each guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Lincoln Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lincoln Square Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing