We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A bit surprised.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were surprised with this room because it was in the process of being updated and had no headboards, no baseboards, no mirrors except for the bathroom and no pictures, etc. This inn is fairly large and not too busy that evening and so we could not understand why we were given this particular room. We were not given a price break so we question why? We should have complained but we were very tired and had been driving all day so we just let it go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    228
    58
    41
    31
See reviews for
370
155
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was a little concerned about staying here after reading some of the reviews but I wanted to be where my workshop was going to be held. I arrived and they were under construction. The front desk clerk was nice, not necessarily the most friendly.

Parking was amble.

I headed up to the room to find it very clean & comfortable. There were plenty of towels, soap, & shampoo. And the wifi was free.

A nice experience, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melatz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Our family, friends, and greyhounds stayed April 23-27. Even though the hotel is under-going updating, we had a great time! Of special note is Johanna who went out of her way many times to be helpful, kind, interested, and address problems - always with patience and grace. This is one of our favorite locations and hotel brands - and we will be back. Thank you, Johanna!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bvroman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had read other reviews after booking, before arriving, and were dismayed to find out the hotel is under construction. They failed to let us know this. When we called to ask them about it, they indicated it was as bad as the reviews said, and nothing could be done about it (not even a discount). Since there were no other rooms in our price range available in Gettysburg, we kept our reservation. When we got there, they had no record of upgrade that we had booked, and so we ended up in a very unfinished regular room instead of the family suite we had booked. Mysteriously we were able to get it the second and third nights because it was open (probably because we had booked it, but somehow they couldn't figure this out). They also gave us mistaken information about the outlet shops next door, so we planned a shopping day on Sunday due to their advice, only to find out the shops were closed that day due to Easter. In the end the hotel was clean, the breakfasts were great every morning, but it sure didn't feel like a nice place. It was obviously "under construction" yet nothing seemed to be progressing. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. Sometimes improvements are very necessary to keep up to date in the market place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

When we booked our room, no one disclosed that the hotel was under construction. There was an overwhelming smell of paint. Out room had no working phones, no working smoke alarms, and one sink that did not work. Lighting was limited to two can lights in the ceiling. When we asked for another room we were told there were none. The evening staff was very rude and seemed not to care about our concerns. Obviously, we weren't the only visitors disappointed. The hotel chain really should not have rented this room out but were only concerned about the money. Will never stay at a Country Inn Suites again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible by hotel renovations. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family and I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Gettysburg this past weekend, April 4 - April 6, 2014. We had stayed at Country Inn and Suites before, and expected this hotel to be the same. We were very disappointed. When we checked in, we were told to fill out a form, we were handed our room keys, and told what floor the room was on, and that was the extent of the conversation with the front desk clerk. There was no apology or explanation for the state of the lobby, no information on breakfast times, no checkout time, nothing. The room we were given smelled overwhelmingly of fresh paint, and the trim was missing from the wall around the room. We had two small children with us, and I was shocked that we would have been given a room that was obviously not finished being renovated. We went downstairs and asked for another room, and we were given one. The clerk said, "Sorry", and handed us a new set of room keys. The new room was ok, but smelled and felt damp, even after adjusting the thermostat. However, this was an improvement after the overwhelming fresh paint smell. The room was a major letdown after what we had experienced in previous stays. The rooms were clean, bright, the beds soft and comfortable with great pillows, and sparkling clean bathrooms. This was not our experience at this hotel. We selected this hotel because we really liked Country Inn and Suites, and believed this brand was a reliable choice for a great stay. I cannot say that about this hotel after our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites standards. We understand how important a good first impression is and know it begins when you walk into the hotel and are warmly, and attentively greeted. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will use it to fine tune our operations and ensure these incidents do not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I first stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Gettysburg back in 2003. It was a great place back then! Managed by top notch professionals, and you could always expect great service and a friendly atmosphere. In my opinion, the place has gone downhill in our recent stays. I know there is new management that took over a few years ago. During our last stay, we found out (by pure accident) that our door was not locking properly. When we left our room, anyone had access to it! We called the front desk and after about an hour they sent someone up from their custodian dept. He was extremely rude! He told us we didn't have to worry since we were in Gettysburg. Oh boy....no crime there. We should all move! After pressing him for more of an explanation, he did admit that "a few" of the doors on our floor were not functioning properly and they were "working on them". When he first came up to check our door he said he could find" nothing wrong with it" and acted like it was us! We always liked the proximity to the outlet shopping mall and have stayed there several times over the years. We found new places to stay. Be warned.........try your door after you leave your room! (P.S. My reviews are usually not negative....read my other ones.)

Room Tip: Just check that your door locks! And don't ask for any service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
526 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
739 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing