We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy and Dreary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Dingy and Dreary”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned from our annual trip to Gettysburg, stayed again at the Eisenhower, for location convenience only. This hotel has potential but as curretly run, it misses the target in so many ways: tired, stained carpets, peeling wallpaper, analog TVs, dreary decorating, etc. etc.
It isn't really dirty, just old and worn. There's nothing wrong with old, the White House is old and no one considers that a dump. It's just that the Eisenhower was done up cheaply to begin with and has not improved with age. Everything needs freshening and updating, from the shabby bathrooms (wrinkled pink shower curtains? Really?) to the worn bedspreads.
The hotel is spacious and there are nice touches, like the Tudor-style doors with brass kickplates. But the whole place needs a ten million dollar reno, minimum.
Front Desk staff is often rude or dismissive of guest concerns, this is such a constant that it has to be a reflection of Management. The Eisenhower is like an inn run by Great Uncle Tanoos without the gracious guiding hand of Great Aunt Tilly. There's no feeling of courteous welcome, of care and concern for the comfort of guests. The bare minimum will do, and don't complain if there's no hot water for a shower, just keep the water running till the water gets hot!
Our stay was OK, but only just. And I really feel for the employees who have to respond to TripAdvisor reviews with continued apologies for poor service and inadequate accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer section are slightly better, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StickyToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunacaJames, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Sticky Toffee,

Thank you for staying with us on your most recent stay in Gettysburg! I would also like to thank you for your continued service with up most appreciation. Your comments were very clear and straight to the point and will be taken in a serious manner. We hope that you continue to choose us for your future accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    96
    108
    93
    117
See reviews for
117
88
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

First time staying at the Eisenhower. Needed a room at the last minute and this was the most inexpensive place. Rooms are dated, but very clean. Decent location. Would go back for the value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penshockey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Penshockey87,

We appreciate your kind comments. We especially were happy that we could accommodate you at the last minute and give you that bang for your buck. We hope that the next time you’re visiting Gettysburg you will choose us again. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It's wonderful rooms are clean and big the pool was great bar was really nice too so was the dinning room we had a great time.

Room Tip: book a year in advance if you are planing on going or call to check to see if they are going to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elps1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Elpsl954,

We are delighted to hear all of your positive comments, thank you for sharing with us. We strive to provide excellent customer service for the comfort of all of our guests. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to express your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

I've read the reviews and I guess I can see the legitimacy in some of the negative reviews. However, my wife and I had a very enjoyable stay. We came around NYE12 when they had a special pricing. It turns out there was some renovation being done to the pool area and the pool was actually closed. So we had a very affordable room with no pool - no complaints.

This place is a bit dated and very reminiscent of the film, "the shining." But for me this was the strength of the hotel. My wife and I live in Lancaster, pa and just wanted to get a night away from home so we came here. We went for a long walk through the empty hotel (we were the only ones staying here that night and there seemed to only be one person staffed that night). The hotel is close enough to town and we went for dinner. The one staff member we dealt with was great. I didn't know this place was ok with dogs but now that I do we will definitely be returning.

If your looking for a affordable place that's close enough to town then look no further.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nfstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
NFStamper,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience. During your stay we indeed were renovating our pool area, perhaps you would like to visit our Facebook page and look at the finished outcome! Also, we thank you for your cooperation during that renovation. We can’t wait to see you and your dog again hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Whatever you do, DO NOT WAISTE YOUR MONEY HERE.
We had the unfortunate opportunity in staying at the Eisenhower Hotel in Gettysburg(May 19,2012). As it turned out, all the rooms in town were fully booked with graduation events.We were directed to this place as the only place that had rooms (we should have recognized the sign). When we arrived at around 11pm, their system was down, we waited at least half an hour to check in (another sign). We finally check in, requested a reflection in the rate for the long wait, no go (another sign). Our room was in the 2nd building that we had to drive to. The entrance/lobby to the place was huge with sporadic old furniture, tired carpeting and dull lighting. We arrive on our floor to find billfold doors and buckets leaning up against the vending machines, this stuff was still there in the morning when we checked out. The room, ah the room: Old, dull furniture with a small old tv. The bedding was tired and grungy looking, would not dare sit on the bed cover. We always travel with our sleeping bags (just in case) and our own pillows. I had to use my own pillow as the pillow case supplied had some brown stains on it. The bathroom, pink shower curtain that didn’t match with anything and towels that were so old that you would get better quality at a dollar store. This place is so tired you could hear the building yawn. In the morning when we checked out and inquired about breakfast to find that nothing not even coffee or juice was included. We brought our concerns to the front desk only to be told to speak to the manager, of course not available and all out of business cards to contact someone later. Oh, did I forget to mention, all this wonderful quality, service and extras for the low, low price of $155. We spoke to others who indicated that they were quoted a price via email yet the hotel would not honor the email. When a hotel charges such a high nightly rate there are expectations that you’re paying for a certain level of quality. You would have seen the same level of quality from a no name, flea bag motel (we’ve all slept in one of those) but the difference is $45-50 a night not $155. It’s one thing to charge a lot for a nights stay but there has to be something for that charge. If you don’t have any respect for your hard earned money, enjoy your stay here, but if you want value for you’re dollar then go anywhere else but here.

Room Tip: "go somewhere else"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunacaJames, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
SH,

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Indeed graduation weekend is a high peak weekend in Gettysburg. I do want to take the time out to thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. They have been addressed to the appropriate managers. Again, I apologize for your inconvenience and hope that you will re consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is a horrible hotel the general manager is nasty and so are the staff. The hotel is in need of updates obviously there to poor to clean because it's dirty and for the rooms there even worse. I wouldn't let my dog stay there. They charge you a ton of money and show pictures on there web site of the nice areas in hotel. Never again this place is a dump by far

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ago21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunacaJames, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Ago21,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than pleasurable. Our EI building is dated however we strive to maintain a clean accommodating stay. I have forwarded your comments and concerns to our housekeeping staff. We can only hope that you give us a second chance and reach out to staff to accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We've stayed here the past two years for a soccer tournament. The hotel staff are always overwhelmed with the fact that the hotel is pushed to capacity. I'm sure they do the best they can, however, after having travelled up and down the East Coast of the U.S. (and overseas), the hotel quality and amenities are definitely not worth the price tag. They even warned us on check in that we'll probably run out of hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room in the "newer" building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunacaJames, Guest Relations Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Momeees,

Thank you for choosing the Eisenhower Hotel for you recent stay. Both soccer tournament weekends are indeed both busy and very pricey for the town of Gettysburg, however I do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with our amenities. We do strive to give complete guest satisfaction. I have shared your response with our General Manager for review. We do hope that we will see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#20 of 27 in Gettysburg
190 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,486 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7115
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing