We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #3 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff was very kind and helpful. You could tell they took pride in their hotel. The rooms were clean and there was champagne waiting for us when we arrived. We were supposed to stay in room one but after reading that the room was haunted we decided to stay in the annex. Just as charming as the main house but less ghosts!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lksix6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herrtav, General Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
On behalf of the management and staff we Thank You for staying with us! We are certainly glad to hear you were able to stay in our Annex to avoid the spirits that sometimes are experienced in the Main House. We hope to see you again soon and enjoy another stay at the Inn.

Respectfully, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    73
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
321
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Inn at Herr Ridge is located a mile or two out of town but it is none the worse for that as there is an excellent restaurant on site which we ate in very happily.
Our accommodation was a Civil War themed room, number 6, Southern Comfort. Very appropriate for a stay at Gettysburg! The room, like the rest of the inn was immaculate, and fitted out to a very high standard. The Civli War memorabilia, photographs and paintings worked well here and heightened our anticipation of our battlefield tour. Plenty of public areas to relax in if you wanted, while our room had plenty of space, and a large bathroom, complete with spa bath. We were both comfortable and impressed.
Our only slight disappointment was breakfast which was just not as good as the rest of our stay promised. Very little choice, just a muffin and some half-hearted yoghurt, followed by an omelette type of offering which wasn't bad, but not so great either. For the fifth star breakfast needs to improve, but don't let this put you off, the Inn at Herr Ridge is an excellent choice for your visit to Gettysburg. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScotsRoad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herrtav, General Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
First, I would like to take this opportunity to Thank You and your guest. We appreciate the review and are glad you enjoyed your stay and dinner. In reference to the Breakfast our yogurt is a Greek yogurt with all natural ingredient, I apologize for not meeting your expectations for Breakfast.
We hope to see you again soon!

Respectfully, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmira, ny
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. My husband is a huge Civil War buff and the history of this house made it an enticing place to stay! We were welcomed on arrival with a glass of champagne by the fireplace in the restaurant. Then we were given a tour. The living room area has daily tea service at 4pm with cookies & teas. There is a cabinet with more teas, popcorn, etc for guests to help themselves. There is a mini-fridge stocked with soda and water. Our room was the loft, room #5. There was a small bottle of champagne chilling in a bucket of ice in our room along with a plate of fruit, cheese and crackers. Our room has a potbellied stove, sitting areas, Keurig coffee maker with an assortment of coffees large round bed, private balcony, bathroom with a large Jacuzzi tub, fridge, microwave, and lock box. The only complaint we had was the room was so warm. We asked them to turn off the pilot light in the stove and they did so right away. The air conditioning was on and it was still too warm for us. Alas, it was in the high 90s outside and very humid, but perhaps fans would help. The breakfast were a little too fancy for us. The first morning we had Eggs Benedict and the second was some kind of spicy egg dish, which we just skipped. They did, however, have a large assortment of fresh baked goods, fruits, juices, granola, oatmeal set up also. We are just country breakfasts type of people. The other guests seemed to really enjoy the cooked meals. As far as sightings go, we heard a baby crying very faintly (could have been a bird outside?), loud footsteps coming up to our room twice, and the scariest was our propped door slamming shut. When we departed, checkout was easy, and included cookies for the road. The staff were all so friendly and professional. This was a positive experience for us. We will probably return but take another room to be cooler and more comfortable.

Room Tip: higher rooms are harder to cool down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beckyspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room was lovely and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The food was very good as well. Depending on the location of your room, the views varied a lot, so if that is important there are good decriptions of each room available on the website. The staff was amazingly frinedly and went above and beyond. There was not a lot of hot water.

Room Tip: The Annex building does not have great views, but affords a lot of quiet and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Burggirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windber, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The BEST B&B in Gettysburg. I've stayed at several B&B 's at Gettysburg, and though many were nice, they just do not compare with the Herr's Inn. The staff's attention to details are unsurpassed They strive to please their guests, very cordial,they treat you like royalty. Rooms are spotless clean. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, you can't go wrong with any of them Each one has a different theme
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was nicely decorated with what you would expect to see in the Gettysburg area. However, we walked out on the deck to find school buses and washing machines as our view but yet the website stated nice views of the battlefield? We also had a lovely whirlpool tub and shower which you would think should be nice except boom no hot water. First night we thought it was a fluke however the second night happened again attempted to call the inn keeper no answer was given so we dealt with it. The staff made no effort to help correct the issues on our stay at all. We were very disappointed by this.

Room Tip: Don't use the annex building.
See more room tips
Green Features: Has a go green effort and gives you the opportunity to participate or not which is very nice.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank damienlyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff at this Inn are extremely nice, helpful and attentive. The Inn itself is very beautiful and very close to the battle ground. The breakfast was very good and they had a large assortment of choices if you did not want the hot breakfast. The only complaint is that we got a room close to the main road and it was noisy. I would suggest you do not get rooms 1 and 2 which are on the main road. Also the room did not have sufficient light to read by in the evening. There was an overhead light with the fan but there was no way to leave the fan going and turn off the light other than getting on a chair and messing with the chains. Once we had the light off we did not want to get on the chair. This could be greatly improved by getting some larger lamps to put but the bed. Also the faucet in the bathroom needed to be replaced. It was hard to get it from dripping and did not really match the historical feel of the house. Very minor improvements that could easily be changed. But it was a wonderful inn.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are close to road and noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Brafferton Inn
Brafferton Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Property: Inn at Herr Ridge
Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing