We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Herr's Ridge”
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The BEST B&B in Gettysburg. I've stayed at several B&B 's at Gettysburg, and though many were nice, they just do not compare with the Herr's Inn. The staff's attention to details are unsurpassed They strive to please their guests, very cordial,they treat you like royalty. Rooms are spotless clean. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, you can't go wrong with any of them Each one has a different theme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was nicely decorated with what you would expect to see in the Gettysburg area. However, we walked out on the deck to find school buses and washing machines as our view but yet the website stated nice views of the battlefield? We also had a lovely whirlpool tub and shower which you would think should be nice except boom no hot water. First night we thought it was a fluke however the second night happened again attempted to call the inn keeper no answer was given so we dealt with it. The staff made no effort to help correct the issues on our stay at all. We were very disappointed by this.

Room Tip: Don't use the annex building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank damienlyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff at this Inn are extremely nice, helpful and attentive. The Inn itself is very beautiful and very close to the battle ground. The breakfast was very good and they had a large assortment of choices if you did not want the hot breakfast. The only complaint is that we got a room close to the main road and it was noisy. I would suggest you do not get rooms 1 and 2 which are on the main road. Also the room did not have sufficient light to read by in the evening. There was an overhead light with the fan but there was no way to leave the fan going and turn off the light other than getting on a chair and messing with the chains. Once we had the light off we did not want to get on the chair. This could be greatly improved by getting some larger lamps to put but the bed. Also the faucet in the bathroom needed to be replaced. It was hard to get it from dripping and did not really match the historical feel of the house. Very minor improvements that could easily be changed. But it was a wonderful inn.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are close to road and noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the mixed Trip Advisor reviews, I wasn't quite sure what to expect as we arrived at the Inn, but I have to say, what did transpire FAR exceeded my expectations. From the moment my husband and I walked in to the lobby, Margie (the receptionist/manager, I'm guessing) was the most welcoming host. She immediately offered us a glass of champagne. Then she chatted with us by the fire for a few minutes and shared some great stories about the area. Finally we were lead to our room (room 1) and we immediately loved it. I was a bit nervous having read that it was haunted, but the room feels so roomy, bright & cheery that I quickly forgot about the ghost stories. The hotel so kindly provided a chilled bottle of bubbly and a cheese plate for us as a welcome gift. Plus some fresh baked cookies and tea down the hall. The room had 2 fluffy robes and slippers in the bathroom (my favorite hotel luxury!) and a beautiful claw foot tub. The tv was too small for it's location (roughly 12' from the end of the bed), but we didn't come to Gettysburg to watch tv anyway, so we hardly minded.
Every moment of our stay was wonderful and truly it all boils down to the service. Every person we met - from Margie to our restaurant server to the chef (who stopped by the table to check on us)- was absolutely 100% service focused. They could not have made our stay more enjoyable.
We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tally714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had eaten at the restaurant in 2013 and were impressed but didn't realize it was also a bed and breakfast. We returned in June, 2014, to tour the Eisenhower homestead after staying overnight at the Inn. We chose a room and reserved via the website, which was convenient. The hostess offered us a glass of champagne upon arrival and showed us to our room. It was in the annex which is at the opposite end of the parking lot. It didn't strike us as fitting with the character of the rest of the Inn as the decor is new but the furnishings are antiques. In addition, everything was spotlessly clean which is important to us. The room was comfortable and quiet (except for the air conditioner). It also had a nice attached balcony for sitting outside. Outside, the yard includes a pond and is nicely landscaped and maintained.

Breakfast was served in a room off the lobby of the main building. It was a tasty recipe of pancakes and sausage. It also included the usual assortment of things like juice, coffee, cereal, and muffins. Everything was deluxe and the portions were ample.

The staff was very polite and friendly. They took the time to chat and share information about the Inn and the area. We had to ask about the ghosts as we didn't see or hear any (a relief). After visiting the homestead, we returned for lunch before leaving for home. You can't go wrong with the food in the restaurant. The snap peas I had were the largest, most perfect, and tastiest I have ever eaten. Our server was so nice, too. In case you haven't realized yet, I highly recommend the Inn at Herr Ridge!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the annex if you like a room with new looks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overall we were underwhelmed by the accommodations at the Inn. Being greeted with a warm welcome and a glass of champagne and a bottle of same in the room was very nice and seemed to bode well for an enjoyable stay. However that was not to be the case. While the first room was appropriately decorated with antiques the bed was uncomfortable. Travelers with bad backs should skip this place. Even when the feather bed which made the bed too soft was removed the underlying mattress was completely inadequate. We asked that we be transferred to another room - which the staff readily agreed to do. The second room also was appropriately decorated - although in a more modern style than the first room; but the sleeping accommodations were no better than in the first room and the bathroom which had been updated in the 70's was old, outdated and the fixtures were in bad repair- the fiberglass jet tub was stained and looked dirty. In addition, I am allergic to air born mold and for the two nights we stayed I suffered an allergic attack - my antihistamine medication proved inadequate to completely quell the symtoms so on the second night I was forced to sleep in our car. Although booked for a third night, rather than stay another night we checked out. The one bright spot of our stay was the dinner we had on the first night - the food and service were both of a caliber to satisfy even the most demanding gourmand. We would recommend the restaurant but not the overnight accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are hotel snobs and loved this place. We've never stayed at a B & B but were invited for a friend's wedding. We LOVED it! It's a little removed for central Gettysburg so you are away from the traffic and noise. Every staff member was more than warm and friendly. The Inn was immaculate. Our room had all the extras including a Keurig, fireplace, robes, etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated. You don't see the worn out carpets or stains like you see in even the best hotels. The restaurant holds up to a 5 star hotel/restaurant! I'm not sure who they have cooking for them but they are FABULOUS! Will def. come back. It's worth the drive to just go for dinner!

Room Tip: All the rooms are done very well, check online for pics and call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JenniferB0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,570 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £140 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing