We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at White Oak
Ranked #9 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant relaxation”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A very pleasant B&B on the edge of town. Gettysburg is a very noisy little town with all the truck traffic, so if you want peace and quiet in a B&B, being off road on the outskirts is best. The breakfasts and evening snacks were truly amazing. Very friendly ownership. Don't forget to feed the fish!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. If a queen bed is large enough, I would suggest the Colonel's quarters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATV-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
221
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed one night and was enchanted by the place. The owners were delightful, the rooms/bathrooms huge and well appointed, the grounds beautiful (I got up early and read by the koi pond outside, and listened to the birds before breakfast), and the breakfast was delicious and special.

I would definitely return, next time with my wife, and perhaps stay longer- there is a tea room, recreation room and media room, among other amenities, too, and free beverages/snacks whenever you wish, in the kitchen.

A wonderful place- with 2 suggestions- there was only 1 breakfast time and 9AM is a bit late for some, and my shower did not have hot water (but the tub did!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our second stay at The Inn at White Oak and is was everything that we remember from our first visit and more. Jillian and Sam are such FANTASTIC Hosts!!!! The grounds are so beautiful and you can not describe the beauty that awaits you at the Inn.
The bed was soo comfortable and we loved having the two rooms and a separate entrance to come and go and walk the grounds. We stayed in the Colonel's Quarters.
Jillian's baking is AMAZING!!!!! Breakfast each morning was live Heaven on earth!!! You look forward to what will come the next morning for breakfast, Coffe/Tea always available which was great for sitting out on the deck and relaxing with coffe while talking in the beauty of the grounds.

Everyone should spend some time at The Inn at White Oak!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpndidi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

1. The owners. The family that owns and runs the inn make you feel like extended family. They love what they do and it shows in every detail. 2. The tour of the inn. You get a map and a tour of the 10,000 sq ft inn upon checking in and it's all amazing. Worth the price of admission. 3. The guest rooms. They are all large, luxurious, gorgeous, clean and comfortable. We have stayed now in all of them and can't pick a favorite. 4. The peacefulness. Before coming here we had forgotten how restful peace is. 5. Breakfast. The best breakfasts we've ever had. All homemade, different courses every morning and every course to die for. 6. The spa. The spa is inside the inn and is for guests only so we felt like we had our own private oasis and the spa staff and services are excellent. 7. The grounds. The secluded acres seem to go on forever with 4 ponds, walking trails, gardens and tons of peaceful spots to sit and enjoy the view. 8. The views. All the rooms in the inn have gorgeous views of the ponds or private gardens. Everywhere you look is gorgeous. 9. The common areas. There are ten or more where you can watch movies in a private theater, play billiards and games, sit and read or relax there is even a guest kitchen to get drinks and snacks day or night. 10. Location. It really is the best of both worlds. It's a few minutes from downtown but it's quiet and feels worlds away from the touristy chaos with free off street parking and the peacefulness is priceless. 11. The homemade desserts....12. The comfortable beds.......13. The different Packages.....oh wait we said ten reasons. You get the idea.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the different guest rooms and can't pick a favorite. You find yourself ret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandRob12875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Have you read the other reviews on this page? Well, they're lying. This place was 10 times better than they're describing and this comes from a very jaded New Yorker ( Bronx born and bred ) who's been around the block a few times. We were made to feel so at home and so comfortable that we referred to Jillian's ( the young innkeeper along with her husband Sam ) parents as Mom and Dad and they're only a few years older than us. We stayed 4 nights and almost dreaded having to leave on the next leg of our trip to Baltimore. Baltimore was nice but as expected the hospitality was lacking compared to White Oak, hell, everywhere is lacking compared to White Oak. Hey Jill, I say we come back and make a movie about your place, nah, nevermind, nobody will ever believe it. Well, I say, Believe it!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. There is a great spa, couples massage highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltherug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Everything from the rooms to the grounds to the food and hospitality was first-rate. The inn is conveniently located on the outskirts of Gettysburg in a sylvan setting. The host couple are very knowledgeable about the area. We highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don-Mercia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were looking for an inn where we could spend a few days relaxing and feeling pampered, and we found the Inn at White Oak. We spent two nights in the General's Quarters and our third night in the Commander's Quarters. From the the moment we were greeted at the door and taken on a tour of the Inn, we knew we were in for a treat. The rooms and suites are absolutely beautiful -- we didn't think it was possible, but they are more spectactular in person than in the photos on the website! The two suites that we stayed in were huge and beautifully decorated. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Everywhere you looked, you had views of ponds and meadows. So relaxing and peaceful! And breakfast. Wow. Who ever heard of a three-course breakfast? And all from scratch! Like another reviewer said, we stepped out of our room each morning to the aromas of fresh baked wonderfulness. And every evening there was a baked treat in the "pantry" (a lovely kitchen for guests, equipped with Keurigs, coffee, tea and snacks) for dessert. One night it was a chocolate cake that was to die for.

The Inn is about 3 miles north of Gettysburg, so it was easy to get to town and do some sightseeing. But that was the really nice thing -- it's located a few miles away from the hubbub, and feels like it could be anywhere.

We were able to see all the rooms, and each one has its own "personality" and special features that make each of them uniquely lovely.

By the end of our stay, we were refreshed and very, very happy that we found the Inn at White Oak. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rherman512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
396 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
343 reviews
3.5 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at White Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at White Oak

Property: The Inn at White Oak
Address: 1 White Oak Trl, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8039
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn and Spa at White Oak is the premier Gettysburg address! Set on 33 private acres, this grand Gettysburg Inn and full-service Spa with a heated, indoor swimming pool, is surrounded by history and luxury! The ultimate in tranquility and romance, The Inn at White Oak is just minutes from downtown Lincoln Square, Gettysburg College and all of the area's attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at White Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing