We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I could do around Gettysburg for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best I could do around Gettysburg for the money.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights on August 2nd and 3rd. We had an interior room near the pool in building one. This was a satisfactory room. It is a little away from town, but only 6 or 7 minutes. A bit past it's prime, but I only paid $70 a night, verses the $90 plus at all of the chains on the the other end of town. The pool and hot tub were satisfactory. We were going to grab some breakfast at the restaurant one day, but it was closed, I guess beause there weren't many people in the hotel while we were there. Overall it was satisfactory and if you can live with a little age it is o.k.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us recently during your Gettysburg visit. The dates you stayed, we had our Market Deli open instead of our Restaurant. When our occupancy level is low, we typically open one of the two, but both at the same time.The Market Deli makes breakfast sandwiches and sells carry out items, and I'm sorry if you weren't made aware of that when you checked in.

Please consider us for a future visit. Soon, Gettysburg and all of Adams County will be celebrating the National Apple Harvest Festival, right when the leaves begin to turn and the weather gets crisper. We'd love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    96
    109
    94
    121
See reviews for
118
89
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Far from the action, and overpriced for my taste. A little past its prime. But adequate (although pillows were awful).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for choosing us when you visited Gettysburg. We're sorry about the pillows not meeting your expectations. If you return at a later date, please tell us if you'd prefer pillows that are softer or firmer and we'll switch them out for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Have stayed at this hotel several times in the past for a yearly business event, the hotel is slightly dated but certainly acceptable. The staff at the Eisenhower brings to mind President Kennedy's famous description of Washington DC: it has all the best of Northern charm and Southern efficiency! To say the Eisenhower's staff is brisk is putting it nicely. Others might say unnecessarily rude and unhelpful but the job gets done.
For our latest stay our room was in the old original building, facing the back parking lot. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows, everything was very clean.
We had room service for dinner and the food was old school tasty (yum!)--salads with blue cheese dressing, pasta alfredo and cheeseburgers with swiss, mushrooms and grilled onions.
While we were there the VFW was having a gathering in the hotel and it was packed with attendees. While we respect and appreciate the service of these veterans of our armed forces, we were awakened at 2 a.m. and kept awake till 4 by revellers in the back parking lot, right outside our window, after the hotel bar closed. One woman kept hooting and hollaring so loud she could be heard over the air conditioning unit in our room.
Thankfully after 4 the parking lot party broke up. It does seem like the management should have been aware of the noise level and its disturbance to other guests. The VFW had been there all week though so maybe management felt the folks deserved one last party before departure. Unbelievably, they were all gone before 10 the next morning! Tough stuff.
All in all a good stay, we were very comfortable in our room, which included a flat screen tv, a task desk, seating area with two arm chairs and plenty of lamp lighting. A fridge/micro should be added to each room tho, this is becoming standard in almost all hotel rooms.
In spite of a few complaints, we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StickyToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The A/C in our 1st room didn't work plus the room was very dusty. Second room was also very dusty. Both A/C units were plugged with dust.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fjr130005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Middle Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My son had a soccer tournament in the area and as not only a parent but the " team manager", I was also responsible for our accomodations. It is hard to please everyone so its important to at least please most...and I must say all parents (28) were very pleased with the family frendly atmosphere..one unanimous complaint. Prices at the on site deli was
too high. A definite second trip if we are there next year for another tounament.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie_segenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Booked our wedding at the Eisenhower Hotel and after arriving for our first night, I decided to do a little research on the hotel, just because I noticed some weird things like the one lobby was dark and no one was at the desk. Reviews looked REALLY bad but I did not have any problems. The Wedding Coordinator for the hotel was amazing and very accommodating. We were located in Tower II and I asked that all of my block also be in Tower II and the coordinator moved everyone over to these rooms. I had some friends stay in Tower I and the room difference in overall appearance was HUGE, but still live able. Restaurant food was amazing and wedding food was as well. This place has a lot of potential!! Beds SUPER Soft, cleaning staff was fast, any request for new light bulbs/toilet problems were dealt with within 10 minutes. Family did use the pool and they loved it. The Hot tub was more like bathwater from what I was told. Overall a great hotel and it has a lot of potential. Free Internet!

Room Tip: Tower II has the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlgover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hempstead, New York
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

For the price, this hotel wasn't really worth the money. First off, we were there as part of a soccer tournament for Memorial Day weekend, and thought the rate was a little costly for the venue. That was made even more obvious, when parents began calling individually and got cheaper rates through AAA.

We stayed in the older building, although retro-outdated (in DESPERATE need of upgrades), was clean. The beds were awful and I could barely move my neck each morning. If they upgraded the mattresses perhaps it would have been better. The A/C was loud. Noise level was not too bad (we faced the pool) since the A/C muffled the noise.

The front desk staff was overwhelmed since the hotel was pushed to capacity. We were told that the majority of the staff were hired the days before in anticipation for the tournament. Well, it showed. There was no hospitality, no smiling, nothing. No "have a good day..." As a matter of fact, when we checked out, there was no, "How was your stay?" There was a grumpy comment, "you're all done."

It took 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee to go at the deli, because the two lone workers served each customer.

We had a tournament dinner catered by the hotel. The food there was pretty decent and well-organized.

Fitness center is not really a fitness center.

Overall, I wouldn't seek this hotel out for a leisurely stay, but it suited our needs at the time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
194 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
551 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
0.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
54 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7115
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing