We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and Delicious”

Sidney Willoughby Run
Reserve with OpenTable
Sidney Willoughby Run is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 132 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 30
Description: With a focus on simple ingredients, Chef Annis’ menu features small, elegant bites with sophisticated flavor. The menu, inspired by fresh, local ingredients, will change on a daily basis and has been designed to include a variety of small plates rather than the multi-course offerings of sister establishment, Restaurant Sidney in East Berlin.An extensive selection of liquor, beer, wine and cordials invites guests to relax in an urban contemporary atmosphere. The expansive outdoor seating area offers a serene experience with views of the battlefield land preserved by the National Park Service.
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Creative and Delicious”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had come to Gettysburg for the weekend to celebrate our 24 anniversary. Van from Swope Manor B&B highly recommended Sidney giving us descriptions of his favorite dishes. We were then pleasantly surprised by the beautiful grounds and loved dining outdoors as the sun went down. The dishes we ordered, the brussels sprouts, the pork belly and the seared tuna, were so innovative and delicious. We appreciated the variety as well as the portion sizes that left room for dessert and a port.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pyrbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    39
    13
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had Easter brunch here with 2 kids and 2 college aged kids. Buffet was amazing. Tons if variety and very unique and flavorful. There was something for everyone. Service was great. Brussels sprouts were so yummy and so was the salmon eggs Benedict. Only negative was they charged my 12 year old as an adult. He certainly did not come close to eating $40 worth of food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationplannerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Great Service”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I took my sister out for her birthday dinner, & we had a great time. The service was warm & friendly. The food was delicious. The chef sent an amuse bouche to start us off, & our tastebuds were thrilled. It went perfectly with our cocktails. The appetizers were delicious, the entrees sublime, & dessert delectable. We shared a bottle of delicious red wine, & had more food that we could handle. I would definitely recommend this place for a special time out. The only cons are they are in a new building & the decor is pretty empty & leaves something to be desired. Also, the parking lot is down the hill from the restaurant; so be warned if you are wearing uncomfortable shoes. Otherwise a wonderful dinner, that I would repeat again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabayta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice but not fabulous”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We tried Sidney WR for the first time on Valentine's Day. It was a very nice meal, but no elements that made me say "wow!". Beet salad was beautiful and good, with nice goat cheese, but the featured beets were boiled and not very flavorful - roasted would have been better - and the lettuce mix was heavy on the bitters. Adding fresh ground black pepper (which I had to ask for) made a big improvement. The salad had a granola like garnish which was good, but didn't really go with the salad. My husband's salmon was nicely cooked but not very flavorful. My duck was good but the accompanying vegetables didn't really accentuate the meat. We were not served any bread.

The best part of our meal was part of our dessert. We got the trio of custards and very much enjoyed the passion fruit one, but thought the other two were OK.

I agree with other reviews that the decor is pretty sparse. The advertized view of the battlefield is also a bit overstated. The bulk of the view is of the planted pine trees to the south. It does look like the outdoor seating could be fun in warmer weather.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GburgGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! This place was fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I had a very memorable anniversary dinner. The food was simply fantastic, every course we tried was innovative, tasty, and overall filling. We sampled the artisan cheese board and brussel sprouts as appetizers, the pork belly (awesome) and yellowtail small plates, and duck leg confit and tempura tuna as large plates. All were excellent. Service was also top notch by our waiter Tim. Great job! The ambiance was fine, and did not bother us one bit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InnkeepersGettysburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidney Willoughby Run also viewed

 
East Berlin, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Sidney Willoughby Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing