We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in one of the non suite king rooms. The room was absolutely wonderful - comfortable bedding, bathroom was very large. Flat screen tv in an old school. Original wainscoting align all the walls with beautiful turn of the century chandeliers hang overhead. Walking to the Center of town was about a 5 minute walk. Cannot say enough good things. A definite hotel to consider when traveling to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nukmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    81
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
80
194
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
305 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

This new hotel, in a renovated old school building, while not in the exact center of town, is an easy five minute walk to it. Our king bedded room was spacious, with original detail, 12 ft ceilings, spotless, and the bed and pillows extremely comfortable. Our room, on the third floor, was very quiet. Parking is on site, which I suspect it may not be in hotels smack in the middle of town. Only one quibble--there was no desk in the room if that is a necessity for you. Room had a mini fridge and coffee maker, as well as a flat screen tv and wifi. Hotel is very close to Gettysburg College. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended. Oh, and very reasonably priced!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the Federal Pointe Inn for 2 nights in a King suite. Modern amenities (huge shower, separate jetted jub, mini fridge, flat screen tv) blended well with 1880s schoolhouse charm (12 ft ceilings, original windows, original moldings) - all of which made for a very comfortable room. Location was perfect for cycling throughout the battlefields and walking distance to the center of town. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Our only recommendation - request a room on the top floor. Keep in mind - no elevator, but it will be well worth the trade off. The first night was perfect - minimal traffic noise from the main street was not a big deal. The second night we had a hyped up baby elephant staying in the room above us. Ok it was a young child, but you never would have known it. Once the caffeine or sugar finally wore off, it sounded like a plane was landing above us. Apparently it was now bath time and the jetted tub was very loud. Maybe not a big deal if it was early, but it was past 11pm at this point.

Unfortunate quirks that go along with an older building. We still absolutely recommend the Federal Pointe Inn and will return if ever in the area again. But next time, we will be sure to be the ones on the top floor :-)

Room Tip: Top floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kane, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

So far I have stayed at this hotel twice for business. Having been open for just over a month it is a little slow on week days, though I am told it is quite busy on weekends. Simply put, the rooms are beautiful, the beds are incredibly comfortable, and the restrooms very nice with custom marble showers and floors. On my first stay I joined a tour being given by the owner to local residents. As a mechanical engineer it was very interesting listening to the history of the building as well as the trials and tribulations of the renovation as I have had the challenge myself designing HVAC systems for older buildings.

For the quality room, the price is a great value. It is a short walk of a few walks to the downtown roundabout. The front desk staff is always welcoming and helpful. The Keurig coffee makers are a nice and I was delightfully surprised when I grabbed the TV remote and it was identical to the XFinity remote I have at home. Will I be staying again? I sure will!

Room Tip: The suites are very nice (saw them on the tour) and they were finishing up the Honeymoon Suite in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DParana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Federal Pointe Inn and loved everything about it. The rooms are big and beautifully decorated. Every room has a Keurig coffee machine. The bathrooms are modern (shower only). We were able to walk to restaurants and shops. Parking is generous. The front desk staff walked us to our room and told us the history of the place and pointed out some interesting details of the renovation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I had the pleasure of being one of the first guest on the very first night this neww hotel/Inn opened.Simply stated it is beautiful. I had heard that the old Meade school had been purchased and that a luxury hotel was being established in this old historic school but I could not have imagined it could be this nice. I was very glad to learn that a local hotel owner had opened this facility and HAS TAKEN VERY PROACTICE STEPS TO PRESERVE THE HISTORY OF THE SCHOOL IN THIS BUILDING. That is extremely important to me and many other travelers to Gettysburg. I could only wish other previously constructed hotels in the area had done the same. The Inn is located in a prime area right on what would have been Day One of Battle land. The exterior remains much as the old school appreared and the interior exceeded my expectation. No expense was spared and the result is a luxurious and very beautiful first class Inn. I usually prefer the charm of the local bed and breakfast but I will have to tell you my evening here was really nice and will probably go back. Keeping it real I would add that the Inn would be a little more appealing if it had a small food service facility attached. The staff was wonderful and the owner was on hand to greet each guest. My prediction.... The Federal Pointe Inn will be the Number ONE Gettysburg Hotel in a few weeks. Congratulations on being the premier hotel in the Gettysburg market. I loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsf423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A great example of adaptive re-use, too! This stately building has been there since the late 1800s, and was always "The Meade School" in my family's collective memory. Its conversion into a hotel has been very competently done, and the rooms physically reflect its past life. We stayed in half of what I can only imagine was a diagonally subdivided administrative office on the main floor, and the first thing I noticed was how high the ceilings are! A nice switch from the beehive-themed, stacked-concrete-cube construction of hotels. Its service as a school had been until very recently, and I always remember what is now the parking lot as the playground filled with frolic -- I can see how the building can radiate an imposing, almost eerie castle-like feeling, but if you'd seen it in use, you'd know that it's not an ominous institutional shell that's merely been re-occupied. No "Oliver Twist" stuff here, for those who might be wary.

The shower (no bathtub, no problem) is VERY nice. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The mini-fridge and TV (with the latest incarnation of the ever-changing local satellite/cable providers) were swell amenities. A small hiccup with the keycards needing to be re-programmed every day, and the staff courteous about it, though admitting they're still getting the hang of it. Dunlap's, across the parking lot, has always been one of my favorite breakfast spots, and it serves as the de facto "on-site restaurant" here. I was surprised at how little noise from Buford Ave. (US-30) could be heard.

Have already made our Remembrance Weekend reservation here. I have a feeling it's going to catch on.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 75 Springs Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing