We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel - Pet Friendly too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I just returned from an 8 day trip to Gettysburg (with our 2 Siberian Huskies) and stayed at the Country Inn and Suites. I originally picked it because of the "pet friendly" accommodations and can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel is! Everyone is so friendly, helpful and informative - from the front desk, housekeeping, breakfast staff etc. no matter who we saw we were always greeted with a smile. When booking I asked for the largest room because of the 2 dogs and was advised to take the VIP Suite. Wow! This was like an apartment - huge living room which extended to a dining room with table & 6 chairs, wet bar with refrigerator, sink and microwave, huge separate king size bedroom (very comfortable beds) and large bathroom. There was also free wifi and 2 televisions in the suite. The hotel offered a free hot breakfast which was excellent (eggs, waffles, sausage or bacon, cold cereals and a variety of fresh fruit, breads and muffins) - and they constantly refilled everything. What I liked best is that breakfast was served until 10 AM every morning - not the usual 9 AM on weekdays as in other places. There is a nice size indoor pool, large hot tub and and exercise room too. The location is perfect - across the parking lot is the Gettysburg Outlet Shops and it is less than 5 minutes drive to the Visitors Center and historic Gettysburg. There is a TGI Friday adjacent to the hotel too. To top it off, this was probably the most pet friendly place we have ever stayed - they even had biscuits in the lobby for the "doggies" - next to the 24 hour free coffee and chocolate chip cookies for the "humans". All in all it was a wonderful 8 days and I would strongly recommend this Country Inn and Suites to everyone - especially if you are traveling with your 4 legged friends!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cardiology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

My stay was inadvertently booked for the wrong month and at the last minute on a full Saturday night they upgraded us to a full suite for the same price - and they would have put us at an even better place (other hotel) for the same rate if they couldn't. Great, friendly customer service- full spread sit down breakfast, clean, comfortable room. What more can I say - for $79? Would stay there again in a heartbeat - did I mention it was on the same property as the huge outlet complex - within walking distance!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel the last four Thanksgiving (father in law lives nearby) .

Nice kids pool and hot tub area (little workout room that is decent enough)
1Bedroom Suite is great for a family of four (has a lot of room 2X Queen Beds + foldout sofa and a fridge + microwave)
Breakfast is nothing fancy but nice to have
Very near a great outlet mall (he hit the black Friday specials and save a lot of money)
Free chocolate chip cookies
Very clean

I highly recommend paying in advance to get the rate down (we paid $85-90/ night)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 320 (1 Bedroom Suite) the view is of the roadway but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is a great place we stayed for 2 nights. Nice breakfast which is free. We had eggs, potatoes, and bacon. They also had waffles and numerous other items, a wide variety. Nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. Room was clean and place was clean and not noisy. They also had hot chocolate, tea, and coffee anytime you wanted, also chocolate chip cookies. Shopping Outlet and TGIF restaurant right outside front door. Plenty of parking. Within a few miles of Gettysburg National Park Visitor Center, and easy to get to. Would go again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The country Inn and Suites by Carlson in Gettysburg, PA was a pleasant surprise. When looking at the photos of the inside I thought it too quaint. However, the rooms were spacious, the breakfast served was wonderful, and the people were friendly and always willing to help answer any questions. The swimming pool, spa, and fitness room were all clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel on Baltimore Street was perfect; just follow Baltimore street right to the visitors’ center or keep going to the center of Gettysburg. It was a wonderful trip thanks in large part to the people of Country Inn and Suites in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: I recommend the king suite - 1 bedroom w/ living room that has pull out couch for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We recently stayed at this facility; it was our third or fourth time. Their attention to quality can be seen from the front-desk staff, the guest rooms and in their complimentary, hot, continental breakfast. The Inn's location is also close to the major highways, a relatively new outlet shopping center (that is literally a short walk from the Inn's parking lot), with downtown Gettysburg being approximately a 5-minute drive. In between the Inn and the town of Gettysburg one can find the new visitor's center which is a must-see. We will continue to make our annual 'stop' at the Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbclwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Very Nice hotel. Looks nice from outside as well as inside. Easy to find and few minutes drive from loads of eating places and at outlet mall. Car park free and 5 mins to start of Gettysburg trail. Reception big with nice lounge area and helpful friendly staff with cookies, cereal bars and coffee. Room big with 2 beds, and small table and chair, very clean. Had TV. Free WIFI. Breakfast very nice sausage and eggs, yoghurts, toast and muffins to eat in room. Very good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,615 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Dr, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £47 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing