We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! 150+ year old muskets, rifles, artifacts all for sale!”
Review of The Horse Soldier

The Horse Soldier
Ranked #45 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Attraction details
Downingtown
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing! 150+ year old muskets, rifles, artifacts all for sale!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I cannot describe how this is an amazing 'hands on' museum. The range of items start from the early 1800's to Korean conflict and some more recent US armed forces clothing. Everything is on sale which in itself is mind boggling. The prices are reasonable too considering the more rare items - anything that is confederate I.e. You can handle 150+ year old muskets, rifles swords etc. no sales people to bother you. Amazing selection of all types of hand guns, swords & bayonets(!) and rifle muskets. Many where in battle and very very few repro's (like almost all other places in Gettysburg) all original issue. if you are any kind of history (also currency, paintings, books, photographs, medals, uniforms etc.) & weapon buff, you will be very hard to break away from this 'store' there is so much to take in. I cannot recommend this store more highly it is deservedly #2 behind the battlefield itself. A must see & it's free!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillVPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is well worth a visit. A great museum, with no admission, as well as a store (most of the artifacts can be purchased). Many artifacts can be purchased for a dollar or two (bullets, buttons, etc.) or you can spend thousands for rifles, uniforms, etc. Excellent way to spend some time, you might even learn a few things along the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renville, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed looking around at all the artifacts. Our boys liked looking at all the guns and swords. A store that is a great museum. Glad we stopped.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolute must if you go to Gettysburg”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was looking for a place to buy a real relic of Gettysburg and saw this place. I was in shock at all the history available for sale. It was like being a kid in a candy shop. I absolutely loved it and bought a nice gunpowder horn from the war. I highly recommend this shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annasimpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of historic items for sale!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ever see something at a museum and think "That would be cool to own that" well stop in the Horse Soldier, and you can do just that! They have an amazing collection of historic items that are for sale. Of course, history does have a price for items that are truly priceless; however, they have fair prices on their items.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse Soldier also viewed

 

Been to The Horse Soldier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing