We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe' - CLOSED

Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe'
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Gettysburg Cupcake Café specializes in delicious cupcakes, along with high quality espresso and coffee drinks. We offer a lunch menu that will include gourmet Panini sandwiches and soup. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly, relaxing atmosphere to make your visit enjoyable. We are located in the heart of historic Gettysburg near the corner of Baltimore Street and Steinwehr Avenue. You can't miss our building. It is the only pink house in in the area. Come in and visit us!
NEPA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a cute little place, conveniently located near the intersection of Baltimore and Steinwehr. The sandwiches are delicious. We ate them in the cafe, which has three tables inside, and took our cupcakes back to our hotel. The proprietors are very friendly. The only thing I would have done differently here is buy more cupcakes! They were very, very good. We will be back on our next trip to Gettysburg.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxzimmeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    52
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Moist cupcakes”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cute intimate cafe with a variety of flavored cupcakes, choc. chip cookies or beverages/coffee. We had a cupcake and latte. The cupcakes were very moist and tasty. Took home a variety pack and I couldn't stop thinking about eating another when I got home from work the next day. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming. Can't wait to return to Gettysburg to stop in again. Would love to see a variety pack of mini cupcakes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CentralPA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never caught it open”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I looked for coffee shop locations prior to my trip to Gettyburg, and the Cupcake Cafe came up in the reviews as highly rated. I was happily surprised then when it was located right outside my bed and breakfast. The disappointing part, was that after 3 attempts to go for coffees on the mornings of our visit (thursday, friday, and saturday), they were never open, even a Saturdaay morning at 10:15am. Seems like they do not have set hours, but are just open when they want to be. There are also no hours posted. We did see the Open sign out on Friday afternoon, but on a warm day, we were not looking for coffee then. They may want to consider being open in the mornings so that tourists heading out to the battlefields and museums can get coffee on their way out. I can't really rate their food since I did not have anything there, so I gave it 3 stars, based on the fact that due to the other reviews online it must be decent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gettysburgcupcakes, Owner at Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe', responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are sorry that the reviewer missed us on their trip to Gettysburg. However, there are some misunderstandings we would like to correct in this review.

Contrary to the reviewer's assertion, we do not just open when we want. We have set hours that are posted on our main door, on our web site, on our Facebook page and on Google Places.

Also, we do not claim to be a coffee shop. Some search engines and web sites may list us as a coffee shop since we do serve coffee and espresso drinks but that is out of our control. Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe is a cafe that specializes in cupcakes. We are fairly new and are slowly growing our business. In the future, we would like to offer breakfast but for now we are focusing on improving the number of options we offer for lunch and dessert.

We can assure readers of this review, the hours listed on our web site are the hours that we will be open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from wherever you are”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The cupcakes are just amazing here! Today we had the creamcicle cupcakes and white mochas...just wonderful. I've preciously had the chocolate cupcakes that were amazing. Just not enough adjectives to describe how good these cupcakes are. You have to try them for yourself!

Helpful?
Thank Dean_Amy-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Oak, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still pretty good!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Still pretty good indeed! This place here has a lot of great cupcakes and cookies to pick from and it seems like they change the flavor of their cupcakes that they sell from time to time. Their M&M cookie is good along with their cookie dough one as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe' also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing